Age: Applicants must be at least 20 years of age to apply and must be 21 years of age upon graduating from the Department’s Trooper Trainee Academy.
There is no maximum age limit to apply to become a Texas State Trooper.
The first step toward becoming a Texas State Trooper is submitting your application on-line. If you meet the minimum requirements you will be notified by email or telephone of the next available test date. The physical readiness test and written tests must be completed within 30 days of submission of your on-line application, unless the Tester or Recruiter approve other arrangements.
All applicants must meet the basic requirements for entrance into training for the position of Trooper in the Texas Highway Patrol.
Once the applicant has received notification stating their application has been accepted to continue in the application process the applicant should make contact with the Tester in regards to submitting the paperwork. Applicants must complete and pass the physical fitness and written tests as noted on the job posting.
The Department of Public Safety will continue to accept applications for Trooper Trainee year round. The application process will require the applicant to travel to Texas a minimum of 3 times to complete the required testing. The applicant’s travel expense is not reimbursed by the Department.
The Department will select the most competitive candidates to continue in the application process. Be sure to review the Department's list of disqualifiers' prior to submitting your application on-line and documents. If you are unsure of a disqualifier contact the Recruiter or Tester in your area.
- Reserve or National Guard personnel who have accumulated 730 retirement points or have 6 years’ service in the Reserve or National Guard would be eligible to apply as the Texas State Trooper. Retirement points or service would need to be verified by the individual’s Retirement Points Accounting Management (RPAM), NGB Form 23, Retirement Points Accounting System (RPAS) or AHRC Form 249-2-E. The DD-214 and the RPAM are both required documents to start the trooper trainee application process.
- Duty Station Assignments will be assigned during the fourth week of the academy. These assignments will be guaranteed upon graduation. The available locations are based upon the needs of the Department.
- Must meet all requirements, including being a U.S. Citizen.
- Must be at least 20 years of age to apply and must be 21 years of age upon graduating from the Department’s Trooper Trainee Academy. (There is no maximum age limit to apply to become a Texas State Trooper).
- Must have sixty (60) college earned hours from a regional accredited college/university. Applicants graduating from college or in the process of completing a semester that will give them a total of 60 college earned hours can submit a letter from the college. The letter from the college must certify the applicant will be graduating or completing the semester hours as college earned hours.
- Up to sixty (60) college earned hours may be waived with 24 months of Active duty military or equivalent full time peace officer experience.
- Federal Law Enforcement with a Federal Agency given Special Investigator designation by the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article 2.122 is acceptable as law enforcement experience. The applicant must have 24 months of full time work experience with a qualifying Federal Agency.
- Trooper Trainee Practice Test (PDF)
With few exceptions, you have the right to request and be informed about information that the State of Texas collects about you. You are entitled to receive and review the information upon request. You also have the right to ask the state agency to correct any information that is determined to be incorrect. (Reference: Texas Government Code, Sections 522.021, 552.023 and 559.004).