Compact with Texans

August 21, 2020

Customer Relations Representative

The Customer Relations Representative for the Texas Department of Public Safety is: Jeoffry Williams, Deputy Director of Law Enforcement Services. Among other duties, the Customer Relations Representative also coordinates DPS customer service performance measures, gathers information and evaluations from the public about DPS’ customer service, responds to customer concerns and establishes the Compact with Texans.

Customer Service Principles

While the Texas Department of Public Safety interacts with various Texans daily, for the purpose of the Compact with Texans, Department customers are defined as those external customers that interact with the Driver License Division and Regulatory Services Division.

Customer Service Related Performance Measures, per the 87th General Appropriations Act
  • % of Original Licenses to Carry a Handgun issued within 60 days
    • 100% in FY 22 and 100% in FY 23
  • % of Renewal Licenses to Carry a Handgun issued within 45 days
    • 100% in FY 22 and 100% in FY 23
  • % of Original Driver License and Identification Card Applications completed within 45 minutes
    • 50.79% in FY 22 and 50.79% in FY 23

Commending a DPS employee

Because numerous DPS employees interact with the public, we have a mechanism for the public to send a compliment to commend a DPS employee.  Members of the public are welcome to fill out the webform found at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/PublicInformation/commendEmp/

Filing a Complaint

Because numerous DPS employees interact with the public, we also have a mechanism for the public to file complaints with the Office of the Inspector General (OIG) regarding interactions with a DPS employee. Members of the public may contact the OIG by:

  • Email: InspectorGeneral@dps.texas.gov 
    • Emailed complaints will receive an immediate automatic notification of receipt.
    • The anticipated time for a formal acknowledgement letter to be sent is 1-2 business days upon the Inspector General or Deputy Inspector General review and approval of the complaint, unless extenuating circumstances arise to prohibit immediate action. This could include the lack of contact information provided for the complainant, the need to obtain additional information prior to approval or the case could be considered for referral to another DPS division for criminal review.
  • Fax: (512) 424-5769
    • The anticipated time for a formal acknowledgement letter to be sent is 1-2 business days upon the Inspector General or Deputy Inspector General review and approval of the complaint, unless extenuating circumstances arise to prohibit immediate action. This could include the lack of contact information provided for the complainant, the need to obtain additional information prior to approval or the case could be considered for referral to another DPS division for criminal review.
  • Mail:

    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Office of Inspector General
    13706 Research Blvd., Suite 100
    Austin, TX 78750

    • The anticipated time for a formal acknowledgement letter to be sent is 1-2 business days upon the Inspector General or Deputy Inspector General review and approval of the complaint, unless extenuating circumstances arise to prohibit immediate action. This could include the lack of contact information provided for the complainant, the need to obtain additional information prior to approval or the case could be considered for referral to another DPS division for criminal review.
Customer satisfaction survey
  • A customer interested in filling out a Driver License Customer Satisfaction Survey can find one online at:  https://www.orgexcel.net/surveyspa/?sc=405056
  • A copy of the most recent Driver License Customer Survey is attached.

Driver License Customer Information

Driver License

To get a Driver License for the first time, customers must:

  1. Complete the driver license application.
  2. Visit a driver license office.  Appointments are available at all driver license offices and can be made by going online at https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license/driver-license-services-appointments or visiting a driver license office.
  3. Provide the following documentation to the license and permit specialist:
    1. Application for the issuance of a driver license (or a Teen Application for applicants that are 15 – 17 years 10 months of age);
    2. Proof of U.S. Citizenship or, if you are not a U.S. Citizen, evidence of lawful presence;
    3. Proof of Texas Residency;
    4. Proof of Identity; and
    5. Proof of Social Security Number.
  4. Evidence of Texas Vehicle Registration* for each vehicle the applicant owns. Registration must be current. Visit Texas DMV vehicle registration for more information. (This applies to new residents who are surrendering an out-of-state driver license only).
  5. Proof of Insurance* for each vehicle the applicant owns.
  6. Pay the application fee.
  7. Provide their thumbprints.
  8. Have their picture taken.
  9. Pass the Vision Exam.
  10. Take and pass the knowledge and driving tests.  Additional requirements may include:
    1. Complete a Teen driver education course, if the applicant is between 15 and 18 years of age;
    2. Complete a six-hour adult driver education course, if the applicant is 18 to 25 years of age; and
    3. Complete the Impact Texas Drivers (ITD) if the applicant will be taking a driving test.

Once the transaction has been completed, it typically takes 7-10 days to receive the Driver License in the mail.

Detailed information for applying for a Driver License can be found online at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license/how-apply-texas-driver-license

Detailed information for teen drivers can be found online at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license/how-apply-texas-driver-license-teen

Identification Card

To get an Identification Card for the first time, customers must:

  1. Complete the identification card application.
  2. Visit a driver license office. Appointments are available at all driver license offices and can be made by going online at https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license/driver-license-services-appointments or visiting a driver license office.
  3. Provide the following documentation to the license and permit specialist:
    1. Application for the issuance of an identification card (or a Teen Application for applicants that are 15 – 17 years 10 months of age);
    2. Proof of U.S. Citizenship or, if you are not a U.S. Citizen, evidence of lawful presence;
    3. Proof of Texas Residency;
    4. Proof of Identity; and
    5. Proof of Social Security Number.
  4. Provide their thumbprints.
  5. Have their picture taken.
  6. Pay the application fee.

Once the transaction has been completed, it typically takes 7-10 days to receive the Identification Card in the mail.

Detailed information for applying for an Identification Card can be found online at:
https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license/how-apply-texas-identification-card

Commercial Learner Permit

To get a Commercial Driver License for the first time, customers must first have a
Texas driver license and apply for a Commercial Learner Permit(CLP).

Applicants will need to provide the following to apply for a commercial learner permit:

  1. Proof of U.S. Citizenship or, if the applicant is not a U.S. Citizen, evidence of lawful presence;
  2. Proof of Texas Residency;
  3. Proof of Identity;
  4. Proof of Social Security Number (a CLP or a CDL cannot be issued if the applicant does not have a Social Security Number);
  5. Self-Certification Of Medical Status (the applicant must certify to only one of the following forms: CDL-4, CDL-5, or CDL-10);
  6. Medical Examiners Certificate (depending upon the type of self-certification of medical status selected; and
  7. Evidence of Texas Vehicle Registration* for each vehicle the applicant owns. Registration must be current. Visit Texas DMV vehicle registration for more information. (This applies to new residents who are surrendering an out-of-state driver license only).
  8. Proof of Insurance* for each vehicle the applicant owns.

Once the applicant has gathered the necessary documents and completed the required courses, they will need to do the following:

  1. Complete the CDL application.
  2. Visit a driver license office. Appointments are available at all driver license offices and can be made by going online at https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license/driver-license-services-appointments  or visiting a driver license office.
  3. Provide the following documentation to the license and permit specialist:
    1. CDL application for the issuance of CLP.
    2. Proof of U.S. Citizenship or, if the applicant is not a U.S. Citizen, evidence of lawful presence;
    3. Proof of Texas Residency;
    4. Proof of Identity; and
    5. Proof of Social Security Number.
  4. Pay the application fee.
  5. Provide their thumbprints.
  6. Have their picture taken.
  7. Pass the Vision Exam.
  8. Pass the knowledge tests for the appropriate driver license including any endorsements that will be added.  The knowledge exam must be taken in the following order:
    1. Texas Commercial Rules;
    2. General Knowledge;
    3. Combination (Class A Only);
    4. Air Brake (If applicable); and
    5. Endorsements.   
  9. Schedule the skills test at one of the CDL testing locations.
  10. Applicants may also want to read more about the driving test requirements that can be found online at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/internetforms/Forms/DL-60a.pdf
Commercial Driver License

Once an applicant has held their CLP for a minimum of 14 days, they are eligible to complete the necessary driving tests to obtain a CDL.  The applicant will need to provide a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) for the driving test.  The CMV must be representative of the type of CLP the applicant holds.

The applicant will need to:  

  1. Complete the CDL application.
  2. Provide the following documentation to the license and permit specialist:
    1. Application for the issuance of a CDL;
    2. Proof of Identity; and
    3. Proof of Social Security Number.
  3. Pay the application fee.
  4. Provide their thumbprints.
  5. Have their picture taken.
  6. Pass the Vision Exam.
  7. Pass the driving test which consists of:
    1. Vehicle Inspection (Pre-trip) Test;
    2. Basic Vehicle Control Test; and
    3. Road Test.
  8. Applicants may also want to read more about the driving test requirements that can be found online at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/internetforms/Forms/DL-60a.pdf

Once the transaction has been completed, it typically takes 7-10 days to receive the Commercial Driver License in the mail.

Detailed information for applying for a Commercial Driver License can be found online at:
https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license/how-do-i-apply-commercial-driver-license

For questions about Driver License, Identification Card, or Commercial Driver License issues, customers have several options. Customers can:

Regulatory Services Customer Information

DPS is charged with administering the following regulatory programs: Capitol Access Pass, Compassionate Use, Handgun Licensing, Ignition Interlock Device, Metal Recycling, Private Security, and Vehicle Inspection.

Capitol Access Pass

The Capitol Access Pass (CAP) provides expedited access to the Texas State Capitol through the main public entrances. Approved applicants may present their Texas Driver License or identification card at the line designated for Handgun License holders and CAP for entry into the Capitol at one of the main entrances.

To apply for a CAP, an applicant must complete an online application at www.Texas.gov/CAP and pay the non-refundable fees using a credit or debit card. After submitting an online application, applicants must schedule and submit electronic fingerprints to initiate the background check.

To be eligible for a Capitol Access Pass, the applicant must:

  • Have a Texas Driver License or identification card; and 
  • Be 21 years of age or older.
    • (Please note: If the applicant is between 18 and 21 years of age and is actively serving in or was honorably discharged from U.S. Military service, they are eligible to apply for the pass. The applicant must provide supporting information to DPS in the form of Leave Earnings Statement, or current orders, or letter from Commanding Officer verifying Military status, or a DD-214 indicating the applicant was honorably discharged.)

An applicant will need to provide the following information as part of the online application:

  • Social security number;
  • Texas Driver License/ identification card information;
  • Current demographic and contact information;
  • Current and previous 5 year residential and employment information;
  • Psychiatric, drug, alcohol, and criminal history information;
  • Email address;
  • Valid credit or debit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express); and
  • Pay a fee: $42.95.

(Please note: The applicant will also have to pay a separate electronic fingerprinting fee during the fingerprinting process.)

Detailed information including applicable licensing procedures and eligibility requirements for a Capitol Access Pass can be found online at: https://www.dps.texas.gov//section/capitol-access-pass/licensing-and-registration
For questions about the Capitol Access Pass customers can:

  • Fill out the web form found at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/default.aspx
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by the web is two (2) business days.
  • Call (512) 424-7293.
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by phone is immediate to within 8 minutes on average depending on call volumes.
Compassionate Use Program

DPS licenses dispensing organizations to cultivate, process, and dispense low-THC cannabis to prescribed patients and registers their directors, managers, and employees.

Low-THC cannabis may be prescribed if:

  • The patient is a permanent resident of Texas;
  • The patient is diagnosed with epilepsy, a seizure disorder, multiple sclerosis, spasticity, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, autism, terminal cancer, or an incurable neurodegenerative disease; and
  • The qualified physician determines the risk of the medical use of low-THC cannabis by a patient is reasonable in light of the potential benefit.

The Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) is a secure registry of qualified physicians that prescribe low THC-cannabis to patients.   Physician qualifications are outlined in the Texas Occupations Code Section §169.002 as follows:

  • The physician must be licensed under Chapter 169 of the Texas Occupations Code;
  • The physician must dedicate a significant portion of clinical practices to the evaluation and treatment of these conditions; and
  • The physician must have proof of one or more board certifications in a medical specialty relevant to the treatment of each patient's particular medical condition by a specialty board approved by the American Board of Medical Specialties or the Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists.

The approved medical conditions for which low-THC cannabis may be prescribed are:

  • Epilepsy;
  • A seizure disorder;
  • Multiple Sclerosis;
  • Spasticity;
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis;
  • Autism;
  • Terminal cancer; and
  • Incurable neurodegenerative diseases.

To search the CURT database to find a participating physician that can prescribe low-THC cannabis please visit:  https://curt.dps.texas.gov/app/public/searchPhysician.xhtml  
Detailed information, including applicable licensing procedures and eligibility requirements for the Compassionate Use Program can be found online at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/section/compassionate-use-program

For questions about the Compassionate Use Program customers can:

  • Fill out the web form found at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/CUP.aspx
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by the web is two (2) business days.
  • Call (512) 424-7293.
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by phone is immediate to within 8 minutes on average depending on call volumes.
Handgun Licensing

DPS licenses individuals to carry handguns within Texas, evaluates the eligibility of applicants through criminal history background checks and monitors those currently licensed to ensure their continued eligibility. DPS also trains and certifies instructors who teach the required course to applicants. To be eligible for a License to Carry a Handgun (LTC), applicants are required to submit fingerprints to DPS as part of the complete LTC application.

To be eligible for a License to Carry, the applicant must:

  • Have a valid Driver License or ID;
  • Be 21 years of age or older;
    • (Please note: If the applicant is between 18 and 21 years of age and is actively serving in or was honorably discharged from U.S. Military service, they are eligible to apply for the license to carry a handgun. The applicant must provide supporting information to DPS in the form of Leave Earnings Statement, or current orders, or letter from Commanding Officer verifying Military status, or a DD-214 indicating the applicant was honorably discharged).
  • Provide current demographic, address, contact, and employment information;
  • Provide residential and employment information for the last five years;
  • Provide information related to their place of Birth;
  • Provide information regarding any psychiatric, drug, alcohol, or criminal history;
  • Provide a valid email address and home phone number; and
  • Have a valid credit card (Visa,  MasterCard, Discover, or American Express).

Detailed information, including applicable licensing procedures and eligibility requirements for Handgun Licensing, can be found online at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/handgun-licensing

For questions about the Handgun Licensing Program customers can:

  • Fill out the web form found at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/ltc.aspx
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by the web is immediate for most questions or up to 3-7 business days for requests involving additional research or investigation.
  • Call (512) 424-7293.
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by phone is immediate to within 8 minutes on average depending on call volumes.
  • Contact by mail:

    Mail Including Payment:
    Texas Department of Public Safety
    PO Box 15888
    Austin, TX 78761-5888
    Mail without payment to:
    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Handgun Licensing Program, MSC 0245
    PO Box 4087
    Austin, TX 78773-0245

    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by mail is within 7 business days.
Ignition Interlock

DPS establishes minimum standards for vendors of Ignition Interlock Devices (IID) who conduct business in Texas and procedures to ensure compliance with those standards, including device approval procedures for the inspection of a vendor’s facilities. DPS staff authorizes vendors to install, download, remove, repair, replace and report all required data recorded by the device.

In order to maintain authorization, the vendor must have:

  • All necessary equipment and tools for the proper installation, removal, inspection, calibration, repair, and maintenance, of the type of IID(s) to be installed or serviced by the vendor, as determined by the device manufacturer and standard industry protocols;
  • A designated waiting area separate from the installation area, to ensure customers do not observe the installation of the IID; and
  • Proof of liability insurance providing coverage for damages arising out of the operation or use of IIDs with a minimum policy limit of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $3,000,000 aggregate total.

An application is complete when:
(1) It contains all of the items required pursuant to this section;
(2) $450 fee has been paid; and
(3) All requests for additional information have been satisfied.

Detailed information about the Ignition Interlock Device program can be found at:
https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/ignition-interlock-device

For questions about the Ignition Interlock Device Program customers can:

  • Fill out the web form found at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/default.aspx 
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by the web is two (2) business days.
  • Call (512) 424-7293.
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by phone is immediate to within 8 minutes on average depending on call volumes.
  • Contact by mail:

    Mail Including Payment:
    Texas Department of Public Safety
    PO Box 15888
    Austin, TX 78761-5888

    Mail without payment to:
    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Ignition Interlock Program, MSC 0542
    PO Box 4087
    Austin, TX 78773-0001

    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by mail is within 7 days.
Private Security

DPS regulates the private security profession in Texas. DPS protects the public by conducting fingerprint-based background checks on applicants, investigating and resolving complaints, and taking disciplinary action against licensees or seeking criminal prosecution of those who perform private security services without a license.

The private security profession includes armed and unarmed security guards, personal protection officers, private investigators, alarm systems installers and monitors, armored car couriers, electronic access control device installers, and locksmiths. DPS regulates the private security profession under the authority of the Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1702 and the related administrative rules.

To be eligible to be considered for a Private Security company license, an applicant will need:

  • To submit a complete application with payment online.
  • Company Name and Address information, which includes:
    • Corporate Name (if any)
    • Assumed Name or DBA (if any)
    • Ownership Type Information (sole proprietor, corporation, partnership, LLC., or LLP.)
    • Percentage of Ownership held by owners
    • Identify Corporate Officer(s) of the business (if any)
    • For each Owner (Owner, Partner, Shareholder and/or Corporate Officer) provide:
      • First Name
      • Last Name
      • Date of Birth
      • Home Address
      • Electronic submission of fingerprints
      • Social Security Number
      • Demographic Information
      • Unique Email Address
      • Government Issued Driver License or Identification Card
  • The required experience for licensure and to successfully pass an examination administered by DPS. Experience and examination criteria vary according to the type of company. 
    • Guard Company: 3 years accumulated employment experience in the field, with 1 year of experience in a managerial or supervisory position.
    • Security Contractor Company (other than Guard Company): 2 consecutive years of full-time employment in each category of license that is sought.
    • Investigation Company: 3 consecutive years of investigation related experience, however various alternative educational and training substitutions are available.
    • Locksmith Company: 2 consecutive years of full-time locksmith-related experience, however various alternative educational and training substitutions are available.
    • Company Applicant Examination: The examination focuses on issues of general concern to company representatives of licensed companies, such as the eligibility criteria for individual licenses, pre-employment obligations and procedures, application requirements, record-keeping, and the procedures relating to disciplinary actions and administrative fines.
  • The Required Ownership Document. If the applicant is a Sole Proprietorship, the applicant will need to send DPS the Assumed Name Certificate or Doing Business As, also known as the DBA. This can be found from the local County Clerk’s Office.  If the applicant is a Corporation, the applicant needs to send DPS the Certificate of Formation or Certificate of Filing from the Texas Secretary of State’s Office.
  • The Certificate of insurance or other documentary evidence of a general liability insurance policy meeting minimum requirements.
  • A fingerprint based FBI Criminal History background check.
  • A Valid credit card or debit card with a credit card logo (MasterCard, Visa, Discover or American Express).

In addition, Business Owner(s) must not have a disqualifying criminal history record.
To be eligible to be considered for an Individual Private Security license an applicant will need:

  • To submit a complete application with payment online.
  • Provide:
    • First Name
    • Last Name
    • Date of Birth
    • Home Address
    • Electronic submission of fingerprints
    • Social Security Number
    • Demographic Information
    • Unique Email Address
    • Government Issued Driver License or Identification Card
  • To meet any of the required training or experience for the type of application submitted. This includes: Alarm Installers, Alarm Systems Monitor, Non-commissioned guards, Commissioned Security Officers, Personal Protection Officers, Level I Alarm Instructor, Level III Firearms Instructor, Level III Classroom Instructor and Level IV Personal Protection Instructor. (Please note: No training or examination required for the following individual licenses: Owner, Continuing Education Instructor, Locksmith, Private Investigator, Alarm Systems Monitor or Electronic Access Control Device Installer.)
  • To submit to a fingerprint based FBI Criminal History background check.
  • A valid credit card or debit card with a credit card logo (MasterCard, Visa, Discover or American Express).

In addition, an applicant may not have a disqualifying criminal history record and a pocket card will not be issued unless the individual is affiliated with a licensed company. 

Eligibility for a private security license varies by individual license and business license types.
Detailed information about the Private Security Program can be found at:
https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/private-security

For questions about the Private Security Program customers can:

  • Fill out the web form found at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/psb.aspx
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by the web is immediate for most questions or 3-7 business days for requests involving additional research or investigation.
  • Call (512) 424-7293
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by phone is immediate to within 8 minutes on average depending on call volumes.
  • Contact by mail:

    Mail Including Payment:
    Texas Department of Public Safety
    PO Box 15999
    Austin, TX 78761-5999

    Mail without payment to:
    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Private Security - MSC 0241
    PO Box 4087
    Austin, TX 78773-0001

    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by mail is within 7 business days.
Texas Metals Program

DPS registers and regulates all metal recycling entities (MRE). DPS licenses businesses, evaluates the eligibility of applicants through criminal history background checks, oversees transaction record keeping, and conducts routine inspections to ensure compliance with applicable laws and administrative rules. DPS also provides on-line training to all MRE owners.

To be eligible to be considered a Metal Recycling Entity an applicant will need to provide:

  • A Required Ownership Document. (The type of document depends on the type of business entity the applicant is);
  • A valid e-mail address;
  • A valid credit card (MasterCard, Visa, Discover or American Express);
  • Metal Recycling Entity location(s) of business and contact information;
  • Location permits (if any) issued by the city and county in which business is conducted; and
  • Information (including Driver's License and Date of Birth) on all Business Owner(s) listed in the Required Ownership Document and Statutory Agents in the organization.

In addition, Business Owner(s) must not have a disqualifying criminal history record.

Detailed information for the Texas Metals Program can be found online at:
https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/texas-metals-program

For questions about the Texas Metals Program customers can:

  • Fill out the web form found at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/tmp.aspx
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by the web is two (2) business days.
  • Call (512) 424-7293
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by phone is immediate to within 8 minutes on average depending on call volumes.
  • Contact by mail:

    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Metals Registration - MSC 0244
    PO Box 4087
    Austin, TX 78773-0001

    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by mail is within 7 business days.
Vehicle Inspection

Vehicles registered in Texas are required to pass an annual inspection to ensure compliance with safety standards. While safety inspections are required throughout the state, emissions testing is required of vehicles inspected in 17 Texas counties to comply with federally mandated clean air requirements. Vehicle inspections are performed at Official Vehicle Inspection Stations licensed by DPS.

To be eligible to be certified as an official inspection station an applicant must:

  • Submit a new vehicle inspection station application form, which must include, but is not limited to:
    • (1) Criminal history disclosure of all convictions and deferred adjudications for each owner or designee engaged in the regular course of business as a vehicle inspection station;
    • (2) Proof of ownership and current status as required by the department. Such proof includes, but is not limited to, a current Certificate of Existence or Certificate of Authority from the Texas Secretary of State and a Certificate of Good Standing from the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts; and
    • (3) All fees required pursuant to Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 548 (the Act). The vehicle inspection station new and renewal application fee is nonrefundable.
  • The new vehicle inspection station applicant has 60 calendar days after receipt of notice to provide the required information and submit a complete application. If an applicant fails to furnish the documentation, the application will be considered withdrawn and a new application must be submitted.
  • A new vehicle inspection station application is complete when:
    • (1) It contains all items required by the department;
    • (2) It conforms to the Texas vehicle inspection program's instructions;
    • (3) $100 fee has been paid; and
    • (4) All requests for additional information have been satisfied.
  • For a new vehicle inspection station application to be approved, the owner must:
    • (1) be at least 18 years of age;
    • (2) provide proof of identification as required by the department;
    • (3) not be currently suspended or revoked in the Texas vehicle inspection program;
    • (4) complete department provided training;
    • (5) have a facility that meets the Department standards;
    • (6) have equipment that meets the Department standards and;
    • (7) meet all other eligibility criteria.

       

In addition, there are a series of standards for facilities, equipment and signage as well as standards of conduct that must be adhered to in order to be certified as a vehicle inspection station. Detailed information about the Vehicle Inspection Program can be found at:
https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/vehicle-inspection

For questions about the Vehicle Inspection Program customers can:

  • Fill out the web form found at:  https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/VI.aspx
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by the web is two (2) business days.
  • Call (512) 424-7293
    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by phone is immediate to within 8 minutes on average depending on call volumes.
  • Contact by mail:

    Mail Including Payment:
    Texas Department of Public Safety
    PO Box 15999
    Austin, TX 78761-5999

    Mail without payment to:
    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Vehicle Inspection - MSC 0542
    PO Box 4087
    Austin, TX 78773-0001

    • The anticipated time for a response submitted by mail is within 7 business days.

Compact with Texans Statutory Language

Government Code Sec. 2114.006.  CUSTOMER RELATIONS REPRESENTATIVE;  COMPACT WITH TEXANS. 

  • (a)  A state agency shall appoint a customer relations representative.
  • (b)  The representative shall:
    • (1)  coordinate the state agency's customer service performance measurement under this chapter;
    • (2)  gather information and evaluations from the public about an agency's customer service;
    • (3)  respond to customer concerns;  and
    • (4)  establish the agency's compact with Texans under Subsection (c).
  • (c)  Each state agency shall create a "Compact With Texans."  The compact must be approved by the Governor's Office of Budget and Planning and the Legislative Budget Board.  Each Compact With Texans shall set customer service standards and describe customer service principles for that agency and address:
    • (1)  the agency's procedures for responding to public contacts and complaints;
    • (2)  applicable licensing and certification procedures;  and
    • (3)  customer waiting time for access and service delivery and responses to complaints.
  • (d)  Each agency that maintains a website shall publish its Compact With Texans on that website.