1. What is the Non-Resident Violator Compact (NRVC)?
Established in 1977, the Non-Resident Violator Compact (NRVC) allows member states to assist each other with enforcing driving laws. If you are issued a moving violation in another state and you hold a Texas driver license, the NRVC compact allows you to be released on your own recognizance with the promise that you will appear in court or pay the fine. If you fail to do so, the state where you were issued the citation will send notice of non-compliance to the Department so that your Texas driver license will be revoked.
Notification of the outstanding violation will be mailed to your address of record on file with the Department requesting evidence that you have satisfied the citation. If you fail to do so, your driver license will be revoked and a $100 reinstatement fee will be applied to your record.
2. Why do I have to submit proof that my out-of-state ticket has been cleared; can't Texas just call the other state and get a verbal confirmation?
Verbal confirmation of clearance from the state in question will not clear an NRVC. You must provide documented proof of compliance showing that the out-of-state ticket has been cleared. Visit the Reinstating Your Driver License page, to find ways to submit your compliance.
3. If I receive an NRVC, what do I need to do to lift the revocation on my record?
You will need to provide proof of payment for the out-of-state citation in the form of a receipt from the court, a copy of the money order or cashier's check that was used to pay the citation, or a copy of the front and back of a cancelled check. Please allow up to 21 business days for processing. Visit the Reinstating Your Driver License page, to find ways to submit your compliance.
NOTE: If you have been revoked for not providing compliance to the Department in a timely manner, you will be required to pay a reinstatement fee. However, the fee does not need to be paid until you renew or modify your driver license. Visit the Reinstating Your Driver License page, to find ways to pay your reinstatement fee.
4. How long will it take for my compliance to process?
It can take up to 21 business days for your compliance documents to be processed. For more information, including how to submit your compliance documents, visit the Reinstating Your Driver License page.
5. What if I did not receive the out-of-state ticket that was referenced in the notice that I received from DPS?
In order for the enforcement action to be removed from your record, you must contact the court in the state that submitted the out-of-state citation information to the department. The out-of-state court must then fax a letter on court letterhead stating that the information was sent in error to (512) 424-5809.
6. If I paid the ticket before my license was revoked, do I still have to pay the reinstatement fee?
If the department did not receive proof of the citation payment prior to the date of revocation, you will be required to pay the reinstatement fee.
7. I don't live in Texas anymore, do I still have to comply with this revocation?
Yes. To lift the revocation you will need to provide compliance and pay the reinstatement fee to become eligible to receive a driver license in your new state of residence. Visit the Reinstating Your Driver License page, to find ways to submit your compliance.
8. Can I request a hearing for this revocation?
9. How long will my license be revoked?
The revocation will remain on your record until the compliance document has been received and processed. Visit the Reinstating Your Driver License page, to find ways to submit your compliance.
10. If I did not go to the hearing or the result of the hearing was not in my favor, when will my license be revoked?
The license will be revoked 11 days after the hearing.
11. I still cannot find the answer to my question, what do I do?
If you do not find the answer to your question listed here within our FAQ's, you can always contact our Customer Service Center for assistance.