In Texas, your address on a driver license or ID card must be changed within 30 days after moving to your new residence.
There are three ways you can request a replacement driver license and change your address:
Online Address Change
Using this online feature is the fastest and most convenient method to change your address. Learn more about the eligibility requirements to change your address online. If you know you meet these requirements, begin the process by clicking the link below.
Click here for fastest way to change the address on your driver license or ID card.
Mail-In Address Change
If you are unable to change your address online, you can complete the Application for Change of Address and mail it to the Department for processing. You must meet the following requirements to change your address by mail:
- Your driver license is not expired.
- You have a non-commercial driver license, Class C or CM or Class A or B non-CDL driver license. You cannot use the mail services to change your address on a Commercial Driver License.
- You are at least 18 years of age and your driver license is not a provisional or learner license.
- Your driver license is valid (not suspended or revoked).
- Your Social Security Number is already on file.
- You are a U.S. citizen.
Complete the application, sign and include the required fee. Both the application and fee must be mailed to the address located at the top of the form for processing. Please allow an additional ten days to the processing time due to mailing your request.
In-Person Address Change
If you are unable to change your address online or mail-in your application request, you can take your completed Application for Change of Address to any driver license office. Locate the office nearest you. (This form is also available at the driver license office.)
Alternative Address Option for Peace Officers, Special Investigators, and State and Federal Judges
If you are a qualified peace officer, special investigator, federal judge (and spouse) or state judge (and spouse), you may have an alternative address printed on the face of your non-commercial driver license or ID card as an alternative to using your residential address.
To change the address on your non-commercial driver license or ID card, you must:
- Apply in person at any driver license office (online transactions are not allowed because applicants must verify employment);
- Pay the required fee;
- Surrender any driver license or ID card previously issued;
- Provide your current residential address on the application (required for DPS records and mailing purposes).
In addition to the requirements above;
Peace officers, defined in Texas Code of Criminal Procedure §2.12, must:
- Be commissioned in Texas
- Be currently employed by a law enforcement agency
- Present your license issued by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE)
- Present your peace officer identification card and badge issued by your employing agency
Special investigators, defined in Texas Code of Criminal Procedure §2.122, must:
- Present your federal ID card* and badge; or
- *Present letter with required information if employing agency policy disallows copying or scanning the ID card
Federal judges, defined in Texas Election Code § 1.005, and spouses must:
- Present your (or your spouse’s) official identification card issues by the Administrative Office of United States Courts
State judges, defined in Texas Election Code 1.005, and spouses must:
- Present your (or your spouse’s) official identification card issued by the Texas Secretary of State; or
- Present your (or your spouse’s) business card along with additional identifying documentation, issued by a state agency affiliated with the judiciary including Office of Court Administration, Office of the Attorney General, Secretary of State and Texas courts.
If you want to change your name, you must:
- Visit any driver license office within 30 days of the change; and
- Provide one of the documents listed below that verifies your name change. The document must be an original, as copies are not accepted. If the document is not in English, a certified English translation must also be submitted with the original document.
- Locate the office nearest you.
Marriage-Related Name Change
If your name change is marriage related, bring one of the following documents:
- Marriage license
- Divorce decree
- Department of State Health Services marriage verification letter
Other Types of Name Change
If your name change is not marriage related, bring one of the following documents:
- Certified court order
- Amended birth certificate
- Certificate of Naturalization (Form N-550, N-570 or N-578)
If you want to change your gender, you must bring an original certified court order or an amended birth certificate verifying the change.