1. Can I complete my drug education requirement by taking the course online?
Yes, an online approved Drug Education Program course may be located through the Texas Department of License and Regulation.
2. If I am convicted of a drug offense, what do I need to do in order to lift the suspension?
You must complete a 15-hour state approved drug education course, obtain an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for 2 years from the date of conviction for your drug offense. For further information, please visit our webpages on Drug or Controlled Substance Offenses and Reinstating Your Driver License.
3. Is the drug education course mandatory for all drug offenses?
A drug education program is a requirement per Transportation Code 521.374. There are two methods of compliance. You may either complete an approved drug education program through Texas Department of License and Regulation (TDLR), or the education requirement will lift on the second anniversary of the date the drug suspension or prohibition was imposed.
Once the course is taken and completed, you must provide your certificate of completion to DPS to comply with the education course requirement. For more information, please visit our webpage on Reinstating Your Driver License.
4. I have moved to another state. Am I still required to take a drug education course?
Yes. Once the course is taken, an approved Texas Department of License and Regulation (TDLR) certificate of completion must be provided to DPS to comply with the education course requirement. DPS will review the education certificate to determine whether it is acceptable. NOTE: An approved online Drug Education Program course is available through the Texas Department of License and Regulation.
6. After my court appearance, I refrained from driving for the entire time required by the court. Why is the department suspending my driving privileges for an additional amount of time?
7. Why do I have to wait 21 business days for my education certificate to be processed?
Due to the volume of compliance documentation received by the Department, it may take up to 21 business days for a document to be processed.
8. What are the ways that I can submit compliance for a suspension caused by a drug offense?
Compliance must be submitted in one of the following ways:
Texas Department of Public Safety
- Fax: (512) 424-2848
- Email: Driver Improvement
- Mail: Texas Department of Public Safety
PO Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773
9. Will one certificate cover all of my drug education requirements?
10. I still cannot find the answer to my question, what do I do?
If you do not find the answer to your question listed here within our FAQ's, you can always contact our Customer Service Center for assistance.