Entry Level Driver Training (EDLT)

February 2, 2024

Regulations for Aspiring Commercial Drivers:  Understanding Entry Level Driver Training (ELDT)

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has implemented regulations for obtaining certain types of Commercial Driver’s License (CDLs).  These regulations fall under the umbrella of ELDT, and they apply to specific categories of CDL applicants. 

Who needs ELDT?

  • First time applicants for a Class A or Class B CDL
  • Applicants that want to upgrade an existing CDL to a Class B or Class A
  • First time applicants for a school bus (S), passenger (P), or hazardous materials (H) endorsement

The ELDT requirements do not apply to individuals holding a valid CDL or an S, P, or H endorsement issued prior to February 7, 2022.

There are specific exemptions to the ELDT requirements for individuals who meet certain criteria outlined in 49 CFR Part 383.  If you fall under one these exemptions, you might not need the training.

Finding the Right Training Provider:

The FMCSA Training Provider Registry (dot.gov) provides a comprehensive list of qualified instructors and training programs across the country.

Remember to regularly check the FMCSA website for any updates or changes to the ELDT regulations.  This will ensure you stay informed and compliant with the latest requirements.