Welcome to the Texas Department of Public SafetyFebruary 19, 2020
- AUSTIN – The Texas Public Safety Commission (PSC), along with Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) Director Steven McCraw, presented two William P. Clements Excellence Awards along with several Lifesaving Awards, a Director’s Award and one Unit Citation, at the PSC meeting on Thursday, Feb. 15, at the DPS Headquarters in Austin.
Recent Press Releases
- February 23, 2024
- February 22, 2024
- February 9, 2024
- February 7, 2024
- February 1, 2024
Driver License/ID Services
The Department issues driver licenses valid for up to eight years to Texas residents 18 years of age and older. Most driver licenses and identification cards can be renewed up to two years before and after the expiration date. You have several convenient options to renew your Texas driver license or identification card during this time, including online, telephone, mail, or in person at your local driver license office. In Texas, your address on a driver license or ID card must be changed within 30 days after moving to your new residence. There are three ways you can request a replacement driver license and change your address: online, mail-in, and in person.
The Texas Department of Public Safety is committed to recruiting and training a diverse workforce that reflects its core values: Integrity, Accountability, Excellence and Teamwork. To join the DPS team, candidates must complete a rigorous physical readiness test, written test, polygraph exam, interview, background investigation, medical exam and psychological evaluation as part of the Trooper Trainee application process. Candidates selected for a Trooper Training class are educated by experts on criminal and traffic law enforcement, crisis intervention, fitness and wellness, crash investigation and community service, among other topics, to prepare them for a rewarding career as a Texas State Trooper.