As a result of Governor Greg Abbott's proclamation declaring a state of disaster for all counties in Texas due to COVID-19 and in cooperation with state and local governments to reduce the community spread of COVID-19 all Driver License Offices will be closed effective immediately.
The Department will immediately begin restricting services to Commercial Driver License (CDL) testing only. This service will be offered at the following CDL Sites. If you are applying for a Texas CDL or are in the process of obtaining a CDL, please contact us [required fields: Name, DL#, DOB, telephone number, email address and office location]. Once your request has been reviewed, you will be contacted to schedule an appointment. For customers who already have a CDL Skills Test scheduled, your appointment will remain the same. If you have questions, please contact us by clicking the link above.
In accordance with section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, the Office of the Governor approved the Department's request to suspend provisions of the Texas Transportation Code to the extent necessary to delay the expiration date of Driver Licenses (DL), Commercial Driver Licenses (CDL), Personal Identification Cards (ID), and Election Certificates (EIC).
If your Texas DL, ID, CLP, CDL card or EIC expires on or after March 13, 2020, you are granted a waiver for the expiration date for 60 days after the Department provides further public notice that normal operations have resumed. You may download a copy of the Verification of Driver License Expiration Extension (PDF) notice. All local and state law enforcement officials have been notified of this expiration waiver. When the Department resumes normal operations, you will be able to renew without any penalty.
Many Texas DL and ID holders are eligible to conduct their renewal, address change, or replacement transaction online by visiting Texas.gov. For additional information about renewing or replacing your DL or ID card or changing your address, visit the following webpages.
The Department encourages all Texas residents who have lost their Texas DL, ID, or CDL to conduct their replacement transaction online. Visit the Department's webpage How to replace your Driver License, Commercial Driver License or ID card for more information.
New Texas residents can legally drive with a valid, unexpired driver license from another U.S. state, U.S. territory, Canadian province, or qualifying country for up to 90 days after moving to Texas. Visit the Department's webpage How to apply for a Texas Driver License for more information.
The Office of the Governor approved the Department's request to suspend provisions of the Texas Transportation Code to delay the expiration date of driver licenses, commercial driver licenses and identification cards. You may download a copy of the Verification of Driver License Expiration Extension (PDF) notice. All local and state law enforcement officials have been notified of this expiration waiver.
To ensure commercial drivers are able to continue to work during the national emergency, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration temporarily waived compliance for medical certificates expiring from March 1, 2020 until June 30, 2020. The Department will continue to process medical certificates received, and will discontinue the downgrade of CDLs for expired medical certificates. When the Department resumes normal operations, you will be able to renew without any penalty.
Furthermore, the hazardous material endorsement expiration is waived by the Department as part of the CDL expiration date waiver issued by the Office of the Governor, since driver license offices are closed for these types of transactions.
FMCSA is also waiving the 14 day requirement to hold a commercial learner permit before skills testing can be conducted. At this time, the commercial driver license offices that are conducting skills tests will continue to prioritize testing for those drivers who have held the CLP for 14 days or longer. CDL Third Party Skills Test providers may prioritize drivers who were already scheduled for testing or may waive the 14-day requirement, depending on their business need. This waiver expires June 30, 2020.
If you have a CDL, a medical certificate or a hazardous material endorsement that is expired, you may continue to use your current card until June 30, 2020.
Drivers who have an updated medical certificate may still submit it to the department by email CDLMedCert@dps.texas.gov or by fax 512-424-2002.
Information is available at the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).
The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) may accept an expired Texas DL or ID as valid identification for domestic flights up to 12 months after expiration. For more information, visit the Transportation Security Administration's website Four Tips to Remember When Checking Your ID At Airport Security.
Please continue to visit this webpage frequently to receive the most current information about driver and commercial driver licensing services. For additional information on COVID-19, please visit our Frequently Asked Questions, or one of the following websites: