The Department has resumed all in-office DL and ID card services by appointment only. These services include renewal transactions.
To minimize the need to visit your local driver license office, many Texas DL and ID holders are eligible to conduct their renewal, address change, or replacement transaction online by visiting Texas.gov. For additional information about renewing or replacing your DL or ID card or changing your address, visit the following webpages.
The Department encourages all Texas residents who have lost their Texas DL, ID, or CDL to conduct their replacement transaction online. Visit the Department's webpage How to replace your Driver License, Commercial Driver License or ID card for more information.
New Texas residents can legally drive with a valid, unexpired driver license from another U.S. state, U.S. territory, Canadian province, or qualifying country for up to 90 days after moving to Texas. Visit the Department's webpage How to apply for a Texas Driver License for more information. To schedule an appointment to obtain a Texas driver license or identification card, visit Driver License Services – Appointments.
The Office of the Governor approved the Department's request to suspend provisions of the Texas Transportation Code to delay the expiration date of driver licenses, commercial driver licenses and identification cards. You may download a copy of the Verification of Driver License Expiration Extension (PDF) notice. All local and state law enforcement officials have been notified of this expiration waiver. To schedule an appointment for a CDL skills exam, visit Driver License Services – Appointments.
To ensure commercial drivers are able to continue to work during the national emergency, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration has extended the compliance for medical certificates and federal variances (also known as limb or vision waivers) expiring from March 1, 2020 until September 30, 2020. The waiver includes Texas vision and limb waivers. The Department will continue to process medical certificates and limb/vision waiver applications received, and will discontinue the downgrade of CDLs for expired medical certificates or cancellations due to expired waivers. When the Department resumes normal operations, you will be able to renew without any penalty.
Effective April 2, 2020, the United States Department of Homeland Security's Transportation Security Administration (TSA) granted a temporary exemption regarding the expiration of TSA security threat assessments for hazardous material endorsement (HME) holders. The duration of this exemption is March 1, 2020 to July 31, 2020. The Department will offer 180 day exemption for all HME holders who expire during this period. The HME holder must return to the driver license office 60 days before the exemption expires to begin the renewal process. For example, if the HME expires May 1, 2020, the 180 day exemption is good until October 31, 2020. The HME holder must return to the driver license office to begin the renewal process no later than August 31, 2020.
FMCSA is also waiving the 14-day requirement to hold a commercial learner permit before skills testing can be conducted. At this time, the commercial driver license offices that are conducting skills tests will continue to prioritize testing for those drivers who have held the CLP for 14 days or longer. CDL Third Party Skills Test providers may prioritize drivers who were already scheduled for testing or may waive the 14-day requirement, depending on their business need. This waiver expires September 30, 2020.
Effective March 28, 2020, FMCSA issued a waiver for Commercial Learners Permit (CLP) holders operating commercial motor vehicles during the COVID-19 response. The waiver is in effect until September 30, 2020 and allows a CLP holder to operate a commercial motor vehicle without having a commercial driver license (CDL) holder in the front seat, as long as the CDL holder is present elsewhere in the cab. The CLP holder must have successfully passed the CDL skills test and must keep a copy of the test with them while driving. Furthermore, the CLP holder must have a valid driver license and medical certificate or meet the expiration extension requirements. The benefit of this waiver will allow CLP drivers to continue their training, due to the closures of state departments of motor vehicle facilities.
Effective April 9, 2020, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration authorized the Department to allow CDL third-party skills test providers to conduct knowledge tests in addition to the skills tests. This allows a student or an employee of a CDL TPST provider to take knowledge tests from their school or employer to receive a commercial learner permit or an endorsement(s) on their CDL. Instructions have been provided to all CDL TPST providers, so you must contact a CDL TPST provider to begin the knowledge testing process. This waiver has been extended to September 30, 2020.
If you have a CDL or a medical certificate that is expired, you may continue to use your current card until September 30, 2020.
Drivers who have an updated medical certificate may still submit it to the department by email CDLMedCert@dps.texas.gov or by fax 512-424-2002.
Information is available at the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).
The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) may accept an expired Texas DL or ID as valid identification for domestic flights up to 12 months after expiration. For more information, visit the Transportation Security Administration's website Four Tips to Remember When Checking Your ID At Airport Security.
Please continue to visit this webpage frequently to receive the most current information about driver and commercial driver licensing services. For additional information on COVID-19, please visit our Frequently Asked Questions, or one of the following websites: