Application Process Questions
1. How do I apply?
Our application is online. All of the steps are listed online along with forms that you will be required to fill out and submit.
2. How long is the process?
From submitting your application to getting your final acceptance letter to our academy can take anywhere from 3 months to 6 months.
3. Do I have to submit original documents?
Original and certified documents are required. All documents, with the exception of certified college transcripts, will be given back to you.
4. I am discharging from the military in twelve months, when should I apply?
We must have your most current information and we have to follow a guideline for TCOLE documentation requirement. We ask that you apply no more than 6 months prior to being released. Keep in mind that you must be present for the entire application process.
5. Will the department pay for me to relocate?
The department will not pay for you to relocate. However, there are hardship duty stations throughout the state that have an increase of salary.
1. If I am disqualified during the process, how long do I have to wait?
See the disqualification chart for your waiting period to reapply.
2. Do hearing aids disqualify me?
You must be able to complete all tasks or requirements of the academy with or without hearing aids.
3. Does being color blind disqualify me from becoming a Texas State Trooper?
During the Conditional Job Offer, you must meet the minimum requirements to be able proceed. Applicants will be rejected for color deficiencies as determined by Department of Public Safety testing, chronic inflammation of the eye or adnexa, or permanent abnormalities of either eye (including cataracts, corneal opacities, paralysis of ocular muscles, etc.). Loss of either eye will reject.
4. When dealing with the drug questions, what does “pattern” mean?
A pattern is beyond experimental use of any illegal drug.
5. Define what it means to have a criminal pattern or history?
Any pattern of behavior that in sum total reflects less than good moral character, or reflects bad habits, dishonesty, untruthfulness, antisocial attitudes, or general irresponsibility will disqualify the applicant.
Qualifications/ Requirement Questions
1. How do I find out if my college has a regional accreditation?
Please go to U.S. Department of Education. Once you open this website, click on get data for one accredited institution/campus/ site. Then put in the name of the college/university you attended. Example: Austin Community College:
Once you have the institutional accreditation please check that the College/University is accredited by TCOLE. Here are the approved Regional bodies: Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges Western Association of Schools and Colleges (ACCJC), Higher Learning Commission (HLC), Middle States Commission of Higher Education (MSCHE), New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE), Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU), Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC).
2. If I have prior law enforcement experience, can I laterally transfer?
The Texas Department of Public Safety does not do lateral transfers. However, applicants who have been selected to attend our academy and who have four (4) years of full-time verified prior experience as a full-time peace officer in any state within the Unites States will advance to the Trooper II salary after they have competed the six (6) month FTO program. Troopers who have less than four (4) years of verified full-time prior experience as a peace officer in any state within the United States will advance to Trooper I salary until they reach four (4) years of combined law enforcement experience at which time they will advance to Trooper II salary.
3. Can I combine education with active duty military to qualify?
Applicants must have a minimum of 60 college earned hours from a regional accredited college or university. Prior law enforcement or military experience at the following ratios may substitute for required semester hours:
|Semester Hours||Law Enforcement/Military|
1. I submitted my application in El Paso, can I test in Austin?
Yes, contact the Recruiter/Tester where you are interested in testing at.
2. Who can I contact about the Rower and the standard requirements to pass?
Contact any of the Recruiters/Testers to give you the current standards. You can also go to www.joindps.com under “Requirements” then go to fitness requirements.
1. How do I select a recruiter/tester?
Go to www.joindps.com under Find a Recruiter/Tester. Select the recruiter/tester that is convenient to your location.
2. If I am unable to contact a Recruiter/Tester is there another contact?
Please contact the Recruiting office at 512-424-7500 or email us at JoinDPS@dps.texas.gov.
1. Can I relocate my family to Austin while I am in the academy?
Yes, but housing will not be provided for your family. During the academy you will be required to stay in the dorms provided and will have limited access to leave.
2. Can my family stay at the academy while I am going through?
The recruits are the only tenants at the academy.
Duty Station Questions
1. When are the duty stations assigned?
Duty Station Assignments will be made in sufficient time for the recruit to locate and secure housing. These assignments will be guaranteed upon graduation.
2. How do I choose my duty station?
A state vacancy list of current openings will be provided to you during the Trooper Trainee School. You will be given the opportunity to select your preference of duty assignment, but ultimately the decision will be based on the needs of the Department.
3. How long do I have to stay at the duty station I am assigned to during the academy?
There is a 12 month commitment and up to 18 months, along with the completion of the field training program.
1. If I receive a no deception indicated during the polygraph do I move on in the process?
The application process is very competitive and only the top applicants will continue in the process.
2. Can I pick the Polygraph test location?
When completing the polygraph test booklet you will be given the opportunity to select 5 test locations.
Recruiting Events Questions
1. How do I see if there are any recruiting events going on in my area?
Go to www.joindps.com and select Job Fairs/Recruiting events or Out of State Job Fairs/Recruiting Events.
2. Can I invite a Recruiter to my Criminal Justice Class?
The Texas Department of Public Safety schedules events throughout the state. Contact your local Recruiter to come out to your Criminal Justice Class
1. What kind of internships does the Department offer?
The Department offers a academic internship.
2. When can I apply for a career internship?
After you have gone through the entire application process and received your acceptance letter in the academy you can inquire about the internship.
3. Where are the Career internships located?
The Career internships are placed throughout the state at our Regional and District Offices.
4. How long does it take to complete the Academic internship application?
The Academic internship application process could take up to 8 weeks.