Frequently Asked Questions

April 15, 2021

Driver Licenses and Identification Cards

1.  How may I replace a lost license if I do not know my DL number?

Many driver license transactions may be conducted online if you know the following information:

  • Driver license or identification card number
  • Date of Birth
  • The last four numbers of your social security number
  • The audit number located on the face of the card

If you do not know your driver license number, you may be able to obtain it from one of the following documents: 

  • Your automobile insurance policy
  • Home or automobile lease agreements
  • A copy of your license provided to your Physician
  • Similar legal or business documents

For more information, please visit our webpage on How to replace your driver license, Commercial driver license or ID card.


2.  What if I am not eligible to renew online, can online renewal be available to more people?

No.  The Department already allows individuals whose driver licenses (DL) and identification cards (ID) are eligible under state law to renew online.  If you are not eligible to renew online you must schedule an appointment at a driver license office.


3.  May elderly people (over the age of 70) be allowed to renew online?

Yes.  If you are under the age of 79, you may be eligible to renew your DL or ID online if you did not renew online last time and you meet certain criteria.  For more information and to see if you are eligible, visit our webpage on How to renew your Texas Driver License, Motorcycle License or Identification card


4.  Will REAL ID requirements be extended?

Yes. The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has announced that the REAL ID Act deadline has been extended to May 7, 2025.  To assist those who are required to travel and the public, the Transportation Security Administration has released guidelines on accepting state issued cards for identity purposes.  For more information visit the Transportation Security Administration.


5.  What if my out-of-state license expires before I can get it transferred to Texas?

New Texas residents can legally drive with a valid, unexpired driver license from another U.S. state, U.S. territory, Canadian province, or qualifying country for up to 90 days after moving to Texas.

If your out-of- state driver license expires before you are able to transfer it to Texas, contact your state’s Driver License Authority for further assistance. They may provide information that you may download extending your license. If your license has expired and you cannot obtain an extension from your state’s Driver License Authority, you will be required to take the written and driving tests. 

Visit the Department's webpage How to apply for a Texas Driver License for more information on applying for a Texas driver license.


6. How do I request a Temporary Permit while out of state?

To request a temporary driving permit:

  1. Send an email request to
  2. Include your full name, license number, and date of birth.
  3. State the reason you are requesting a Temporary Permit.
  4. State that you are completing the required application for an Out of State/Country duplicate license.
  5. No fee is required for requesting this Temporary Permit.
  6. If approved, the Temporary Permit will be sent by encrypted email with instructions on how to retrieve the encrypted item.

Please note that only one Temporary Driving Permit is approved within a 12 month period.


Commercial Driver Licenses

 1. How can I submit a medical certificate?

CDL holders can submit a medical certificate to the inbox or fax to 512-424-2002.


2. What if my medical certification is expiring soon or has expired?

If you have your medical certificate now, it can be emailed to the inbox or fax to 512-424-2002.

If you were downgraded because your medical certificate expired, please schedule an appointment to upgrade your CDL at


3. Do I still need to wait 14 days after getting my commercial learner permit (CLP) before I can take the skills test?

FMCSA is waiving the 14-day requirement to hold a CLP before skills testing can be conducted. At this time, the commercial driver license offices that are conducting skills tests will continue to prioritize testing for those drivers who have held the CLP for 14 days or longer. CDL Third Party Skills Test providers may prioritize drivers who were already scheduled for testing or may waive the 14-day requirement, depending on their business need. This waiver expires February 28, 2023.    


4. If my Texas vision or limb waiver is about to expire, will an extension be granted to continue driving a commercial vehicle?

No, all COVID related waivers associated with Texas vision or limb waivers have expired.

To obtain a renewal application, visit TxDPS Forms and enter CDL-36 for a vison waiver application or CDL-37 for a limb waiver application. Once completed, send to for processing.


5. Is COVID-19 going to delay TSA approvals?

At this time, TSA advises they will continue to process threat assessment applications and does not anticipate any delays.


6. If my medical certificate is soon to expire and I am unable to see a doctor to renew, will l I have to retest if my CDL is downgraded?

A CDL that was downgraded solely for failure to provide a valid medical certificate, may be upgraded to the previous CDL status without having to take the CDL Knowledge Exams or CDL Skill Tests if the license has not been expired move then two years and the license has not been renewed or re-issued since the downgrade. You are able to email medical certification to the inbox or fax to 512-424-2002.


Third Party Skills Test

1. Will Third Party Skills Test (TPST) Providers/Schools be able to conduct skills test on CDL and Class C applicants?

You will need to contact the TPST providers directly to verify if they will be conducting skills tests during this time.


2. Will new CDL TPST Provider applications be processed at this time?

Yes; however, the processing could be delayed due to limited resources.