AMARILLO – Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) Troopers, Amarillo Police Department (APD) Motors Unit and Potter County Sheriff's Office (PCSO) are conducting a joint task force Feb. 28, to enforce the Move Over/Slow Down law. The task force will take place on major roadways in Potter and Randall County.
The law requires motorists to move over or slow down when certain vehicles are stopped on the side of the road with emergency lights activated. These vehicles include police, fire, EMS, Texas Department of Transportation (TXDOT) vehicles and tow trucks.
Specifically, Texas law states that a driver must either:
- Vacate the lane closest to the applicable vehicles stopped on the side of the road (if the road has multiple lanes traveling in the same direction), or
- Slow down 20 mph below the posted speed limit. (If the speed limit is below 25 mph, the driver must slow to 5 mph.)
Drivers should only move over if they can do so safely and legally; otherwise, they should slow down.
Violators of this law could face a fine up to $200; the fine increases to $500 if there is property damage. If violators of this law cause bodily injury, they can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, resulting in possible jail time and maximum fine of $2000.
Police officers, emergency personnel, tow truck drivers and TXDOT workers are more vulnerable on the side of the road and are at great risk of being struck by passing motorists. DPS encourages drivers to do their part by adhering to the law – move over or slow down.
### (DPS-Northwest Texas Region)