Vehicle Inspection Advisory Committee (VIAC)

Meeting Minutes September 12, 2018

Call To Order

The regular meeting of the Vehicle Inspection Advisory Committee (VIAC) was called to order at 1:30 p.m. on September 12, 2018 at DPS, Building I, 2nd Floor Executive Conference Room.

Present

Shawn Dintino	Co-Chairman	North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG)
David Lewis		Emission Testing Equipment Manufacturer
Tommy Hebson		Vehicle Equipment Repair
Ken Jones		Retired – Station Owner
Calvin Lucas		Safety and Emission Station Owner
Bill Ancona		Safety and Emission Station Owner
Morris Brown	Program Supervisor	Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)
Edgar Gilmore	Program Coordinator	Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)
Sarah Thomas	Program Coordinator	Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
David Serrins	Programs Work Lead	Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
JoJo Heselmeyer	Senior Manager	Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
Pablo Luna	Program Manager	Texas Department of Public Safety
Paula Burow	Program Coordinator	Texas Department of Public Safety
Steve Moninger	Senior Policy Analyst	Texas Department of Public Safety

Total: 14

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the previous meeting were unanimously approved as distributed.

Remarks from DPS and TCEQ

DPS:

JoJo Heselmeyer stated DPS is preparing for Legislation and University of Texas Vehicle Inspection study is due to the Legislature in December 2018

TCEQ:

Edgar Gilmore stated TCEQ is preparing for Legislation as well. In addition, they are updating the Vehicle Table in TIMS to reflect the 2012 and newer vehicle models and upon completion, stations may receive a notification for a software update to include incorporating the updated vehicle table.

Old Business

University of Texas VI Study Updates:

The University of Texas (UT) survey link is still available on the DPS website and U.T. is seeking more feedback from rural areas. The link and survey will be available until Friday, September 14, 2018. The University of Texas is tasked with providing their recommendations with the conclusion of their study.

Action Item:

Encourage rural area participation in the survey.

Legislative Update:

The committee members directed questions to the DPS and TCEQ to ascertain any legislative session interest in the safety and emissions programs.

JoJo Heselmeyer and David Serrins both stated they expect that Senator Huffines will be filing a bill in the upcoming legislature. David Serrins also stated that Senator Pickett has requested a lot of information regarding the emissions program involving how to reduce the number of vehicles that are required to comply with the emissions testing requirements.

Shawn Dintino stated NCTCOG is looking at the programs LYRAP and LIP in light of the governor's line item veto. No legislator is currently carrying the bill. LYRAP and LIP are funded through a fee in the emissions counties.

VIAC Rule Revision Update:

Steve Moninger stated he will be submitting the revised rules to the Public Safety Commission which is due to meet in October for approval to be published in the register. One recommendation was removed keeping the option for the public to attend the meetings.

Remote Sensing:

Ronnie Heselmeyer stated there have not been any High Emitter Notices sent since February 2018 because of the OPUS contract switchover. Opus plans to start scanning high emitter data at the end of September 2018 and will be begin using unmanned units, in addition to their manned units that are already in place, in the Dallas Fort Worth and Houston areas. The next High Emitter Notices should be sent out in October 2018.

Action Item:

The DPS will make it a standing procedure to provide updates at each Vehicle Inspection Advisory Committee meeting.

Future Meeting Methods:

DPS will reserve a room, as well as provide a teleconference telephone number so that all attendees can attend the meeting by the method that works best for them. Each attendee will respond to Paula Burow once the meeting invitation is sent to inform if they will be attending in person or via teleconference call.

New Business

Resignation of Member:

JoJo Heselmeyer stated that Bill Bandy holding the Public Interest seat on the committee gave his formal resignation on September 11, 2018.

Each Vehicle Inspection Advisory Committee member can recommend one (1) person to replace Bill Bandy by submitting their suggestion to Paula Burow by September 28, 2018. Submissions should include full name, driver's license or identification number, and date of birth. JoJo Heselmeyer and Pablo Luna discussed the process the recommended person would go through to be approved which included a criminal background check, and clarified the appointment is made by the Public Safety Commission not DPS.

Action Item:

Paula Burow will coordinate the replacement process.

Trailer Safety Chains

Ken Jones stated there was a need to add inspecting trailer chains to the safety inspection requirements. Pablo Luna stated inspecting trailer chains is required on CDL vehicles but not a requirement in the safety inspection program. If the interest was to add it, the Texas Transportation Code would have to be changed which is only possible through the legislature. Ken Jones asked if DPS could request the addition since Traffic Law shows as a requirement but Transportation Code 548 does not. JoJo Heselmeyer stated that DPS cannot file bills, but he could contact his state representative to request the bill submission. Pablo Luna added that DPS can only recommend changes to the Texas Administrative Code.

Member Comments:

OBD Only Stations

David Lewis asked if the 150 per month limit will go away in 2020 once the ASM Testing goes away. JoJo Heselmeyer stated the item will be discussed with TCEQ and notification will be sent to the stations.

Action Item:

Add to the TCEQ/DPS Meeting Agenda.

Future Meeting Agenda Requests:

Updates to VI Rules which should be in place by the December 2018 meeting.

Next Meeting Date:

Abel Poras will chair the next meeting which is tentatively set for December 5, at 1:30 p.m. via Teleconference. A DPS conference room will be setup for attendees who wish to attend in-person.

Adjournment

Shawn Dintino adjourned the meeting at 2:29 p.m.

Minutes submitted by: Paula Burow