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251 CERTIFICATION PROCEDURES

Those desiring to make application to become a Certified Vehicle Inspector should notify Regulatory
Services Division (RSD) personnel at a field office, any Department of Public Safety Regional Office,
or the Headquarters Office in Austin.

The certification of persons to inspect vehicles shall be in accordance with the rules and regulations
promulgated by the Department.

In accordance with the Texas Transportation Code, the Department of Public Safety may disqualify any
application for certification or revoke or suspend the certificate to inspect vehicles of any person who
has been convicted of: (1) a felony or Class A or B misdemeanor; (2) a similar crime under the
jurisdiction of another state or the federal government that is punishable to the same extent as a felony or
Class A or Class B misdemeanor; or (3) a crime under the jurisdiction of another state or the federal

government that would be a felony or Class A or Class B misdemeanor if the crime were committed in
this state.

The Department has determined a certified vehicle inspector is in a position of trust, performing a
service to members of the public where the Transportation Code, Chapter 548, requires the public to
report for vehicle inspection. Therefore, the Department has determined the following crimes relate
directly to the duties and responsibilities of a certified vehicle inspection inspector and/or those for
whom this section is applicable. Those crimes include:

1. Arson, Criminal Mischief, and Other Property Damage or Destruction (Texas Penal Code,
Chapter 28).

2. Robbery (Texas Penal Code, Chapter 29).

3. Burglary and Criminal Trespass (Texas Penal Code, Chapter 30).

4. Theft (Texas Penal Code, Chapter 31).

5. Fraud (Texas Penal Code, Chapter 32).

6. Bribery and Corrupt Influence (Texas Penal Code, Chapter 36).

7. Perjury and Other Falsification (Texas Penal Code, Chapter 37).

8. Criminal Homicide (Texas Penal Code, Chapter 19).

9. Driving Related Intoxication Offenses (Texas Penal Code, Chapter 49).

10. Texas Code of Criminal Procedures, Article 42.12 (3g) or 62.001 (Sexually Violent Offense).

11. Texas Occupations Code, Section 53.021 (a) (2)-(4).
A felony conviction for the above offenses is disqualifying for 10 years from the date of conviction,
unless the offense was committed in one’s capacity as a vehicle inspection station owner or inspector, or

was facilitated by licensure as an owner or inspector, in which case it is permanently disqualifying. A
conviction under number 10 above is permanently disqualifying.



A felony conviction for an offense not listed above is disqualifying from 5 years from the date of
conviction.

A Class A Misdemeanor conviction for the offenses listed above is disqualifying for 5 years from the
date of conviction.

A Class B Misdemeanor conviction for the offenses listed above is disqualifying for 2 years from the
date of conviction.

For purposes of this section, a person is convicted of an offense when an adjudication of guilt or an
order of deferred adjudication for the offense is entered against the person by a court of competent
jurisdiction.

A person who is disqualified as above may appeal that disqualification in accordance with 37 TAC 23.5
(h).

Application forms necessary for certification as a Certified Vehicle Inspector must be properly
completed, signed, and submitted with all required fees to the Department. Incomplete applications will
be withdrawn after 60 days if additional information required by the Department is not furnished. The
Department will conduct an investigation of each applicant to determine full compliance with the rules
and regulations, which may include a background check of the inspector applicant. Every person

licensed to inspect at an Official Vehicle Inspection Station shall be of good reputation, character, and
moral conduct.

A Certified Vehicle Inspector will recognize and acknowledge their responsibility to the public to offer a
good, complete and thorough inspection, according to the rules and regulations.

Based upon the application and results of investigations made, each applicant will be approved or
disqualified for appointment.

Vehicle inspector applicants must meet the following:
1. A vehicle inspector must be 18 years of age.
2. Hold a valid driver license to operate a motor vehicle in Texas.
3. Not currently suspended or revoked in the Texas Vehicle Inspection Program.
4. Complete Department approved training.

5. Pass with a grade of not less than 80 on an examination pertinent to the Vehicle Inspection
Program.

6. Successfully demonstrate ability to correctly operate the required testing devices.

7. Meet all other eligibility criteria.

8. Pay the statutory fee at the time of application. The Department has transitioned to
accepting applications for appointment as a Certified Vehicle Inspector via the Internet.

The application fee will be required to be paid at the time of the submission of the on-line
application.



The applicant for a vehicle inspector certification will be given an opportunity to pass the written exam
up to 3 times within 30 days from the date of training. Failure to pass the exam within 30 days from the
date of training will terminate the application process. The applicant must then reapply, attend the
training course again, and will again have 3 tries to successfully pass the written examination within the
30 day time limit.

Each certified vehicle inspector must possess one or more of the following vehicle inspection
endorsements:

1. S. May inspect any vehicle requiring a safety only vehicle inspection.
2. C. May inspect any vehicle requiring a commercial vehicle inspection.
3. E. May inspect any vehicle requiring an emission vehicle inspection.

The Department representative may, when the vehicle inspector performance warrants, require the
certified vehicle inspector to take all or part of the written and/or demonstration test at any time, or may
require attendance at any vehicle inspection training program. Failure to pass a required test may result
in suspension of the vehicle inspector’s certification.

Instructions for the renewal process will be provided well in advance of August 31 of the even-
numbered year when the inspector’s certification is due to expire. Once a completed application for
renewal of a vehicle inspector certification is received by the Department, the applicant may be required
to receive training and take a test prior to recertification.

2.10.1 CHANGES AND UPDATES TO VEHICLE INSPECTOR EMPLOYMENT, ADDRESS,
OR NAME.

a) If a certified vehicle inspector changes their place of employment, the inspector must prove their
ability to correctly operate the testing equipment at such new vehicle inspection station.

b) If a certified vehicle inspector changes their place of residence, the inspector must notify the
department of their new permanent street address within 30 days of the date of the change.

c) If acertified vehicle inspector changes their name, the inspector must notify the department of
their new name within 30 days of the date of the change.
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