
                                                              
 

              

                

        

        
 

          

                

                      
 
       

                

      
                            
          
      
                    

   
      

                                
   

                  

                  
 

              

                    
 

            

                

        

        
 

    

                                
                           

                
                            
                  
              

         

                          
 

  

            
 

      

        
 
 

SUMMARY  OF  CHANGES  
Texas  Administrative  Code,  Chapter  31       effective Nov 9, 2014 

31.3	 Definitions (added throughout all rules where applicable) 
 Noted which courses meet training requirement for licensing 
 Added Intermediate course description 
 Changed RiderCoach to Instructor 

31.2	 Contracted Motorcycle Operator Training Sponsor 
 Added consequences to unauthorized training to include misdemeanor 
 Added must abide by the Texas Sponsor Rules of Professional Conduct 

31.3	 Motorcycle Safety Instructor 
 Added consequences to unauthorized training to include misdemeanor 
 Added/Revised Application requirements: 

o	 license for five years to include a current unrestricted motorcycle license for two years 
o	 meet criminal history minimum standard 
o	 hands‐on CPR/FA training 
o	 must abide by the Texas Instructor Rules of Professional Conduct 

31.4	 Student Admission Requirements 
 Added 15‐18 year olds can present form verifying successful completion of the classroom portion phase of 

Driver Education
 
 Added 18 years and older must provide picture identification
 
 Added intermediate course requirement; must be 18 years old
 

31.5	 Verification of Motorcycle Operator Training Course Completion 
 Added two year restriction to use of MSB‐8 for licensing 

31.6	 Approved Standard Motorcycle Operator Training Course 
 Noted which courses meet training requirement for licensing 
 Added Intermediate course description 
 Changed RiderCoach to Instructor 

31.7	 Motorcycle Requirements 
	 Added motorcycles on loan to Sponsors from the Department for use in the basic motorcycle operator 

training course, if deemed unsafe, may be required to be returned to the Department 
	 NOTE: (e)(2) MSF changed criteria after rule changes: 

o	 an engine displacement of 500cc or less (or electric motor of 30kW or less) 
o	 an unladen curb/wet weight of 440 pounds or less 
o	 a seat height of 30” or less 

31.8	 Notice and Hearing Requirements 
 Denial, suspension or cancellation is followed by notice and opportunity of a hearing 

31.9	 Suspension 
 Included Licensed Motorcycle Operator Training Sponsor 

31.10	 Technical Assistance Visits 
 Changed RiderCoach to Instructor 



     
                                                                            

 
        

                                  
 

 
           

                

      

                      

SUMMARY OF CHANGES 
Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 31 effective Nov 9, 2014 

31.11	 Notification of Legal Actions 
	 Added failure to notify the Department within a reasonable time is cause for suspension of contract or 

license 

31.12	 Licensed Motorcycle Operator Training Sponsor 
 Added consequences to unauthorized training to include misdemeanor 
 Added course descriptions 
 Added must abide by the Texas Sponsor Rules of Professional Conduct 


