Texas requirements for motorcycle license, helmet law, safety inspection and insurance

Obtaining a motorcycle license (class M)
Contact local Driver License office for additional requirements
http.//www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/motorcycleLicense.htm

First time license; motorcycle only

0 motorcycle safety course

car written test; only test with questions about signs and rules of the road

motorcycle road test; since no car road test taken, proof of driving competency must be shown

15-17 year olds - Classroom phase of Teen Driver Education course; behind-the-wheel phase not required
18-24 year olds - Adult Driver Education course; if Teen Driver Education course is taken, only classroom phase is
required; behind-the-wheel phase not required

Adding motorcycle license to car permit

Note: the car permit for a minor must have been issued with the completion of the classroom phase of a Teen Driver
Education Course

0 motorcycle safety course

0 motorcycle road test; since no car road test taken, proof of driving competency must be shown

Adding motorcycle license to car license

0 motorcycle safety course

0 motorcycle road test if under 18; DL office may waive motorcycle road test if 18 or over
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Note: applicants requesting Moped restriction (K) are not exempt from the motorcycle written test at DL office. Read the
Motorcycle Operator’s Manual to study for test.

Personal gear requirements

Helmet law requires both driver and passenger to wear a helmet with two exceptions. Must be 21 or older AND

0 Can show proof of successful completion of an MSF basic or advanced motorcycle safety course
OR

0 Can show proof of health insurance plan that provides benefits for health care services or for medical or surgical
expenses incurred as a result of an accident while operating or riding on a motorcycle

No other personal gear is required by the state, i.e. eye protection, jacket, reflective vest, gloves, footwear

Note: military personnel have specific gear requirements other than listed above

Motorcycle equipment requirements

1.
. Mirror

. Steering

. Brakes (system)

. Tires

. Wheel Assembly
. Exhaust System

. Tail Lamp (1)

. Stop Lamp (1)
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Horn

10. License Plate Lamp

11. Rear Red Reflector (1)

12. Head Lamp (1)

13. Motor, Serial, or Vehicle Identification Number

Note: although not an inspectionable item, Malorie’s Law states that if a motorcycle is designed to carry more than one
person then it must be equipped with footrests and handholds for use by the passenger.

Insurance requirements

Minimum liability coverage (30/60/25)
0 530,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident
0 $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident
0 525,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in one accident



CONSEQEUNCES FOR IMPAIRED RIDING (LEGAL, SOCIAL, PERSONAL, ECONOMIC)
TxDPS MOTORCYCLE OPERATOR’S MANUAL page 46

ALCOHOL AND THE LAW

It is against the law to operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated. In Texas, a person with a Blood Alcohol Concentration
(BAC) of .08 percent or more is legally intoxicated. Texas’ Zero Tolerance for Minors law make it illegal for persons under
21 to operate a motor vehicle (motorcycle) with ANY detectable amount of alcohol in his or her system in a public place.
Doing so constitutes a criminal offense of (Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by a Minor).

Consequences of a DWI Arrest
Texas, like most other states, has strengthened DWI laws in recent years resulting in little tolerance for drinking and
driving. Years ago, DWI offenders may have been required to pay a fine and attend an alcohol awareness class. Today a
person arrested for DWI may experience the following on a first offense:
e The humiliation of an arrest, being fingerprinted and videotaped as you perform sobriety tests at the police
station
e Spending the night in jail with violent offenders
e Posting a cash bond of $500 or more or paying a bonding fee for jail release
e Having your motorcycle carried away by a wrecker and paying a towing fee to get the vehicle out of impound
e Explaining what happened to your family and employer and interrupting your life for court appearances and
visits to a probation officer
e Paying legal fees to an attorney
e Undergoing an alcohol or drug dependency evaluation

Possible Consequences of a DWI Conviction

e Driver license and/or driving privilege suspension for up to two years under the Administrative License
Revocation Program

e Driver License and/or driving privilege suspended by the court for up to one year for the first conviction and up
to two years for subsequent convictions

e Fines up to $2,000 for the first conviction and up to $10,000 for subsequent convictions

e Court costs starting at $70

e Annual surcharges for three years of $1,000 for the first conviction, $1,500 for subsequent convictions and
$2,000 if your BAC is at least twice the legal limit

e Jail sentence ranging from 72 hours to ten years or you may be eligible for probation for a first offense

o  Weekly visits to your probation officer

e Community service requirements

e DWI education/rehabilitation program attendance

e Increased insurance rates and requirements

e Legal defense fees

e Driver and criminal record entries that may follow you for life






