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A message from ERS Executive Director Porter Wilson 

Congratulations on your new job! Let me be among the first 
to welcome you to public service as an employee of the 
State of Texas. 

As a State of Texas employee, you earn benefits that are 
comprehensive and, on average, make up about one-third 
of total compensation. The benefits offered to you are 
designed to enhance your health and secure your future. 

The decisions you make—some of which must be made during your first few 
weeks on the job—will affect your health care, retirement security and take-
home pay. Take time to read about your options in this guide, so that you can 
make informed choices in your first 31 to 60 days of employment. Then, make 
the most of your benefits to improve your health, your financial wellbeing and 
your peace of mind. 

At the Employees Retirement System of Texas, we’re proud to support 
excellence in public service by administering health insurance, retirement and 
other benefits to state agency employees and their families. We’re committed to 
supporting you as you serve your fellow citizens. 

This New Employee Benefits Guide provides the information you need to make 
the most of your State of Texas retirement, insurance and related benefits. For 
more information, visit the ERS website at www.ers.texas.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Porter Wilson 
Executive Director 
Employees Retirement System of Texas 

The New Employee Benefits Guide for Plan Year 2020 highlights benefits that are effective at the time 
of publication. ERS benefits are subject to change without notice and depend on funding from the state. 

Employees Retirement System of Texas  
Always available online at www.ers.texas.gov 

24/7 access to automated information on your insurance and retirement benefits:   
(877) 275-4377, TDD: 711. Talk to a representative 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. CT, Monday through Friday.  

Published September 2019 

https://www.ers.texas.gov
https://www.ers.texas.gov/
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Getting started: Signing up for your benefits 

As a State of Texas employee, you 
will automatically be enrolled in: 
•  HealthSelect of Texas®, a point-of-service health  

plan, which includes prescription drug coverage. 

•  $5,000 Basic Term Life and accidental death &  
dismemberment (AD&D) insurance. This comes  
automatically with your health insurance at no cost  
to you if you are a full-time employee (part-time  
employees pay half the cost of their Basic Term Life  
and AD&D insurance). 

•  State of Texas Retirement. You will contribute 9.5%  
of your salary, an amount set by the Texas Legislature,  
to your State of Texas Retirement account. You cannot  
opt out of this contribution, which is taken from your  
monthly paycheck before taxes. The state makes  
a contribution equal to 9.5% of your salary, and the  
agency you work for contributes another 0.5%. See  
page 24 to learn more about your State of Texas  
Retirement account. 

•  Texa$averSM 401(k) / 457 Program. If you are a  
first-time state employee or are returning after a  
break in state employment, you will contribute 1% of  
your monthly salary to an individual 401(k) invested  
in the Target Date Fund with the target date closest  
to the year you turn 65. The contribution is deducted  
from your monthly paycheck before taxes. You can  
opt out of the Texa$aver account. You can also open  
a 457 account, instead of or in addition to a 401(k),  
and choose the amount you want deducted from your  
paycheck. If you have directly transferred from another  
state agency or are a return-to-work retiree, you can  
enroll in a Texa$aver 401(k) and/or 457 account and  
choose the contribution amount you want deducted  
from your paycheck. In both the 401(k) and 457, you  
can increase your contribution and/or make other  
changes to your account or investments at any time.  
See page 27 to learn more about Texa$aver, how to  
make changes, and how it can help you have a more  
secure retirement 

A note to full-time employees 
Unless you opt out of health coverage or select 
another plan, ERS will enroll you in HealthSelect of 
Texas. You will have 31 days to sign up for optional 
benefits. If you fail to do so, you will have to wait until 
the annual Summer Enrollment period to sign up or 
until you experience a qualifying life event (QLE). If 
you wait, coverage in some plans is not guaranteed. 

You have a choice 
If you don’t want to enroll in HealthSelect of Texas, you 
may choose one of the following health insurance plans: 

• Consumer Directed HealthSelect, a high-deductible 
health plan paired with a tax-free health savings 
account (HSA) with a monthly contribution from the 
State of Texas or 

• a health maintenance organization (HMO), if you live 
or work in one of the counties they serve. See page 12 
for a list of counties served by an HMO. 

You can also enroll in the following  
optional benefits: 
•  one of two dental insurance plans; 

•  State of Texas Vision insurance plan; 

•  additional life insurance for yourself and/or for your  
eligible dependents; 

•  Accidental Death & Dismemberment Insurance;  

•  short-term and long-term disability coverage through  
the Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP) and 

•  TexFlex flexible and/or commuter spending accounts. 

What are your benefits worth? 
For the average state employee, the State of Texas  
benefits package makes up more than one-third of his or  
her total compensation.  

Average state employee total compensation = $72,205 
•  $46,475 in salary 

•  $25,730 in benefits 

Employers and employees say that the benefits are a  
major draw to state employment. 

Health Insurance – 12.3% 

Pension – 6.4% 

Vacation, Holidays and
Sick Leave – 10.3% 

Other (payroll expense,
longevity pay) – 6.6% 

Salary
64.4% 

Source: Texas State Auditor’s Office, A Report on State Employee 
Benefits as a Percentage of Total Compensation, April 2018 

http://www.sao.texas.gov/SAOReports/ReportNumber?id=18-704
http://www.sao.texas.gov/SAOReports/ReportNumber?id=18-704
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Benefits checklist 
Within 31 days of your hire 
Enroll yourself and your eligible dependents in optional 
coverage. You cannot enroll your dependents in any 
coverage that you’re not enrolled in. 

Dental insurance –   
coverage for you and your family 
•  DeltaCare® USA dental health maintenance  

organization (DHMO) or 
•  State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM preferred   

provider organization (PPO)  

Vision insurance –   
coverage for you and your family 
• State of Texas VisionSM 

Optional Term Life Insurance –   
coverage for yourself 
• Coverage at 1 or 2 times your annual salary 

• Coverage of 3 or 4 times your annual salary, through 
evidence of insurability (EOI) 

Voluntary Accidental Death & 
Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance – 
coverage for you and your family 
• $10,000 - $200,000 for yourself 
• Eligible dependents enrolled at a percentage of your 

covered amount 

Dependent Term Life Insurance –  
coverage for your family 
• Coverage for eligible dependents 

Texas Income Protection Plan (TIPP) –  
coverage for yourself 
• Short-term disability insurance 

• Long-term disability insurance 

Certain TexFlex accounts  
For information on health-related flexible spending  
accounts, please see the TexFlex entry under “Within   
60 days of your hire.” 

•  Dependent day care flexible spending account 
Note:  Your dependent does not need to be enrolled in your health  
insurance for you to set up this account and submit claims. 

•  Commuter spending accounts for mass transit   
and/or parking expenses associated with your  
commute to work. 

Within 60 days of your hire 
Health insurance  
Change your health insurance from HealthSelect of Texas  
to another plan, if you are a full-time employee subject  
to a health insurance waiting period. Enroll your eligible  
dependents in coverage. Enroll yourself and your eligible  
dependents, if you are a part-time employee.  

•  HealthSelect of Texas (dependents and part-time  
employees are not automatically enrolled) or 

•  Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM or 
•  An HMO, if you live or work in an eligible county or 
•  Opt out of health coverage if you have other group health  

insurance that is comparable to the Texas Employees  
Group Benefits Program (GBP) health insurance 
Note: If you opt out, you can get a Health Insurance Opt-Out Credit to  
apply toward premiums for dental, vision, and/or AD&D insurance. 

•  Waive health coverage  
•  Enroll eligible dependents.  
•  Complete dependent child certification and begin  

dependent verification. You and your dependents must  
be enrolled in the same plan. 

•  Certify tobacco-use status for yourself and any  
covered dependents. 

TexFlex flexible spending accounts for  
health-related expenses 
• Health care flexible spending account (not available to 

Consumer Directed HealthSelect participants) 
• Limited flexible spending account (available only to 

Consumer Directed HealthSelect participants) 

At any time 
Texa$aver voluntary retirement savings 
account(s) 
• Enroll in a 457 plan 

• Increase or change your 401(k) and/or 457 plan 
savings contribution 

• Opt out of your 401(k) account 

Add and update beneficiaries for: 
• Life insurance 

• Texa$aver 
• ERS Retirement 
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Please Note: After your first 31 or 60 days of employment, you can make benefits changes only during 
Summer Enrollment unless you have a qualifying life event (QLE) — for example, you get married or 
divorced or you have a child. However, you must make benefit changes within 31 days of that QLE. 

IMPORTANT: No questions asked for 31 days 
If you want optional life insurance coverage and disability insurance, now is the best time to sign up. If 
you sign up within your first month of employment, you will not need to provide evidence of insurability 
(EOI). EOI (also known as proof of good health) is an application process during which you must 

provide information about your or your dependents’ health. If you wait, you run the risk of not qualifying for these 
benefits based on those EOI results. Don’t miss your 31-day window of opportunity! (Please note that optional life 
insurance at three or four times your annual salary always requires EOI, even in your first month of employment.) 

Dependent coverage and eligibility 
Your spouse and other eligible 
dependents can get health insurance 
and other coverage for an additional 
premium. However, you must enroll 
in a plan before you can enroll your 
dependents in that plan. 

Your dependents must meet certain criteria to be eligible. 
Please see the dependent eligibility chart on page 6. You 
can also go online at https://ers.texas.gov/Benefits-
at-a-Glance/GBP-Eligibility to learn more about who 
qualifies for insurance coverage. 

Certifying dependent children  
If you enroll a child or children through your ERS OnLine  
account, you will have to certify each one before you  
submit your enrollment elections.   

If you enroll your children with help from your benefits 
coordinator/human resources department or the HHS 
Employee Service Center, you must fill out, sign and return 
the Dependent Child Certification form. Get the form from: 

•  your benefits coordinator/HR department or the HHS  
Employee Service Center or 

•  https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Forms/. 
Scroll down until you see the link to the Dependent Child  
Certification form. You can fill it out online and print it, or  
you can print it and write the information in ink. 

Whether you certify your children online or with a paper  
form, the certification is legally binding. If you submit  
false information, you could lose your benefits and so  
could your dependents. If you intentionally provide false  
information, you may face criminal penalties. 

Verifying all dependents enrolled 
in health insurance 
Once ERS processes your dependents’ enrollment in health 
coverage, a third-party administrator called Alight Solutions 
will contact you. ERS works with Alight Solutions to verify 
that dependents are eligible to participate in GBP plans. 
Alight Solutions will mail you a letter that outlines the steps 
in the verification process. The letter will list the names of 
the dependents being verified, the documents needed to do 
so and your deadline for sending those documents. 

Important: If you get a letter from Alight Solutions, 
open it right away! Be sure to carefully review all the 
information and keep the deadline in mind. If you don’t 
send the right documents or send documents after the 
deadline, your dependents may be found ineligible 
and dropped from all coverage. However, you will 
have another opportunity to prove your dependent’s 
eligibility by providing documents to ERS during Summer 
Enrollment. You should get your Summer Enrollment 
guide in your mailbox in June or July. 

If you have questions about verifying your dependents, call 
Alight Solutions toll-free at (800) 987-6605 (TTY: 711). 

Please note: If both you and your spouse work for 
the State of Texas and enroll in separate GBP health 
plans, each of you will have a separate total out-
of-pocket maximum, and if applicable to your plan, 
a separate annual deductible. Consider enrolling 
your dependents in coverage under the member 
who is more likely to meet the total out-of-pocket 
maximums. For more information on out-of-pocket 
maximums and deductibles, see pages 30 and 31. 

https://ers.texas.gov/Benefits-at-a-Glance/GBP-Eligibility
https://ers.texas.gov/Benefits-at-a-Glance/GBP-Eligibility
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Forms/
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Dependent eligibility chart 
Make sure your dependents are eligible for insurance and that you have the appropriate documentation to show eligibility 
before you enroll them in any coverage. If you are unable to supply the documents listed below, please contact Alight 
Solutions Customer Service. 

NOTE: You must provide a birth certificate to enroll a newborn child. Alight Solutions will accept a hospital-issued birth 
certificate for a child age three months or younger. 

Dependent of the Participant 
(employee, retiree or other 

individual enrolled in program as 
recognized by Texas law) 

Eligibility Examples of Supporting Documents 
(these documents are required) 

Spouse Spouse as recognized by law 

• Government-issued marriage certificate 
AND 

• Current federal tax return OR 
• Proof of joint ownership** issued within last 

six months OR 
• Government-issued marriage certificate 

only (if married in the last 12 months) 

Common Law Spouse Spouse as recognized by law 

• Declaration of informal marriage with the 
county courthouse AND 

• Current federal tax return OR 
• Proof of joint ownership** issued within last 

six months 

Biological Child* Natural-born child • Government-issued birth certificate (see 
note above) 

Adopted Child* Child is eligible at time of placement. 
• Adoption certificate OR 
• Adoption placement agreement AND 
• Petition for adoption 

Stepchild* Child is not required to live in participant’s 
household. 

• Government-issued marriage certificate 
OR 

• Declaration of informal marriage with the 
county courthouse AND 

• Child’s government-issued birth certificate 
AND 

• Current federal tax return OR 
• Proof of joint ownership** issued within last 

six months 

Child of Managing Conservator* Child is identified in the managing 
conservatorship granted to the participant. 

• Managing conservatorship court document 
signed by judge 

Foster Child* Child must not have other governmental 
insurance. 

• Placement order AND 
• Affidavit of foster child 

Legal Ward Child* Child is under the protection or in the custody of 
the participant. 

• Court order signed by a judge appointing 
participant as the child’s guardian 
(documentation of legal custody) AND 

• Government-issued birth certificate 

Other Child* 

Child is related to participant by blood or 
marriage, was claimed as dependent on 
participant’s federal income tax return for 
previous tax year, and will continue to be claimed 
on participant’s federal income tax return for 
every calendar year the child is covered. 
A child who is acquired or born in the current 
calendar year will be claimed and continue to be 
claimed on participant’s federal income tax return 
for every calendar year the child is covered. 

• Government-issued birth certificate (see 
note above) OR 

• Government-issued marriage license to 
prove family relationship AND 

• Current federal tax return OR 
• Affidavit of good cause 

*Child must be under age 26 for health insurance, and can be married or unmarried. Child must be under age 26 and unmarried 
for dental coverage, State of Texas Vision and Dependent Term Life Insurance. Disabled dependent children age 26 and over may 
be eligible for insurance. For more information, visit https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Life-Changes/Children/ 
Disabled-Dependent-Child. 

**See the Documentation Requirements in the communications Alight Solutions sends you for examples of Joint Ownership 
documents. False information could lead to expulsion from the GBP and/or criminal prosecution. 

https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Life-Changes/Children/Disabled-Dependent-Child
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Life-Changes/Children/Disabled-Dependent-Child
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Understand your health plan options 
Choosing the right health insurance for yourself and your  You may also pay out of pocket for some of your  
family is an important decision. You have a responsibility  care—through copays, coinsurance, deductibles for  
to understand how the benefits you select could affect  prescriptions, and in some cases, deductibles for medical  
your family’s health and finances. care. How much you pay out of pocket depends on the  

plan you choose and, once you’re enrolled, the providers As a State of Texas agency employee not enrolled in   
you see. With the Consumer Directed HealthSelect high-Medicare, you have options when it comes to health  
deductible plan, you could have much higher upfront, insurance. You can choose HealthSelect of Texas or   
out-of-pocket costs. However, this plan also gives you Consumer Directed HealthSelect. Depending on what   
the chance to save money tax-free in a health savings county you live or work in, you may decide to enroll in   
account (HSA) for health care costs and includes a one of the health maintenance organizations (HMOs):   
monthly contribution from the state to your HSA for Community First Health Plans in the San Antonio area   
eligible employees. The HSA is portable, meaning you and Scott and White Health Plan in central Texas.   
keep the account and all the funds in it if you leave  

All the health plans are network-based. This means you’ll  state employment. In addition, you don’t have to use the  
save money—sometimes a lot of money—if you go to  money during the plan year—you can save it as long as  
doctors and other providers in the plan’s network. The  you want and use it when you decide to. 
two HealthSelect plans have a large network of more  

Which plan is best for you and your family? The table than 50,000 primary care providers (PCPs), specialists,   
on the next page shows features of each plan. You can hospitals and other providers. The HMOs have smaller   
also use the online decision tool at networks that are limited to certain counties. https://healthselect. 
bcbstx.com/content/healthselect-plans/index. Part-

All plans require cost-sharing. You and the State of  time premium information is on page 30. 
Texas, as your employer, both pay for coverage and care.  
The state pays 100% of the monthly premium for eligible  
full-time employees and 50% of the premium for their  
eligible dependents. The state pays 50% of the premium  
for eligible part-time employees and 25% of the premium  
for their eligible dependents. 

Set up an ERS OnLine  
account  
With an ERS OnLine account, you can 
check your coverage, update contact 
information and do other benefits-related 

activities at any time of the day or night, without having to 
call or visit ERS. Follow these steps to set up an account: 

1.  Go to https://www.ers.texas.gov/account-login. 

2.  Click on Register Now. 

3.  Enter your information and create a username and  
password. 

Because you are a new employee, your benefits 
coordinator will likely enroll you and your dependents 
in the coverage you choose. However, with your ERS 
OnLine account, you will be able to update your elections 
on your own during the next Summer Enrollment period. 

Don’t forget to update your ERS OnLine account if you 
move or have other life changes. 

In addition to creating your account, you can sign up for 
ERS news and updates at https://www.ers.texas.gov/ 
subscribe. 

https://www.ers.texas.gov/account-login
https://www.ers.texas.gov/subscribe
https://www.ers.texas.gov/subscribe
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/healthselect-plans/index
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/healthselect-plans/index
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Health insurance plan features 
Point-of-service plan High-deductible plan with HSA HMOs 

HealthSelect of Texas Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect 

Community
First Health 

Plans 

Scott and 
White Health 

Plan 

Key advantage(s) 

• Low out-of-pocket costs for in-
network care 

• Copays for certain in-network 
services, like PCP office visits 

• Large, statewide network 
(large, nationwide network for 
those who live or work outside 
Texas) 

• Health savings account (HSA), 
with monthly contributions from 
the state to help pay for current 
or future health costs 

• Can reduce your taxable income 
by contributing funds pre-tax to 
your HSA 

• Large statewide network (large 
nationwide network for those 
who live or work outside Texas) 

• Referrals not required 

• Low out-of-pocket costs for 
in-network care 

• Lower monthly premiums for 
dependents and part-time 
employees 

In-network 
preventive care 
covered at 100% 

Yes Yes Yes 

Prescription drug 
coverage Yes Yes Yes 

Key downside(s) 

• Referrals needed for most 
specialty care (unless your 
address on file with ERS is 
outside Texas) 

• Higher monthly premiums 
for dependents and part-time 
employees 

• The plan pays nothing until the 
deductible is met 

• Must meet IRS guidelines to 
participate in the HSA 

• Limited regional network 

• Plan pays nothing for out-
of-network care (except 
emergencies 

Might be good for 
people who … 

• Want to keep their out-of-
pocket costs low 

• Don’t mind getting referrals for 
specialty care 

• Are willing to pay higher 
dependent or part-time 
employee premiums 

• Usually have low (or very high) 
health expenses 

• Can afford to pay for medical 
and pharmacy expenses out of 
pocket until the deductible is met 

• Want the state’s tax-free HSA 
contribution 

• Don’t want to get referrals for 
specialty care 

• Want to keep their out-of-
pocket costs low 

• Don’t mind getting all non-
emergency care from a small, 
regional network 

• Want to pay lower dependent 
or part-time employee 
premiums 

What is the GBP? 
Employees of State of Texas 
agencies and many higher education 
institutions can participate in the 
Texas Employees Group Benefits 
Program (GBP). Created by the 72nd 
Legislature, the GBP offers insurance 
and other related benefits that help 
State of Texas employees and their 
families live healthy, financially 
secure lives. 

You are a member of the GBP while you’re employed at: 
•  a state agency, 

•  a Texas public institution of higher education that is not part of  
the University of Texas or Texas A&M University systems, 

•  Community Supervision and Corrections Department (CSCD), 

•  Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS), 

•  Windham School District, 

•  Texas Municipal Retirement System (TMRS) or 

•  Texas County and District Retirement System (TCDRS). 
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HealthSelectr 

HealthSelect of Texas and   
Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
No matter where you live, you can choose between HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect. With 
both plans, you have access to a provider network of more than 50,000 providers. Both plans include a comprehensive 
prescription drug program administered by OptumRx. 

Key features of HealthSelect of Texas: 
•  You do not have to meet an annual medical deductible if your provider  

is in the HealthSelect network. If you get care outside the network,  
you will have to meet a $500 annual deductible per person, with a  
maximum annual deductible of $1,500 per family. 

•  You have prescription drug coverage through a plan administered by  
OptumRx. You will have to meet a $50 per person deductible before  
the plan begins to pay for prescription drugs. This deductible resets at  
the beginning of each calendar year. (The plan year for health benefits  
and premiums follows the state’s fiscal year calendar – September  
through August.) 

•  You are responsible for copays and/or coinsurance for doctor and  
hospital visits and other medical services, such as outpatient surgery  
and high-tech radiology. 

•  To keep your costs as low as possible, you need to choose a primary  
care provider (PCP) on file with BCBSTX and get referrals from  
your PCP to see in-network specialists. If you do not have a referral  
from your PCP on file with BCBSTX before you get treatment from a  
specialist, you could pay more for your treatment, even if the provider  
is in the HealthSelect network. 

You do not need a referral for: 
•  eye exams (both routine and  

diagnostic), 

•  OB-GYN visits, 

•  mental health counseling, 

•  chiropractic visits, 

•  occupational therapy, speech  
therapy and physical therapy, 

•  virtual visits* for medical or mental  
health care and 

•  urgent care centers and convenience  
care clinics. 

*Virtual visits for medical care are  
covered at no cost for HealthSelect  
of Texas participants. Virtual visits for  
mental health care have the same  
benefit as an in-network mental health  
office visit—a $25 copay. 

Jennica Preston 
Benefits Coordinator 
Seeing results with  
Real Appeal 
When Jennica Preston 
joined Real Appeal two years 
ago, she wanted to lose 
the weight she had gained 
while pregnant with her now 
10-year-old son. Preston, a 
human resources specialist 

at the Railroad Commission of Texas (RRC), wasn’t 
happy with the woman she saw in her mirror. 
“I’d always been petite and small,” says Preston, who 

was enthusiastic about the Real Appeal approach from 
the beginning. “Real Appeal motivated me to make the 
right choices,” she said. “Right off the bat, I went cold 
turkey and stopped eating fast food and sodas. I started 
using my husband’s workout equipment to get exercise at 
home. A few times each week, I walked the twelve flights 
of stairs to my office.” 
Preston’s commitment paid off. In less than six months, 
she lost 32 pounds. Today, she is 64 pounds lighter and 
delighted with the results of her lifestyle change. “I’m 
thrilled to be getting back to the person I really am.” 
Preston is also eager to help others as they seek to become 
healthier—and happier. She recently agreed to become the 
new wellness coordinator at the Texas RRC and is excited 
to “have an opportunity to help my colleagues by sharing 
the benefits of getting and staying fit.” 
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CONSUMER DIRECTED 

HealthSelecf" 
Consumer Directed HealthSelect is a high-deductible health plan paired with a 
tax-free health savings account (HSA). The high deductible means you could 
have higher out-of-pocket costs before your health plan begins to pay for 
prescription drugs or any care, except preventive care. This plan is available 
only to those not enrolled in Medicare. 

Key features of Consumer Directed HealthSelect: 
• You do not need to designate a PCP or get referrals to 

specialists. 

• The monthly dependent premium is lower than 
HealthSelect of Texas, but you pay the full cost of 
doctor visits, prescriptions, hospital stays and any 
other non-preventive health services or products 
until you have reached the annual deductible. (See 
deductible amounts below.) 

• You get a monthly health savings account (HSA) 
contribution from the state to help pay for eligible medical 
costs. (See information on HSAs on page 10.) 

• You have prescription drug coverage through a plan 
administered by OptumRx. 

• After you meet the deductible, you pay coinsurance 
(20% in network, 40% out of network) for medical 
services and prescriptions, rather than a copay. 

• Your deductible and total out-of-pocket maximums for 
individual and family coverage reset on January 1. 
(The plan year for premiums and health benefits follows 
the state’s fiscal year calendar – September through 
August.) 

2019 and 2020 
Deductible 

(includes prescriptions) 

Individual 
Coverage 

Family 
Coverage 

NOTE: Deductibles are based on the calendar year 
and reset on January 1. 

In-network $2,100 $4,200 
Out-of-network $4,200 $8,400 

Eileen Eiden 
Understanding this  
newer health plan  
option 
When Eileen Eiden joined 
Austin Community College 
in 2014, a high-deductible 
health plan (HDHP) wasn’t 
among her health plan 
options. “I was surprised, 
and I kept asking when ERS 
would offer a high-deductible 
plan,” Eiden recalled. 
Two years later, when ERS 

began offering Consumer Directed HealthSelect, Eiden 
promptly signed up and found this HDHP with a Health 
Savings Account (HSA) to be a good fit for her. 
An HDHP “is perfect for healthy adults, especially if you 
see a doctor only once a year. Your in-network preventive 
care is fully covered, with no copay or coinsurance,” 
Eiden explained. Then, there is the HSA. “It’s like a 
401(k), but for health.” 

The State of Texas contributes money to the HSA every 
month, when a Consumer Directed HealthSelect member 
opens an HSA with Optum Bank. Plus, members can 
contribute pre-tax money. HSA funds are tax-free when 
spent on eligible health care expenses (even in retirement). 
And, if you should leave your job or retire, the money 
in your account—even the portion contributed by the 
state—is yours to keep. In time, the funds in an HSA 
can accumulate with contributions, earned interest and 
investment earnings. None of this growth is taxed when 
spent on eligible health care expenses. 
Eiden acknowledged that plans like Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect might be risky for people who don’t have 
enough cash to cover the plan’s annual high deductible, 
which includes both covered pharmacy and medical 
costs. After the deductible is met, the member pays 20% 
coinsurance (not copays) for in-network health care 
services and prescription drugs. If you haven’t saved 
enough in your HSA to meet the deductible, you could be 
faced with a financial challenge. 
“What scared me the most was the possibility that I 
wouldn’t be able to pay for my medical care,” Eiden 
stated. “Once I started adding money to my HSA, that 
was no longer an issue.” 
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Health savings account (HSA) 
Available only with Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
An HSA allows you to set money aside, tax-free, and use the funds  
to pay for eligible out-of-pocket health expenses anytime, even in  
retirement. 

•  You can use your HSA funds for qualified medical expenses  
for yourself, your spouse and eligible dependents – even if  
they’re not covered under your health insurance. The Internal  
Revenue Service (IRS) defines qualified medical expenses. Visit  
http://www.hsacenter.com/what-is-an-hsa/qualified-medical-
expenses/ for more information. 

•  To help cover your out-of-pocket health costs, the state makes  
a monthly contribution to the HSA of every eligible member  
enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect. You are not  
eligible to make or receive any contributions to an HSA if you  
are enrolled in Medicare. Contributions—both from the state  
and a member’s paycheck (optional)—are typically deposited  
between the 7th and the 10th business day of the month. To  
learn more about HSA eligibility, visit https://www.optumbank. 
com/all-products/hsa/hsa-eligibility.html 

•  You can make pre-tax contributions to your HSA through payroll  
deductions. The IRS sets the maximum contribution amount  
each year. See the table below for maximum contributions. 

•  All the money in your HSA carries over from one year to the 
next—there is no use-it-or-lose-it rule—and you can keep the 
funds if you change health plans or even leave state employment. 

Contribute yearly for 
TRIPLE TAX SAVINGS 

1. Contribute money into the account (tax-free). 

2. Pay for medical expenses (tax-free). 

3. Earn interest yearly on the account (tax-free). 

HSA contributions and maximums* 
Calendar Year 2019 

January 1 – December 31, 2019 
Calendar Year 2020 

January 1 – December 31, 2020 

Individual 
Account 

Family 
Account** 

Individual 
Account 

Family 
Account** 

Annual total contribution allowed from 
all sources*** $3,500 $7,000 $3,550 $7,100 

Annual state contribution $540 
($45 monthly) 

$1,080 
($90 monthly) 

$540 
($45 monthly) 

$1,080 
($90 monthly) 

Annual maximum participant 
contribution $2,960 $5,920 $3,010 $6,020 

*HSA contributions and limits may change from year to year. They may also change based on eligibility requirements and the participant’s age. Maximums are set 
by the IRS and include both pre-tax and post-tax contributions to an HSA. Contributions are based on the calendar year, and maximums reset on January 1. 
**A family account includes the member plus any number of dependents enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect. 
*** An additional $1,000 annual “catch-up” contribution is allowed for an accountholder who is age 55 or older by the end of the calendar year. 

http://www.hsacenter.com/what-is-an-hsa/qualified-medical-expenses/
http://www.hsacenter.com/what-is-an-hsa/qualified-medical-expenses/
https://www.optumbank.com/all-products/hsa/hsa-eligibility.html
https://www.optumbank.com/all-products/hsa/hsa-eligibility.html
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Go online 
Enrolling in Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect? Decide if you want to 
make payroll deductions, then open 
your HSA ASAP! 

If you enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect and want 
to contribute to your HSA via payroll deduction, you must 
elect your payroll deductions through your ERS Online 
account – or your agency’s benefits coordinator can do it 
for you. (You don’t to have to contribute to your HSA with 
payroll deductions, but it’s a convenient and consistent 
way to make pre-tax contributions.) 

Open your HSA as soon as possible so the state’s 
monthly contributions and any other funds can be 
deposited into your account. Deposits are funded 
monthly, around the 15th of the month. Optum Bank 
manages the ERS HSA program. Even if you don’t plan 
to make pre-tax HSA contributions, you must open an 
Optum Bank HSA in order to get the state’s contributions. 
You can go to http://optumbank.com/texasers to open 
an account, or to get an application mailed to you, call 
Optum Bank toll-free at (800) 791-9361, (TTY: 711). 
Once you open the account, Optum Bank will send you 
a debit card to pay for eligible health expenses. You 
will have access only to the amount of money that has 
accumulated in your HSA, not any funds that you have 
pledged to deposit. 

Please note! 
You can opt out of health  
insurance coverage—and   
get credit. 

If you can certify that you already have health  
insurance that is equal to or better than that offered  
through ERS, you can sign up for a monthly Health  
Insurance Opt-Out Credit of up to $60 for full-time  
employees and $30 for part-time employees. 

•  The credit helps pay your dental, vision and/or  
Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment  
insurance premiums. 

•  The credit is not available if your only other  
insurance is Medicare, you have health  
insurance coverage through ERS as a  
dependent or you get a state contribution for  
other insurance coverage. 

Important: If you opt out of an ERS health plan,  
you give up your prescription drug coverage and  
will no longer have Basic Term Life Insurance that  
includes AD&D coverage. 

If you lose your other coverage, you can enroll in  
one of the health insurance plans offered through  
ERS. Losing coverage is a qualifying life event, and  
you will have 31 days after losing your other plan to  
enroll in an ERS health plan. 

Y_______ou must certify—whether you use tobacco or not 
If you enroll in GBP health insurance, you must certify 
your and any covered dependent’s status as tobacco 
users or non-users. A tobacco user is a person who has 
used any tobacco product five or more times within the 
past three consecutive months. If you or any of your 
dependents use tobacco and enroll in an ERS health 
plan, you will have to pay a higher premium. 

Note: You need to certify your status only once, unless 
your status changes. This online certification is legally 
binding. If you and your dependents don’t certify your 
status, you will be charged a monthly tobacco-user 
premium, whether you use tobacco or not. 

Ready to quit? 
All health plans offered through ERS cover programs and 
prescription drugs that will help you quit. If you remain 
tobacco-free for three consecutive months, you can re-
certify as a tobacco non-user and you will no longer have 
to pay the higher premiums. 

Alternative to paying the Tobacco User  
Premium 
If you are a tobacco user, you may qualify for an 
alternative to the Tobacco User Premium, if it complies 
with your doctor’s recommendations. For more 
information, see the ERS tobacco policy on ERS website 
at https://ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-
Policy-and-Certification or contact ERS toll-free at 
(877) 275-4377. 

Improve your health and lifestyle! 
The tobacco cessation program is only one of the programs 
and tools your state benefits package offers to help you get 
healthier. Visit your health plan’s website to find out more 
about the wellness programs available to you. 

http://optumbank.com/texasers
https://ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification
https://ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification


12 | ERS | 2020 New Employee Benefits Guide State agency employees

  

  

  

 

   
 

 
 

   

COMMUNITY FIRST -=••·•-•=•:.1••1:1---
Keeping Our Commitment to You 

x = -

Health maintenance organizations (HMOs) 

If you live or work in an eligible county, you may decide  
to enroll in an HMO. These regional plans have smaller  
networks than the HealthSelect plans, but they cover  
most of the same care and services as the HealthSelect  
plans and have different dependent premiums. 

•  You must use providers (such as doctors and  
hospitals) in the HMO network for your services to  
be covered, unless the HMO has authorized out-of-
network treatment. Only emergency care services are  
covered outside the network without authorization. 

•  HMOs have their own prescription drug coverage. The  
annual $50-per-person drug deductible and out-of-
pocket maximums reset on September 1. 

HMO Plan Service 
Area Counties 

Community First 
Health Plans 

San Antonio 
area 

Atascosa, Bandera, 
Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, 
Kendall, Medina and 
Wilson 

Scott and White 
Health Plan 

Central 
Texas 

Austin, Bastrop, Bell, 
Bosque, Brazos, Burleson, 
Burnet, Coryell, Falls, 
Freestone, Grimes, 
Hamilton, Hill, Lampasas, 
Lee, Leon, Limestone, 
Llano, Madison, McLennan, 
Menard, Milam, Mills, 
Robertson, San Saba, 
Somervell, Travis, Walker, 
Waller, Washington and 
Williamson 

Please note: 
• You must select a primary care provider (PCP) if you enroll in HealthSelect of Texas or the Community 

First Health Plans HMO. If you don’t choose a PCP, you may end up paying more—possibly a lot more— 
for services. 

• You do not need to designate a PCP if you enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect or Scott and White 
Health Plan, or if you’re enrolled in HealthSelect of Texas and your address on file with ERS is outside Texas. 

• If you are in HealthSelect of Texas and need to see a specialist (that is, someone other than your PCP,) 
you will need to have a referral from your PCP to the specialist on file with BCBSTX to receive in-
network benefits. 

Prescription drug coverage 
Your health insurance plan includes coverage for  Prescription drugs fall into three categories, called tiers,  
prescription drugs. If you are enrolled in HealthSelect  with different copays for each tier. 
of Texas or Consumer Directed HealthSelect, you will  •  Tier 1 prescriptions are usually inexpensive  
get separate ID cards for medical (Blue Cross and  medications, such as generic drugs. 
Blue Shield of Texas) and prescription drug (OptumRx)  

  coverage. HMOs have their own prescription plans  • Tier 2 prescriptions are usually lower-cost preferred 

 brand-name drugs.and will send just one ID card for both medical and  

prescription coverage. You may need to present your  •  Tier 3 prescriptions are non-preferred brand-name  
card when filling a prescription. drugs with a high cost. 

To find out which pharmacies you can use under each plan, visit the plan website. 
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Prescription drug coverage comparison chart 
HealthSelect of Texas Consumer Directed 

HealthSelect HMOs 

Deductible 
$50 for each covered individual. 
(January 1 - December 31) 

$2,100 per individual 
$4,200 per family (combined 
medical and pharmacy expenses) 
using in-network pharmacies. 
(January 1 - December 31) 

$50 for each covered individual. 
(September 1 - August 31) 

Copays: 
In-network 

Up to a 30-day supply of 
Non-maintenance medications: 
Tier 1: $10, Tier 2: $35, Tier 3: $60 

Maintenance medications*: 
Tier 1: $10, Tier 2: $45, Tier 3: $75 

20% coinsurance after the annual 
deductible is met. 

Up to a 30-day supply of 
Non-maintenance medications: 
Tier 1: $10, Tier 2: $35, Tier 3: $60 

Maintenance medications*: 
Tier 1: $10, Tier 2: $45, Tier 3: $75 

Extended Days
Supply (EDS)** 
In-Network 

90-day supply: 
Tier 1: $30, Tier 2: $105, Tier 3: $180 

20% coinsurance after the annual 
deductible is met. 

90-day supply: 
Tier 1: $30, Tier 2: $105, Tier 3: $180 

Copays: 
Out-of-network 

Copay plus 40% coinsurance for all 
three tiers. 

40% coinsurance after the annual 
out-of-network deductible is met. 

There is no out-of-network pharmacy 
coverage for HMOs 

Mail order Yes Yes Yes 

Brand-name 
drug penalty 

If a generic drug is available and you choose the brand-name drug, you will pay the Tier 1 copay or coinsurance, 
as applicable, plus the difference in cost to the plan between the brand-name drug and the generic drug. 

*There is a retail maintenance fee - an additional charge - for filling a 30-day supply or less of maintenance medications, which are prescriptions you take regularly. 
**An Extended Days Supply (EDS) means a pharmacy can dispense up to a 90-day supply of maintenance prescription drugs at one time. 

Additional information 

Total out-of-pocket maximums 
To help protect you from extremely high health costs, all GBP 
health plans have in-network out-of-pocket maximums. This 
is the maximum amount you or your family will pay in one 
year for in-network copays, coinsurance and deductibles (as 
applicable) for covered medical and prescription drugs. If 
you reach this maximum, the plan will pay 100% of covered 
in-network health and pharmacy expenses for the rest of the 
year. (There is no out-of-pocket maximum for out-of-network 
services in any of the health plans.) 

The total out-of-pocket maximums for HealthSelect plans 
reset every calendar year (January 1), while the HMOs reset 
every plan year (September 1). The chart to the right lists the 
total out-of-pocket maximums for the health plans. 

In-network Out-of-pocket Maximums
All Plans 

2019 
HMOs: through Aug. 31, 2019 $6,650 individual 

$13,300 family*HealthSelect: through Dec. 31, 2019 

2020 
HMOs: Sept. 1, 2019 – Aug. 31, 2020 $6,750 individual 

$13,500 family*HealthSelect: Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2020 

*Family includes the member plus one or more covered family 
member(s). 

Please Note: 
If you are a return-to-work retiree, you can switch between retiree and active benefits by contacting 
your agency’s benefits coordinator or human resources office. If you are a Health and Human Services 
Enterprise employee, please contact the HHS Enterprise Employee Service Center. 
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Real ® 
n a t u r a )( y s I i m· Appeal 

The Texas  
Employees Group 
Benefits Program 
(GBP) offers 
a full menu of  
scientifically based 
health and wellness  
programs for state 
employees, retirees  
and their families: 
• Health assessments 

• Diabetes 
management 

• Exercise 

• Heart health 

• Nutrition 

• Tobacco cessation 

• Weight management 
• Stress management 
• Disease management 
• Healthy pregnancy 

Get physical! 
Did you know that even moderate 
exercise helps prevent or delay 
disease and disabilities? Be sure 
to warm up before exercising. 
Stretch your muscles slowly. Try 
a little slow walking and light arm 
pumping. When doing endurance 
activities that make you sweat, 
drink plenty of liquids, especially 
water or drinks that contain 
electrolytes. Avoid holding your 
breath while exercising. 
Source: www.seniors.gov 

Programs for a healthy life 

Participants can: 
• Get support for managing chronic conditions like diabetes, heart 

failure, coronary artery disease (CAD), asthma and chronic obstructive 
pulmonary disease (COPD). 

• Enroll in health coaching programs for physical activity, stress, nutrition, 
weight management and tobacco cessation. 

• Get clinical support making informed choices about treatment options 
or services related to coronary disease, chronic back pain, hip or knee 
replacement, benign prostate disease, prostate and breast cancer, 
benign uterine condition, endometriosis and fibroids. 

• Enroll in one of two online weight management programs, Naturally Slim 
and Real Appeal. Both programs feature interactive components and 
user-friendly resources. 

Online health and wellness tools 
Go to healthselectoftexas.com and click the Log In button to go to  
your personal Blue Access for MembersSM account. On Blue Access for  
Members, you can do any or all of the following to help improve or maintain  
your healthy habits: 

•  Take the online health assessment to identify your personal health  
needs and learn healthy habits. Then take your personal health report   
to your PCP. 

•  Use wellness trackers to help you stay on target with your goals. Trackers  
are available for stress management, tobacco usage, nutrition and more. 

•  Sync your fitness device such as a Fitbit or Jawbone and see activity  
minutes, miles traveled and calories burned on the dashboard. 

•  Learn about our wellness incentive program called BluePointsSM and  
begin earning points by engaging in healthy activities to purchase  
merchandise from the online shopping mall. 

•  Use interactive tools like the symptom checker. 

•  Get telephone coaching support. 

•  Download mobile apps like the BCBSTX app, Centered and AlwaysOnSM. 

•  View your and your family’s claims history. 

•  Chat with a Personal Health Assistant. 

Health and wellness discounts 
Save money on health and wellness products and services from top 
retailers that are not covered by insurance. There are no claims to file and 
no referrals or prior authorizations required. Visit healthselectoftexas.com 
and click Health and Wellness/Incentives, then click Blue 365. 

http://healthselectoftexas.com
http://healthselectoftexas.com
http://www.seniors.gov
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When do my insurance benefits start?  
First day of employment 
Coverage for your optional benefits—dental, vision, 
optional life insurance elections 1 and 2, dependent life, 
AD&D, TIPP disability insurance, and TexFlex dependent 
care flexible spending account and/or commuter 
spending account —could begin right away if you enroll 
on your first day. 

First of the month following your date of  
hire 
If you don’t enroll in optional benefits on your first day, but 
within 31 days of your hire date, coverage begins on the 
first day of the month after you added the coverage. 

Important note: For optional life insurance elections 3 
and 4, coverage begins when you are approved through 
evidence of insurability (EOI). Learn more about EOI on 
page 19. 

First of the month after 60 days of  
employment 
Health insurance coverage, prescription drug coverage 
and, if you elect it, a TexFlex health or limited flexible 
spending account become active on the first day of the 
month following your 60th day of employment. If your 
60th day of employment falls on the first of the month, 
the coverage begins on that day. For example, if you 
are hired on March 2, your 60th day will be May 1. Your 
health coverage, prescription drug coverage and TexFlex 
health or limited flexible spending account become active 
on May 1—you don’t have to wait until June 1. 

This waiting period does not apply to your medical  
coverage, prescription drug coverage and TexFlex health  
care or limited account if you: 
•  transferred from one GBP agency or higher education  

institution to another GBP agency or institution without  
a break in GBP health coverage, 

•  transferred from the University of Texas or Texas A&M  
University system without a break in health coverage, 

•  are a return-to-work retiree enrolled in GBP health  
coverage as a retiree, 

•  are enrolled in GBP health coverage as a dependent  
on the date of hire or rehire, 

•  are enrolled in GBP health coverage in accordance  
with the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation  
Act of 1985 (COBRA) on the date of hire or rehire or  

•  were rehired on or after September 1, 2015 and  
returned to employment at the same state agency  
within 90 days of leaving active military duty. 

If you are in one of the categories above, please notify  
your HR department within 31 days to start receiving your  
health benefits. For those starting mid-month, coverage  
under your new employer begins the first of the next  
month. 

If you do not have a waiting period, you will have 31  
days to make health coverage changes. Those changes  
will begin the first day of the next month. However, if  
you transferred as an employee from one GBP entity to  
another with no break in service, start your job on the first  
day of the month and change your health coverage that  
day, the change takes place immediately. 
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Dental insurance 

For an additional premium, you may enroll in one of the following two dental plans. 

You must enroll in a dental plan before you can add dependents, and your dependents must be enrolled in 
the same plan as you. 

State of Texas 

Dental Choice 

State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM 

This is a preferred provider organization (PPO) dental insurance plan. You can see  
any provider, but you will pay less if you go to a dentist in one of the two Delta Dental  
networks: 

•  Delta Dental PPO 
•  Delta Premier 

Dentists of both the Delta Premier and Delta Dental PPO are in-network providers. 

You will get the same coverage in either network, but you may pay less for covered  
services in the Delta Dental PPO network. Delta Premier dentists can charge higher  
rates for the same coverage. 

Benefits are available in the United States, Canada and Mexico if you live in the  
United States. 

DeltaCare USA dental HMO  
This is a dental health maintenance organization (DHMO) dental insurance plan. 

•  Coverage applies only to dentists in the Texas service area. Before you enroll,  
make sure there is a DHMO network dentist in your area who is accepting new  
patients. For a list of providers, visit https://www.ERSdentalplans.com or call at  
(888) 818-7925 (TTY: 711). 

•  You must choose a primary care dentist (PCD) from a list of approved providers.  
You and your enrolled dependents can choose different PCDs. 

•  Services from participating specialty dentists cost 25% less than the dentists’  
usual charge. 

Go online 
Find a list of providers for the State of Texas Dental Choice Plan or DeltaCare® USA DMHO at 
https://www.ERSdentalplans.com or by calling Delta Dental, toll-free, at (888) 818-7925 (TTY: 711), 
Monday – Friday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. CT. 

https://www.deltadentalins.com/group_sites/ERS/
https://www.deltadentalins.com/group_sites/ERS/
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Dental plans comparison chart 
DeltaCare USA DHMO State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM PPO 

Dentists 

You must select a primary care 
dentist (PCD). 
NOTE: Not all participating dentists 
accept new patients. Dentists are 
not required to stay on the plan for 
the entire year. 

In-network / participating dentist Out-of-network / non-participating dentist1 

Deductibles None 
Preventive: Individual-$0; Family-$0 
Combined Basic/Major: Individual-$50; Family-$150 
Orthodontic services: no deductible 

Preventive: Individual-$50; Family-$150 
Combined Basic/Major: Individual-$100; Family-$300 
Orthodontic services: no deductible 

Copays/ 
coinsurance 

PCD: Copays vary according 
to service and are listed in the 
“Schedule of Dental Benefits” 
booklet. 
Specialty dentistry: 75% of the 
dentist’s usual and customary fee. 
DHMO pays nothing2 

Preventive and Diagnostic Services: No charge. 
Basic Services: 10% coinsurance after meeting the 
Basic Services deductible. 
Major Services: 50% coinsurance after meeting the 
Major Services deductible. 
There is no charge for anything over the allowed 
amount. 
Once the Maximum Calendar Year Benefit is reached, 
the participant pays 60% until January 1. 

Preventive and Diagnostic Services: 10% coinsurance 
after meeting the Preventive and Diagnostic deductible. 
Basic Services: 30% coinsurance after meeting the 
Basic Services deductible. 
Major Services: 60% coinsurance after meeting the 
Major Services deductible. 
Participants may be required to pay the difference 
between the allowed amount and billed charges. 
Once the Maximum Calendar Year Benefit is reached, 
the participant pays 100% until January 1. 

Maximum 
calendar year 
benefits 

Unlimited $2,000 per covered individual 
(includes orthodontic extractions) 

$2,000 per covered individual 
(includes orthodontic extractions) 

Maximum 
lifetime 
benefit 

Unlimited $2,000 per covered individual for orthodontic services $2,000 per covered individual for orthodontic services 

Average cost 
of cleaning / 
oral exams 

Vary according to service and are 
listed in the “Schedule of Dental 
Benefits” booklet. 
Up to two cleaning/oral exams per 
calendar year allowed. 

No charge. 
Up to two cleaning/oral exams per calendar year 
allowed. 

10% of the allowed amount after deductible is met. 
Up to two cleaning/oral exams per calendar year 
allowed. 

Orthodontic 
coverage 

Orthodontic services performed 
by a general dentist listed in the 
directory with an “0” treatment 
code: 
child - $1,800; 
adult- $2,100. 
Orthodontic services performed 
by specialist: 75% of the usual 
fee. DHMO pays nothing. 

50% of the allowed amount. 
50% of the allowed amount. 
Participants may be required to pay the difference 
between the allowed amount and billed charges. 

NOTE: The comparison chart is a summary of the benefits offered by the two dental insurance plans. See plan booklet for actual coverage and limitations. Prior to starting 
treatment, discuss with your dentist the treatment plan and all charges. 
1In the State of Texas Dental Choice Plan PPO, deductibles and annual maximums are per calendar year. Non-participating dentists can bill for charges above the amount covered 
by Delta Dental. Visit a participating dentist to ensure you do not receive additional charges. 
2This comparison chart reflects participant responsibility for services received from participating primary care dentists only. Services from participating specialty dentists are 25% 
less than the dentist’s usual charge. 

Smart benefits 
The days of physical ID cards have given way to the smartphone. To save on administrative costs, active employees who 
enroll in dental insurance will not get ID cards from the plan. Instead, you can download a digital card to your smartphone. 

Dentists who participate in the Delta Dental networks should not require ID cards. If you want a card, however, you can 
download and print a paper copy of your dental insurance information from your Delta Dental online account. 

If you don’t have a smartphone or a means of printing your information, call Delta Dental toll-free at (888) 818-7925 
(TTY: 711), Monday – Friday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. CT and they will mail a card to you. 
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 STATE OF TEXAS 

VISI0N 

Vision Plan 
Your health plan covers some vision and eye health services, including an annual 
eye exam and treatment for eye diseases. 

Most GBP health plans do not cover the cost for eyeglasses or contact lenses. If you 
need that kind of coverage, you and your eligible dependents can enroll in State of 
Texas Vision for an additional monthly premium. For a set copay amount, State of 
Texas Vision offers an eye exam, contact lens fitting and other options (such as single-
vision lenses or ultraviolet coating). State of Texas Vision offers an allowance on the 
cost of eyeglasses or contact lenses, as well as discounts for LASIK. For a complete 
list of plan benefits and a list of providers, visit https://www.stateoftexasvision.com. 

Vision coverage comparison chart 
State of Texas 

Vision 
HealthSelect 

of Texas 

Consumer 
Directed 

HealthSelect 

Community 
First HMO 

Scott & White 
HMO 

Routine eye exam $15 copay $40 copay1 20% 
coinsurance2 $40 copay $40 copay 

Frames $150 retail 
allowance Not covered Not covered $125 retail 

allowance3 Not covered 

Standard contact lens fitting $25 copay Not covered Not covered $125 allowance4 Not covered 

Specialty contact lens fitting $35 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Single-vision lenses $10 copay Not covered Not covered 100% covered Not covered 

Bifocal lenses $15 copay Not covered Not covered 100% covered Not covered 

Trifocal lenses $20 copay Not covered Not covered 100% covered Not covered 

Progressives $70 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Polycarbonate $50 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Scratch coat (factory, single sided) $20 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Ultraviolet coating $10 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Tint $10 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Standard anti-reflective coating $40 copay Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered 

Contact lenses4 $150 allowance Not covered Not covered $125 allowance Not covered 

All benefits listed are available annually, unless indicated, using network providers. 
1This is for providers only in the HealthSelect of Texas network. Benefits differ for non-network providers and the HealthSelect Secondary plan. See your health plan  
materials for details. 
2After the deductible is met, you will pay 20% coinsurance for network providers only (40% coinsurance for non-network providers). 
3Cost savings when using OptiCare vision providers. Frame discounts are not available if the frame manufacturer prohibits the discount. 
4Contact lenses are in lieu of eyeglass lenses and frames benefits. The $125 allowance is reduced when it’s also used toward a contact lens fitting. 
All costs and allowances are retail; you are responsible for any charges in excess of the retail allowances. 
Note: Besides the eye exam, any additional vision offerings through the health plans are value-added benefits. ERS does not guarantee the length of time that a specific  
value-added product will be offered. 

https://portal.superiorvision.com/stateoftexasvision/
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Life and AD&D insurance 

Optional Term
Life Insurance 
Your health coverage through 
ERS includes $5,000 Basic Group Term Life insurance 
with $5,000 of Accidental Death & Dismemberment 
(AD&D) coverage at no cost. You can purchase additional 
life insurance coverage in increments based on your 
annual salary. Optional Term Life Insurance, in addition 
to the life insurance benefit included with your health 
coverage, is administered by Securian. 

If you choose Optional Term Life Election 1 or 2 (one or 
two times your annual salary) during your first 31 days of 
employment, you will not have to apply through evidence 
of insurability (EOI). If you do not sign up as a new 
employee, you can apply when you have a qualifying life 
event or during Summer Enrollment, but you will have to 
apply through EOI and coverage is not guaranteed. 

You can apply for Optional Term Life Election 3 or 4 
(three or four times your annual salary) up to $400,000. 
You will have to apply through EOI, a process that requires 
you to provide information about your health. Coverage 
is not guaranteed; you may not be approved for benefits 
based on the information included in your EOI. 

Each Optional Term Life election provides an equal 
amount of additional Accidental Death & Dismemberment 
(AD&D) coverage. 

Securian’s website at https://web1.lifebenefits.com/ 
sites/lbwem/ers can help you decide how much life 
insurance coverage you might need. 

Premiums and coverage amounts for each plan year 
(September 1 – August 31) will be based on the salary 
reported to ERS on September 1 of that plan year. Your 
monthly premiums for Optional Term Life Insurance will 
depend on your age, salary and level of coverage each plan 
year. Please see the fourth page of the Active Employee 
Benefits Summary (https://web1.lifebenefits.com/public/ 
lbwem/F75102-3%20Actives%20Summary%2012-5-
2018.pdf) to calculate your premiums using the easy-to-
follow instructions, or see page 32 of this guide. 

Go online 
Designate your beneficiaries 
Although you aren’t required to do so in your first month, 
it’s a good idea to designate your beneficiaries for your 
State of Texas Retirement active retirement account 
balance, life insurance and Texa$aver accounts as soon 
as you can. 

You can find instructions on how to designate your 
beneficiaries for each at https://www.ers.texas.gov/ 
About-ERS/Update-Your-Beneficiaries. 

Dependent Term Life Insurance  
For an additional premium, you can enroll your eligible 
dependents in term life insurance. The plan includes 
$5,000 term life with $5,000 AD&D for each covered 
dependent. You will get the life insurance benefit when 
your covered dependents die. You will get the AD&D 
benefit when they die or are injured in an accident. One 
monthly premium covers all your eligible dependents, 
but all eligible dependents must be named under the 
coverage. 

If you do not sign up as a new employee, 
you can apply for this insurance when you 
have a qualifying life event (QLE) or during 
Summer Enrollment, but you will have to 
supply EOI and coverage is not guaranteed. 

You can add a new spouse within 31 days after getting 
married or enroll a newborn child in Dependent Term Life 
Insurance within 31 days of birth without supplying EOI. 

You can update your beneficiaries at any time. 
Go to https://www.ers.texas.gov/Beneficiary-
Designation for step-by-step instructions. 

First 31 days: No questions asked 
If you want additional life insurance coverage and disability insurance, now is the best time to sign up because you 
will not have to provide evidence of insurability (EOI) for Optional Term Life Election 1 or 2. EOI is an application 
process during which you must provide information about your or your dependents’ health. Don’t miss your 31-day 
window of opportunity! If you wait, you run the risk of not enrolling in these benefits based on EOI results. 

https://web1.lifebenefits.com/sites/lbwem/ers
https://web1.lifebenefits.com/sites/lbwem/ers
https://web1.lifebenefits.com/public/lbwem/F75102-3%20Actives%20Summary%2012-5-2018.pdf
https://web1.lifebenefits.com/public/lbwem/F75102-3%20Actives%20Summary%2012-5-2018.pdf
https://web1.lifebenefits.com/public/lbwem/F75102-3%20Actives%20Summary%2012-5-2018.pdf
https://www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Update-Your-Beneficiaries
https://www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Update-Your-Beneficiaries
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Beneficiary-Designation
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Beneficiary-Designation
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TI·P·P 
Texas Income Protection Plan ERS 
----For State Employees 

Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance 
Voluntary AD&D coverage can 
provide additional financial support 
when there is an accidental injury 
or death. You can choose insurance 
in increments of $5,000, starting at 
$10,000 up to $200,000. You will 
not have to provide EOI for AD&D 
Insurance. Securian administers 
your AD&D and voluntary AD&D 
insurance benefit. 
You can sign up for coverage for 
yourself only, or for yourself and 
your eligible dependents. 

Coverage includes the following: 

• If you die as the direct result of an accidental bodily injury, your 
beneficiaries will receive the full amount of your coverage. 

• Enrolled family members are covered at partial benefit levels. Your 
spouse is covered at 50% of your enrolled amount. Eligible children 
are covered at a lower percentage, which is reduced if your spouse is 
alive at the time of your child’s death. 

• If you have an accident and suffer any of the covered injuries, such as 
loss of a hand, a foot or sight of one eye, you will receive a percentage 
of the full amount of your coverage. 

• If an eligible family member loses a hand, a foot, or sight of one or 
both eyes in an accident, you receive a percentage of the benefit if 
you have coverage for that family member. 

Disability insurance 
The Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP) provides you  You must use all of your sick leave (including extended  
with money to help pay your bills if an accident or other  sick leave, donated sick leave and sick leave pool) or  
health-related condition makes it impossible for you to work. complete a waiting period (30 days for short-term; 180  

days for long-term), whichever option is longest, before •  Short-term disability coverage provides a maximum   
disability payments will be paid. You are not required to benefit of 66% of your monthly salary or $6,600   
use your vacation time.monthly, whichever is less, for up to five months (a   

maximum of 150 days). For example, if your monthly  TIPP coverage is not available for family members. 
salary is $4,000, the highest amount you’ll get for  TIPP disability insurance coverage is administered  
short-term disability is $2,640 per month. by ReedGroup. EOI for short-and long-term disability  

•  Long-term disability coverage provides a maximum  coverage is managed by Guardian Life Insurance. 
benefit of 60% of your monthly salary or $6,000  If you do not sign up as a new employee, you can apply  
monthly, whichever is less, from 12 months until  for this insurance when you have a qualifying life event  
normal Social Security retirement age, depending  (QLE) or during Summer Enrollment, but you will have to  
on your age at the time of disability. (Note: For some  supply EOI and coverage is not guaranteed. 
mental diseases and disorders, the maximum benefit  
period for disability is two years.) 

Pre-existing conditions are subject to certain exclusions. 
(see https://reedgrouptipp.com/forms-users-guide.html  
for more information). 

If you are eligible for Workers’ Compensation payments and/or State of Texas Disability Retirement, your long-
term disability payments may be reduced. The minimum benefit is 10% of your monthly salary. Please review the 
plan documents before applying for TIPP disability insurance. 

https://reedgrouptipp.com/forms-users-guide.html
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TIPP coverage overview 
Coverage Details Short-term Disability Coverage Long-term Disability Coverage 

Monthly benefits 66% of your monthly salary (up to $10,000) or 
$6,600 monthly, whichever is less 

60% of your monthly salary (up to $10,000) or 
$6,000 monthly, whichever is less 

When do benefits start? 

After a waiting period of 30 consecutive days or after 
you’ve used all your sick leave (whichever is longer); 
sick leave can be used during the 30-day waiting 
period 

After a waiting period of 180 consecutive days or 
after you’ve used all your sick leave (whichever is 
longer); sick leave can be used during the 180-day 
waiting period 

How long are benefits
paid? 

Up to five months after the completion of your 
waiting period 

Until you are able to return to work or until you reach 
your Maximum Benefits Period (based on the age 
you become disabled) or based on the condition 
causing your disability 

Note: TIPP benefits are reduced if you get other disability payments. The minimum benefit is 10% of your monthly salary. 

Thomas Barker-White 
Statewide intake supervisor 
For 20 years, Thomas Barker-White has worked for the 
Texas Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS), currently as a statewide intake supervisor 
overseeing a staff of nine. 

Barker-White and his wife, Lutishia, a former state 
employee, value their ERS-administered health and 
retirement benefits. 

They set aside money for retirement through Texa$aver to 
prepare for their future. They believe it is a good benefit 
for employees who don’t trust their own judgment with 
investments. 

But five years ago, the most important benefit became 
short-term and long-term disability insurance. 

In 2011, Lutishia became disabled due to arthritis and 
related injuries. Her disability insurance payments made 
up for a portion of the income she lost when she could no 
longer work. 

As a result, the couple was able to manage their finances 
without any substantial changes. 

Having both short-term and long-term disability insurance 
made a huge difference by providing the financial support 
the couple needed when one of them could no longer 
work, says Barker-White. 

“I know people who work in the private sector who do not 
have access to disability insurance through their employer. 
They can buy it on their own, but the premium is not as 
reasonable as what we have as state employees.” 

Barker-White appreciates that the state covers the full cost 
of the employee’s health insurance premium. It’s another 
valuable benefit that makes working for the state attractive, 
he says. 

“Having good insurance coverage is so important. You may 
never need it (and I hope you don’t), but if you do, you are 
probably REALLY going to need it. Life can come at you 
quick, so it’s best to cover all your bases.” 
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TEXFLEX 
SM 

TexFlex flexible spending accounts (FSAs) and commuter When you set aside money from your paycheck for eligible 
spending account (CSAs) allow you to set aside money expenses you know you will have between September 1 
from your paycheck, pre-tax, to pay for eligible health, and August 31—such as prescription drugs, medical costs 
dependent day care and commuting expenses. This lowers and an eligible dependent’s day care—you can save on 
your taxable income and helps you pay less in federal income taxes. For example, an employee with $50,000 in 
income taxes. net pay who contributes $5,000 to a dependent day care 

FSA could save $1,200 in taxes (see below). FSAs are TexFlex contributions are automatically withdrawn from 
regulated by the federal Internal Revenue Service (IRS). your paycheck and deposited in your account each 
The IRS sets deadlines for when you must use the money month. Before you enroll, you may want to use the tools 
in your FSAs. If you don’t spend your FSA money by those in the Program Resources section of the TexFlex website 
deadlines, you could lose that money.(https://texflex.spendingaccounts.info/) to figure out  

how much to contribute to each account. 

Your Estimated Tax Savings 
 Without dependent day care FSA  With dependent day care FSA 

Net annual pay before tax*  $50,000 Net annual pay before tax*  $50,000 

Federal taxes paid (24% tax rate) $(12,000) Maximum annual dependent day care 
FSA Contribution 

$(5,000) 

Net pay after tax  $38,000 Net pay after FSA contribution  $45,000 
Annual dependent day care expenses  $(5,000) Federal taxes paid (24% tax rate) $(10,800) 
Net annual pay after tax  $33,000 Net annual pay after tax  $34,200 

Take home this much more with a dependent day care FSA  $1,200 

All figures in this table are estimates. Your salary, tax rate and dependent day care expenses, and tax savings may be different. 
*Net annual pay is pay after other tax-free payroll deductions, including 9.5% pension contribution and any health care dependent premium. 

Once your health care, limited or dependent day care 
account is set up, you will be able to change your TexFlex 
contribution only during Summer Enrollment, unless you 
have a qualifying life event during the plan year. If you 
do not make a change during Summer Enrollment, your 
contributions will stay the same in the next plan year. 
This restriction does not apply to the commuter spending 
accounts. You can make changes to your commuter 
spending account elections at any time. 
The following chart shows how each type of TexFlex 
account can be used and the rules that apply. Please 
make sure you understand the uses and rules for each 
account before enrolling. 

How to pay with TexFlex 
If you have a TexFlex health care or limited FSA or a 
parking or transit CSA, you will get a debit card that you 
can use to pay eligible expenses – such as a prescription, 
a dentist visit or bus fare – at the time of service. For 
the health care FSA, limited FSA and parking CSA, you 

can choose not to use the debit card and instead submit 
a claim for reimbursement online or by mail or fax. You 
must use the debit card for transit CSA expenses. 
If you have a TexFlex dependent day care account, you 
must submit a claim for reimbursement after the eligible 
services have been provided. You cannot use a TexFlex 
debit card to pay dependent day care expenses. 
If you submit a claim for reimbursement online or by mail 
or fax, TexFlex will deposit the funds directly into your 
bank account or mail you a check. 

Keep your receipts 
Because TexFlex accounts are tax-free, the IRS requires 
all purchases with TexFlex funds to be validated. 
WageWorks, the TexFlex plan administrator, may ask 
you to submit proof that you used your TexFlex funds to 
pay for eligible expenses. Please be sure to SAVE YOUR 
RECEIPTS. If you cannot provide a receipt for eligible 
services paid with your TexFlex debit card, WageWorks 
might ask you to reimburse your account for the funds. 

https://texflex.spendingaccounts.info/
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FSA and CSA highlights 
Health care FSA 

(not available to 
Consumer Directed 

HealthSelect members) 

Limited FSA 
(for Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect members 

only) 

Dependent care 
FSA Parking CSA Transit CSA 

Eligible 
Expenses 
(For a 
complete list, 
see the plan 
website.) 

• Copays, coinsurance 
and other medically 
necessary charges 

• Prescription drug 
deductible 

Vision and dental 
expenses not covered 
by insurance 

• Day care, after-school 
care and summer day 
camp for dependent 
children under age 13 

• Adult custodial 
care programs for 
qualifying individuals 

Eligible parking 
expenses 

Eligible transit 
expenses 

Maximum 
contribution 
for Plan Year 
2020 

$2,700 per participant, 
per fiscal year 

$2,700 per participant, 
per fiscal year 

$5,000 per household, 
per fiscal year $265 per month $265 per month 

Funds 
availability 

All pledged funds are 
available after 60-day 
waiting period that 
also applies to health 
coverage** 

All pledged funds are 
available after 60-day 
waiting period that 
also applies to health 
coverage** 

Funds available monthly 
as contributions are 
made 

Funds available monthly as 
contributions are made 

Debit card 
(no fee) Yes Yes No Yes Yes 

Carryover 
of funds or 
grace period 

Carry over up to $500 
after end of plan year 
(Aug. 31) 

Carry over up to $500 
after end of plan year 
(Aug. 31) 

Grace period (extra time 
to incur expenses under 
previous plan year's 
account) from Sept. 1 to 
Nov. 15. 

Funds can be used as long as the 
participant is actively employed. 
Every month, any balance greater 
than $3 rolls over to the next month 
and is subject to the $3 monthly 
administrative fee. Any amount less 
than $3 is forfeited. 

Runout 
period 

Submit claims incurred 
in the previous plan year 
by Dec. 31. 

Submit claims incurred 
in the previous plan year 
by Dec. 31. 

Submit claims incurred 
in the previous plan year 
and/or grace period by 
Dec. 31. 

Funds can be used as long as the 
participant is actively employed. 
If participants leave state employment 
or retire, they have until the last day of 
employment to use the TexFlex debit 
card. 
Participants 
have 180 days 
from the date 

Participants must 
use debit card 
to pay transit 

they incurred a expenses through 
parking expense the last date of 
to submit employment, and 
the claim to may not submit 
WageWorks manual claims. 

Participants who contribute money to a TexFlex commuter spending account can make changes to their monthly election amount or dis-enroll at any time 
during the plan year. A $3 monthly administrative fee is deducted from either a parking account, a transit account, or for both accounts combined. Transit 
account participants must use the debit card to access funds. Manual claims (on paper, by fax or online) are not accepted for transit expenses. 
**Starting September 1, 2019, new employees enrolled in the TexFlex health or limited flexible spending account must wait 60 days before both their health 
coverage and spending accounts become active. 

Please note: 
If you enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect, you cannot enroll in a health care FSA. But you can 
enroll in a limited FSA. You can use the limited FSA for eligible out-of-pocket dental and vision expenses 
only. General health care expenses that are eligible under a health care FSA – such as doctor visits and 
prescription medicines – are NOT eligible under a limited FSA. Visit https://texflex.spendingaccounts. 
info/downloads/Limited-FSA-Fact-Sheet.pdf for more information. 

https://texflex.spendingaccounts.info/downloads/Limited-FSA-Fact-Sheet.pdf
https://texflex.spendingaccounts.info/downloads/Limited-FSA-Fact-Sheet.pdf


24 | ERS | 2020 New Employee Benefits Guide State agency employees

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 
 

 

Serena Lopez
Information specialist 
As a benefits educator at ERS, Serena Lopez helps active employees 
and retirees understand which benefits options are right for them. For this 
mother of three, TexFlex makes sense. 

“With three growing boys, I know I’m going to spend money on health 
and dependent care throughout the year,” she says. “TexFlex allows 
me to put aside money tax-free for those expenses and lowers my 
taxable income.” 

“My kids seem to get sick like clockwork in November, just when 
I’m starting to make my holiday shopping list. That’s when I’m glad 
I have my TexFlex health care flexible spending account to pay for 
doctor visits and medicine. By setting aside a certain amount from my 
paycheck each month, I know the money will be there when I need it.” 

“With the dependent care flexible spending account, I don’t have to wait 
for the tax benefit at the end of the year. I can set aside up to $5,000 
pre-tax each year, which is $2,000 more than the federal child care credit. 
That means more money in your pocket!” 

State of Texas Retirement 
As a state employee, you will contribute a portion of interest, minus taxes. You should consult a tax advisor to  
your salary each month into a State of Texas Retirement learn if you might face any tax penalty for withdrawing the  
account that ERS manages and invests for you. Your funds before a certain age. 
contributions begin the month you start working for the Defined benefit plans are also different than 401(k)s and 
state. The State of Texas retirement program is a  many other workplace retirement plans because they pay 
401(a) defined benefit retirement plan. a lifetime benefit after retirement. If you do not withdraw 
In a defined benefit plan, employees must contribute a  your funds, when you become eligible to retire you will 
percentage of their salary (currently 9.5%) to the ERS  get a monthly payment (called an annuity) for the rest of 
retirement fund. The state currently also contributes an  your life. (Plans like 401(k)s provide a benefit only until 
amount equal to 9.5% of your salary. Your agency or  the account runs out of money.) Today, the average state 
institution currently contributes an additional 0.5% to the  retiree has 22 years of service and gets a lifetime 
fund. (The Texas Legislature decides the percentage  monthly annuity payment of more than $1,600. 
of salary each employee is required to contribute to the  Your retirement eligibility and benefits depend on when  
ERS Retirement Trust Fund.) you were hired, your years and months of service (service  
Employees sometimes ask if they can opt out of or credit), and your highest average salary over the course  
contribute less to their State of Texas Retirement. The of your state career. Your eligibility to retire also depends  
answer is no. Defined benefit plans are designed with on your age, in years and months. If you are a part-time  
the understanding that all employees will participate and employee, a year of service counts the same as a year of  

service for a full-time employee. Retirement eligibility and contribute a set amount. Employees cannot take out loans  
benefits are different for law enforcement and custodial and cannot transfer or withdraw money from the ERS  
officers, elected state officials, district attorneys and judges.retirement fund while they are employed by the state.   
For information about your State of Texas Retirement,  If you leave state employment, you can keep your  
including annuity calculators, your minimum retirement  retirement contributions where they are or move them  
age and retirement benefits, go to https://www. to another retirement account. You can also request a  ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/ refund. You will receive the amount you contributed plus  State-of-Texas-Retirement. 

https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/State-of-Texas-Retirement
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/State-of-Texas-Retirement
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/State-of-Texas-Retirement
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Health insurance in  
retirement 
GBP retiree insurance is currently available to 
retirees with at least 10 years of service at a state 
agency or higher education institution participating 
in the GBP. A retiree who meets this requirement 
is eligible for GBP retiree health insurance 
benefits at age 65 or after meeting the Rule of 80. 
You meet the Rule of 80 when the sum of your 
age and service credit – in both months and years 
-- equal or exceed 80. 
For retirees eligible for GBP health insurance, 
state contribution levels vary depending on 
years of service. For more information on health 
insurance in retirement, go to https://www.ers. 
texas.gov/Retirees/Health-Benefits-for-retirees. 
As with all GBP benefits, health insurance for 
retirees is subject to change without notice. 
The Texas Legislature sets the level of funding 
for such benefits and has no continuing 
obligation to provide those benefits beyond 
each fiscal year. 

State of Texas Disability 
Retirement for regular state 
employees, certified peace 
officers (CPOs) and custodial 
officers (COs) 
If you become disabled, you may be eligible for  
retirement and insurance benefits sooner than  
your normal retirement age. The ERS Medical  
Board must certify that the disability is likely to  
be permanent and prevents you from continuing  
your state job or any other occupation offering  
comparable pay. ERS has two retirement  
eligibility plans for disability: nonoccupational and  
occupational. Occupational disability retirement  
applies to regular state employees, CPOs and  
COs who become injured or disabled due to a  
specific event* occurring on the job, have at least  
one month of ERS or creditable state service, and  
meet certain other criteria. 
If ERS approves your disability retirement, you are  
eligible for: 
•  a monthly retirement payment based on  

your age at retirement (reduced if you have  
nonoccupational disability retirement) and 

•  retiree health insurance through the GBP. 
*Injury must be solely from an extremely dangerous risk or severe  
physical or mental trauma or disease uncommon to the public, or  
peculiar and inherent in a dangerous duty arising from the nature  
and in the course of the member’s state employment. 

Service credit 
Military service 
After you have made your first full retirement contribution to 
ERS, you can purchase up to 60 months of your active duty 
U.S. military service without paying interest. If you wait to 
purchase military service after your first year of employment, 
you will be charged 10% interest for every year you wait. 
You must have at least five years of ERS service before you 
can use purchased military service to determine eligibility for 
service retirement or non-occupational disability retirement 
benefits. 
You cannot purchase active duty military service if you are 
eligible for military retirement based on 20 or more years 
of active military duty or if you received a dishonorable 
discharge from the military. 

Waiting period 
State employees hired from September 1, 2003 through 
August 31, 2015 contributed to the ERS retirement fund after 
they had been working for 90 days. If you started working 
for the state during this period, you can buy credits for this 
waiting period. 

Withdrawn (refunded) ERS service credit 
When you leave state employment and withdraw your ERS 
retirement account, you no longer have service credit for the 
time you worked. If you return to state employment, you may 
buy back withdrawn ERS service when at least six months 
have passed since the date of your withdrawal. 
If you are a non-contributing member of ERS – meaning 
you have a retirement account balance with ERS, but are 
no longer employed by a state agency and are not getting a 
State of Texas Retirement annuity – you may also buy back 
withdrawn ERS service. 
Please note: There are different retirement groups, based 
on hire date, with different eligibility rules and benefit levels. 
If your withdrawn ERS service is from before September 
1, 2013, buying it back will not put you back in the ERS 
retirement group you were in before you withdrew the 
service. 

Additional Service Credit (ASC) 
You can buy up to three years of additional service credit if  
you: 
•  are an active employee, 
•  have purchased all other service credit available to you  

and 

•  have at least 10 years of actual ERS service credit (not  
counting military service). 

The cost of ASC is based on actuarial factors such as  
your age, years of service and salary. It tends to be more  
expensive than withdrawn and military service. 

https://www.ers.texas.gov/Retirees/Health-Benefits-for-retirees
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Retirees/Health-Benefits-for-retirees
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You can purchase service credit: 
•  with a lump-sum payment (check or money  

order), 
•  through a rollover from your traditional  

Texa$aver account that is not the self-
directed brokerage account provided by  
Charles Schwab & Co. Inc. or 

•  from other fund sources such as individual  
retirement accounts (IRAs). 

Learn more about purchasing service credit by  
visiting https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-
Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-
State-of-Texas-Retirement/. 

Service from other Texas  
retirement systems 
The following Texas retirement systems are  
part of the Proportionate Retirement Program  
(PRP): 
•  City of Austin Employees’ Retirement System 

•  City of Austin Police Retirement System 

•  El Paso City Employees’ Pension Fund 

•  El Paso Firemen & Policemen’s Pension  
Fund 

•  Employees Retirement System of Texas 

•  Judicial Retirement System of Texas Plan 1 

•  Judicial Retirement System of Texas Plan 2 

•  Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS) 

•  Texas County and District Retirement 
System (TCDRS) 

•  Texas Municipal Retirement System  
(TMRS) 

As a state employee, you can purchase  
withdrawn service from any of these systems. 

You can combine service from two or more  
of these systems to become eligible for  
retirement. When you retire, you will receive a  
retirement payment from each system based  
on your service with each system. 

For example, if you have at least three years  
of ERS service credit, you can apply previous  
TRS service to become eligible for ERS  
retirement. 

Learn more about PRP by visiting  
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-
Employees/Retirement/Service-
Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/ 
Proportionate-Retirement-Program-(PRP) 

Jo Ann Norman  
Continued income ... and continued service 
For nearly 17 years, Jo Ann Norman’s day job was to guard the 
women serving time in the Crain Unit in Gatesville, the state 
women’s prison. Although she retired in 1997, Norman continues 
to watch over and support the women who remain imprisoned 
at Gatesville. She has led Friday evening prayer services as a 
volunteer prison minister for close to 20 years. 

Some 50 to 100 inmates attend services at one of four different 
Gatesville units every Friday night. Women of different ages and 
backgrounds gather in the prison prayer room for two hours of 
prayer and fellowship. 

Her ministry has contributed to Norman’s own sense of self-worth, 
and she tries to build the same self-confidence in the women in 
her care. “I try to instill in them that they need to build lives on 
their own.” 

At age 81, Norman leads an independent and active life. In 
addition to her ministry, she provides sensitivity training for prison 
staff members who interact directly with Gatesville inmates. At 
home, she drives her own John Deere tractor to mow the three 
acres of grass on her property. “Somebody forgot to tell me I’m 
supposed to be old!” 

Norman says her ERS retirement annuity combined with Social 
Security have allowed her to live by herself and to avoid having 
to move in with her children. (She has four children, 10 or 11 
grandchildren, and more great-grandchildren than she can keep 
track of.) She has also been able to provide financial help when a 
grandchild was diagnosed with cancer. 

She herself has had knee surgery. The experience made her 
especially grateful for the health insurance and prescription drug 
coverage she receives as an ERS retiree. “I had one of the best 
knee surgeons in the state. The care I received was tremendous.” 

Norman acknowledges that, without the support of her ERS benefits, 
her rich and blessed life would not be possible. 

https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/Proportionate-Retirement-Program-(PRP)
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/Proportionate-Retirement-Program-(PRP)
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/Proportionate-Retirement-Program-(PRP)
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/Proportionate-Retirement-Program-(PRP)
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Texa$aver 401(k) / 457 ProgramSM

Your monthly State of Texas Retirement annuity will be 
an important source of income during retirement, but 
it probably won’t replace your full salary as an active 
employee. In fact, for most retirees, their annuity is 
about half the salary they earned while working. That’s 
why it’s important for you to have other sources of 
retirement income, such as personal retirement savings. 
The Texa$aver 401(k) / 457 Program offers the chance 
to save for retirement through a variety of investment 
opportunities at lower-than-average fees. 

As a new state agency employee, you will automatically 
be enrolled in a Texa$aver 401(k) account, contributing 
1% of your monthly salary to be invested in a target date 
fund closest to the year you turn 65. Contributions will 
be deducted from your paycheck automatically—before 
income taxes are taken out. This reduces your taxable 
income while helping you save for retirement. 

If you don’t want to participate in Texa$aver and don’t 
want money taken out of your first paycheck, cancel your 
auto-enrollment by calling Empower Retirement toll-free 
at (800) 634-5091 within 30 days of employment and 
request a refund, which will process within 90 days. 

You can increase your contribution if you would like 
to save more. You can make other changes, including 
enrolling in a 457 account, stopping contributions or 
changing how your contributions are invested. You can 
make these changes at any time during the year—you do 
not have to wait for an enrollment period. 

State employees contribute to the retirement fund 
while they work and earn a steady monthly benefit 
in retirement. It is only one part of a financially 
secure retirement. Because the average state 
retiree receives a monthly annuity of $1,676, with 
no guaranteed cost-of-living adjustments (COLAs), 
both federal Social Security and personal savings 
are key components of an employee’s retirement 
income security. 

You can keep your Texa$aver account even after you no 
longer work for the state, and Texa$aver can help you 
manage your retirement income. Because Texa$aver has 
lower fees than many other retirements savings plans, you 
could save money by keeping your Texa$aver account. 

Among the things you can do with your Texa$aver  
account are: 
• Purchase state service credit
• Defer unused annual leave when you leave state 

employment (instead of taking a cash payout, to 
reduce taxes)

• Consolidate and roll over money from other qualified 
IRAs, 401(k) or 457 accounts.

• Roll over a payment from your State of Texas 
Retirement account, if you opt for a partial lump-sum 
payment upon retirement

• Make periodic (monthly or quarterly) withdrawals*
• Make partial withdrawals*
• Withdraw your entire account at once.*

*Withdrawals from a traditional 401(k) before age 59½ may be subject to a  
10% early distribution penalty tax, above what you will owe in income tax. 

State of Texas  
Retirement  
9.5% of pay 

Social Security
6.2% of pay

Personal Savings
1% of pay

(auto-enrollment) or
more to 401(k) or 457 

Retirement Preparation:  
Member's Share of  

Responsibility 

Are you a direct transfer from another state agency?  
If so, you may participate in Texa$aver, but you will have to enroll in the program on your own—your contribution is 
not automatically deducted from your paycheck. 
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DISCOUNT• 
Purchase Program~ 
administered by BENEPLACE 

What is a target date fund? 
For many people, one of the hardest parts of saving for 
retirement is knowing how best to invest their individual 
account, like a Texa$aver 401(k) or 457. With a target 
date fund, you get a professionally managed portfolio in a 
single investment option – with a mix of investments that 
changes based on your “target” retirement date. The mix 
of investments grows more conservative as you approach 
the target date you when you are expected to start 
withdrawing your money (generally assumed to be age 
65). The principal value of the fund(s) is not guaranteed 
at any time, including at the time of the target date and/or 
withdrawal. 

Beginning the first month of your employment, 1% of your 
paycheck will automatically be invested in a LifePath 
Target Date Fund, but you can change your Texa$aver 
investment option at any time. 

Depending on your age, contributing $68 each month 
into a Texa$aver account now until age 65 until can 
grow into a higher monthly payment to yourself in 
retirement. 

Age at which you
start contributing

$68 monthly 

Gross monthly payment
from age 65 to 85, 

assuming investments yield
6% rate of return 

Age 30 $694 

Age 40 $338 
Age 50 $142 
Age 60 $34 

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY. This is a hypothetical 
illustration intended to show possible retirement income. It is not 
intended as a projection or prediction of future investment results, nor 
is it intended as financial planning or investment advice. It assumes 
a 6% annual rate of return in both the accumulation and withdrawal 
phases. Assumes the reinvestment of earnings and that the payee 
lives 20 years in retirement. Rates of return may vary. Payments (also 
known as withdrawals or distributions) from a tax-deferred retirement 
plan may be taxable as ordinary income. The illustration does not 
take into account the income taxes on payments from a 401(k) or 
457 account, or any associated charges, expenses or fees. The 
hypothetical income shown would be reduced if these fees and/or 
taxes were deducted. 

Administrative fees for your Texa$aver  
account 
Administrative fees for new Texa$aver accounts are 
waived for six months. At the end of the waiver period, a 
monthly fee will be deducted from your account based on 
your account balance. 

Account Balance Monthly Fee 
Per Participant, Per Account 

$1,000.00 or less $0.71 
$1,000.01 to $16,000.00 $2.41 
$16,000.01 to $32,000.00 $3.62 

$32,000.01 to $48,000.00 $4.93 
$48,000.01 to $64,000.00 $6.57 

$64,000.01 or more $8.22 

Rolling over funds from other retirement  
accounts to Texa$aver 
Do you have retirement savings accounts from other 
jobs? You can transfer, or “roll over” money from a 
qualified prior eligible employer’s 401(k), 401(a), 403(b), 
or governmental 457 plan into your Texa$aver 401(k) 
or 457 account. You can also roll over money from 
an eligible individual retirement account (IRA). The 
Texa$aver 401(k) and 457 plans accept Roth rollovers 
from other qualified plans as well, but you cannot roll over 
Roth IRAs to Texa$aver. 

You should discuss rolling money from one account to 
another with your financial advisor/planner, considering 
any potential fees and/or limitation of investment options. 

Participants in the GBP are also eligible for discounts on a variety of products 
and services offered through the Discount Purchase Program, administered 
by Beneplace. There are no fees or membership requirements. Visit https:// 
www.ers.texas.gov/Discount-Purchase-Program for more information. 

https://www.ers.texas.gov/Discount-Purchase-Program
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Discount-Purchase-Program
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Learn more about your State of Texas 
benefits 

Our website: www.ers.texas.gov 
The ERS website has information and tools to help you 
make the best use of your benefits. Use the Search 
function to find detailed information on ERS insurance, 
retirement and related benefits. 

News About Your Benefits 
This e-newsletter provides information on available 
programs, wellness, health care plans and other benefits. 
You can sign up to receive this and other news by email 
at https://service.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXERS/ 
subscriber/new?topic_id=TXERS_45. 

Your Statement of Retirement  
Benefits 
After your birthday each year, ERS will send you 
a personalized statement that shows your earliest 
retirement date, retirement age and projected annuity. 
This statement provides important retirement planning 
information, including benefit estimates and vesting 
information and you should review it every year. If you 
are an ERS member, you can also get an estimate of 
your retirement annuity by signing into your account at 
http://www.ers.texas.gov/account-login. 

Your Texa$aver quarterly  
statement 
You will get a statement each quarter from Texa$aver, 
currently administered by Empower Retirement, detailing 
your Texa$aver account balance and investment choices. 

Your annual Personal Benefits  
Enrollment Statement 
Before Summer Enrollment every year, ERS will send you 
a personalized statement listing your current coverage, 
costs and choices for the next plan year. You will have 
the opportunity to make changes each year during 
Summer Enrollment. You should review this statement 
even if you do not think you will make any changes. 

Your benefits coordinator 
See your agency’s benefits coordinator or HR 
representative for help signing up for and understanding 
insurance benefits. 

Presentations and events 
ERS holds seminars, webinars, fairs and other events  
throughout the year. 

•  Ask ERS webinar:  At certain times throughout the  
year, you can ask questions and get the latest news  
from ERS. 

•  Ready, Set, Retire!: Conducted throughout the state  
and as a webinar, this is a free 90-minute seminar  
on ERS retirement and the Texa$aver 401(k) / 457  
Program. 

•  Medicare Preparation seminars: Conducted  
throughout the state and as a webinar, this  
presentation helps those approaching Medicare  
eligibility understand enrollment and how Medicare  
works with state health insurance. 

•  Health and wellness: ERS hosts wellness events and  
webinars that provide you with the tools you need to  
take charge of your health. 

To see a list of upcoming events or to register, go to  
http://www.ers.texas.gov/Event-Calendars/. 

ERS interactive voice response  
system 
For 24/7 access to automated information on your 
insurance and retirement benefits, call toll free 
(877) 275-4377. 

Designate your beneficiaries 
It’s not required within your first month, but it’s a good  
idea to designate your beneficiaries for life insurance,  
State of Texas Retirement active retirement account  
balance, and Texa$aver account as soon as you can. 

•  For life insurance and State of Texas Retirement,  
log in to your ERS Online account. You will need to  
provide your beneficiaries’ Social Security numbers,  
dates of birth and mailing addresses. 

•  For Texa$aver, download a beneficiary designation  
form from the website at https://texasaver.com. 

You can find instructions on how to designate your  
beneficiaries for each at https://www.ers.texas.gov/ 
About-ERS/Update-Your-Beneficiaries. 

https://www.ers.texas.gov/
https://service.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXERS/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXERS_45
https://service.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXERS/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXERS_45
https://www.ers.texas.gov/account-login
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Event-Calendars/
https://texasaver.empower-retirement.com/participant/#/login?accu=TexasWR
https://www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Update-Your-Beneficiaries
https://www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Update-Your-Beneficiaries
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Monthly premiums 

Full-time employees Part-time employees, graduate students/ 
Premium* State Pays You Pay 

HealthSelect of Texas® 

You Only $ 624.82 $ 624.82 $ 0.00 

You + Spouse 1,340.82 982.82 358.00 

You + Children 1,104.22 864.52 239.70 

You + Family 1,820.22 1,222.52 597.70 

Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM** 

You Only $ 624.82 $ 624.82 $ 0.00 

You + Spouse 1,305.02 982.82 322.20 

You + Children 1,080.24 864.52 215.72 

You + Family 1,760.44 1,222.52 537.92 

Community First Health Plans 

You Only $ 549.62 $ 549.62 $ 0.00 

You + Spouse 1,179.14 864.38 314.76 

You + Children 971.10 760.36 210.74 

You + Family 1,600.62 1,075.12 525.50 

Scott and White Health Plan 

You Only $ 621.98 $ 621.98 $ 0.00 

You + Spouse 1,334.70 978.34 356.36 

You + Children 1,099.18 860.58 238.60 

You + Family 1,811.90 1,216.94 594.96 
*Includes premium for Basic Term Life Insurance 

**The “State Pays” amount includes a monthly contribution to the 

teaching assistants, post-doctoral and 
adjunct faculty† 

Premium* State Pays You Pay 
HealthSelect of Texas® 

You Only $ 624.82 $ 312.41 $ 312.41 

You + Spouse 1,340.82 491.41 849.41 

You + Children 1,104.22 432.26 671.96 

You + Family 1,820.22 611.26 1,208.96 

Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM** 

You Only $ 624.82 $ 312.41 $ 312.41 

You + Spouse 1,305.02 491.41 813.61 

You + Children 1,080.24 432.26 647.98 

You + Family 1,760.44 611.26 1,149.18 

Community First Health Plans 

You Only $ 549.62 $ 274.81 $ 274.81 

You + Spouse 1,179.14 432.19 746.95 

You + Children 971.10 380.18 590.92 

You + Family 1,600.62 537.56 1,063.06 

Scott and White Health Plan 

You Only $ 621.98 $ 310.99 $ 310.99 

You + Spouse 1,334.70 489.17 845.53 

You + Children 1,099.18 430.29 668.89 

You + Family 1,811.90 608.47 1,203.43 
member’s Optum Bank health savings account (HSA). Please see the *Includes premium for Basic Term Life Insurance 
Consumer Directed HealthSelect HSA Contribution table on the next page. 

**The “State Pays” amount includes a monthly contribution to the 
member’s Optum Bank health savings account (HSA). Please see the 
Consumer Directed HealthSelect HSA Contribution table on the next page. 
†The state does not contribute to the cost of health insurance for 
adjunct faculty. 

Consumer Directed HealthSelect health savings account (HSA) contribution 
State Pays 

You Only $ 45 monthly ($540 annually) 
You + Spouse 90 monthly ($1,080 annually) 
You + Children 90 monthly ($1,080 annually) 
You + Family 90 monthly ($1,080 annually) 

An HSA is a tax-free savings account for qualified health expenses.   
You can receive the “State Pays” HSA contribution if you:  

•  are enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect,  
•  are eligible for a portion of your health premium to be paid by the state, 
•  are not enrolled in Medicare and 

•  have an HSA with Optum Bank.   
(The state will not contribute to HSAs in other banks.) 
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Dental insurance 

DeltaCare USA DHMO Employee/ 
Retiree COBRA COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents 

You Only $ 9.59 $ 9.78 $ 14.39 Spouse Only $ 9.59 
You + Spouse 19.18 19.56 28.77 Spouse + Children  23.02 
You + Children 23.02 23.48 34.53 Children Only  13.43 
You + Family 32.59 33.24 48.89 

State of Texas Dental Choice Plan Employee/ 
Retiree COBRA COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents 

You Only $ 27.21 $ 27.75 $ 40.82 Spouse Only $ 27.21 
You + Spouse 54.42 55.51 81.63 Spouse + Children 65.30 

You + Children 65.30 66.61 97.95 Children Only 38.09 
You + Family 92.51 94.36 138.77 

State of Texas Vision 
Employee/ 

Retiree COBRA COBRA Disability Surviving Dependents 

You Only $ 5.12 $ 5.22 $ 7.68 Spouse Only $ 5.12 
You + Spouse 10.24 10.44 15.36 Spouse + Children 11.01 
You + Children 11.01 11.23 16.52 Children Only 5.89 
You + Family 16.13 16.45 24.20 

Tobacco-user Premium 
If you and/or a family member enrolled in medical insurance is certified as a tobacco-user or has not certified as a non-user, 
you will pay an additional tobacco-user premium of $30, $60 or $90 each month, depending on how many tobacco-users or 
non-certified family members you cover. 

Tobacco-users of Any Age and Adults Who Fail to Certify Monthly Tobacco-user Premium 
Member or Spouse or Children* Only $30 
Member + Spouse or Member + Children* or Spouse + Children* $60 

Family (Member + Spouse + Children*) $90 
*The charge for a child is the same regardless of how many children in the household use tobacco or how many covered children age 18 or over are not 
certified. 

If you are a tobacco user, you may be able to participate in an alternative to the tobacco-user premium, if it is right for your 
health status and complies with your doctor’s recommendations. 
Please visit www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification for more information. 

https://ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification
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Optional Term Life Insurance 
Optional Term Life Insurance 

After the first 31 days of 
employment, Elections 
1 and 2 require approval 
through evidence of 
insurability (EOI). 
Elections 3 and 4 always 
require EOI approval. 
Beginning at age 70, 
Optional Term Life 
coverage is reduced to a 
percentage of your annual 
salary as follows: 
Age 70-74 65% 
Age 75-79 40% 
Age 80-84 25% 
Age 85-89 15% 
Age 90+ 10% 

Monthly Rate per $1,000 of Annual Salary 

Age Election 1 
Annual Salary x 1 

Election 2 
Annual Salary x 2 

Election 3* 
Annual Salary x 3 

Election 4*† 

Annual Salary x 4 
Under 25 $ 0.05 $  0.10 $ 0.15 $ 0.20 
25 - 29  0.05  0.10  0.15 0.20 
30 - 34  0.06  0.12  0.18 0.24 
35 - 39  0.06  0.12  0.18 0.24 
40 - 44  0.08  0.16  0.24 0.32 
45 - 49  0.12  0.24  0.36 0.48 
50 - 54  0.19  0.38  0.57 0.76 

55 - 59  0.33  0.66  0.99 1.32 
60 - 64  0.57  1.14  1.71 2.28 
65 - 69  0.93  1.86  2.79 3.72 
70 - 74  1.48  2.96  4.44 5.92 
75 - 79  2.41  4.82  7.23 9.64 

80 - 84  3.92  7.84    11.76 15.68 

85 - 89  6.79  13.58 20.37 27.16 

90+ 10.57  21.14 31.71 42.28 
Retiree Fixed Optional Life Insurance ($10,000 policy) 

$23.40 per month for $10,000 

Dependent Term Life Insurance 
Employee: $1.38 per month for $5,000 

(includes $5,000 AD&D coverage) Retiree: $3.05 per month for $2,500 

Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment Insurance (AD&D)* 
You may enroll in AD&D coverage according to the following table: 
Age Minimum Coverage Maximum Coverage Minimum Increments 

Under 70 $ 10,000 $ 200,000 $ 5,000 
70-74 6,500 130,000 3,250 
75-79 4,000 80,000 2,000 
80-84 2,500 50,000 1,250 
85-89 1,500 30,000 750 
90+ 1,000 20,000 500 

You Only 
$0.02 per $1,000 of coverage 

You + Family 
$0.04 per $1,000 of coverage 

Texas Income Protection Plan (TIPP)* 
Short-term disability $0.26 per $100 of monthly salary 

Long-term disability $0.63 per $100 of monthly salary 

*Optional Term Life Insurance at Elections 3 and 4, AD&D, and short-term and long-term disability insurance are not available to retirees. 
†Optional Term Life Insurance is limited to a maximum of $400,000 or four times your annual salary, whichever is less. 
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Understanding insurance terms 

Balance billing 
when a patient owes an out-of-network provider for the difference between amount billed by their 
provider and the amount paid by the plan, after the member pays any applicable deductibles, 
copays and/or coinsurance. You cannot be balance billed by an in-network provider. 

Copay 

a fixed amount you pay for a covered health service, usually at the time you receive the service. 
For example, HealthSelect of Texas has a $25 copay per visit to your in-network primary care 
provider (PCP) for non-preventive care. If you see your PCP for a sore throat, you will pay $25 
before you leave the doctor’s office. 

Coinsurance a percentage of the allowable amount for a covered service or product that you are required to 
pay for covered health care and prescription drug services. 

Deductible 

the amount you are required to pay for covered health care or prescription drug expenses upfront 
before your plan begins to pay for any services (except in-network preventive care) each year. If 
you have a $500 deductible, for example, you must pay the full cost of the first $500 of covered 
services and products yourself. Deductibles for the HealthSelect plans reset on January 1, while 
deductibles for the HMOs reset on September 1. 

Total out-
of-pocket 
maximum 

the maximum amount you and your covered dependents must pay for in-network copays, 
coinsurance and deductibles within a year. These maximums help protect you from catastrophic 
health costs. All health plans have the same total out-of-pocket maximums for covered in-network 
health and prescription drug costs. The total out-of-pocket maximums reset on January 1 for 
HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect. They reset on September 1 for HMOs. 

Out-of-pocket 
coinsurance 
maximum 

the most you are required to pay each year for coinsurance for covered health services. This 
amount does not include copays. The out-of-pocket coinsurance maximum resets on January 1 
for the HealthSelect plans and September 1 for the HMOs. 

Evidence of 
insurability 
(EOI) 

proof of good health, established during an application process for certain types of insurance, 
such as life insurance. During the process, you provide information about your health. 

Monthly 
premiums the monthly cost of insurance. 

Plan year for GBP plans, the plan year is September 1 through August 31. However, certain aspects of 
some of the plans are based on the calendar year (January 1 – December 31). 

Third-party 
administrator 
(TPA) 

the company contracted by ERS to manage certain aspects of many of our benefit plans. For 
example, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas is the TPA for the HealthSelect of Texas and 
Consumer Directed HealthSelect medical plans. As such, it manages the provider network, 
processes claims (ERS pays the claims) and provides customer service. By contracting with 
TPAs, ERS saves money in administrative costs. 
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Tips for saving money in HealthSelect plans 
Making the best use of your HealthSelect benefits 
might require a little extra effort. Learn about your 
coverage, confirm that providers are in the network, get 
referrals when needed, and opt for lower-cost drugs and 
procedures when appropriate. Taking those extra steps 
will help you save money – sometimes a lot of money – 
and avoid surprise bills, while getting high-quality care. 

Get care from an in-network  
provider 
In-network providers have a contract to provide care 
at a lower rate negotiated by BCBSTX. So, they typically 
cost you less than an out-of-network provider. BCBSTX 
also makes sure they have the credentials to provide 
appropriate, high-quality care. 

Out-of-network providers do not have a contract with 
BCBSTX to accept the lower amount. If you see an out-of-
network provider, you may be responsible for the difference 
between what the plan usually pays (the allowable amount) 
and what the provider charges, as well as any applicable 
out-of-network deductibles, coinsurance, and copays. 

Call BCBSTX or visit https://healthselectoftexas.com/ 
and click on Find a Doctor/Hospital to find in-network 
providers in your health plan. Call Optum Rx or visit 
https://healthselectrx.com to find in-network pharmacies. 

In HealthSelect of Texas, choose a   
PCP and get referrals when needed 
If you are in HealthSelect of Texas, you need to designate a 
primary care provider (PCP) on file with BCBSTX and make 
sure you have your PCP’s referral on file with BCBSTX 
before you see most specialists. Otherwise, your specialist 
visit will be considered out of network, even if the specialist 
is in the HealthSelect network. You can verify that a referral 
is in place by calling BCBSTX or logging in to your Blue 
Access for Members Account at https://healthselectoftexas. 
com. (Some specialist visits don’t require referrals. Find out 
which on the plan website or by calling BCBSTX.) 

Compare costs before you go 
You can find the lowest-cost in-network providers for a 
number of procedures and services in your area. Get started 
by logging in to your Blue Access for Members account at 
https://healthselectoftexas.com/, scroll to the bottom of 
the page and click on the Cost Estimator to compare the 

costs of care with different in-network providers. You can 
also save money on prescriptions by logging in to your 
OptumRx account at https://healthselectRx.com/ and 
using the Drug Pricing Tool to compare a drug’s cost across 
in-network pharmacies, or learn what you could save by 
using the mail-order pharmacy. 

For doctor visits and procedures  
(including lab work, surgery, radiology,  
and others): 
• If your doctor orders lab work or imaging, confirm that 

the lab or imaging center is in your plan’s network by 
calling BCBSTX or visiting the Find a Doctor/Hospital 
page of https://healthselectoftexas.com/ 

• Find out how much you might owe for a test before 
you agree to it. 

For care at a facility, surgery center or  
emergency room: 
•  If possible, confirm in advance if the facility, surgery  

center or emergency room is in your health plan’s  
network. Most freestanding emergency rooms not  
affiliated with a hospital are not in health plans’  
networks. 

•  If possible, confirm if everyone who will provide you  
with services during your procedure or stay is in-
network. This includes but is not limited to services for  
anesthesia, pathology, radiology, surgery and surgical  
assistants. 

•  If you have an actual medical emergency, call an  
ambulance or go to the nearest emergency room. 

•  If your situation is urgent but not a medical emergency,  
keep in mind that most urgent medical needs can be  
treated at an in-network urgent care facility or with  
a medical virtual visit at a fraction of the cost of an  
emergency room visit. Learn where to go for care in a  
variety of situations, at https://healthselect.bcbstx. 
com/pdf/publications-and-forms/where-to-go-for-
care.pdf 

For more tips on using your health care dollars wisely and  
avoiding unexpected health care costs, visit https://www. 
ers.texas.gov/Avoiding-Unexpected-Health-Costs 

https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/
https://www.optumrx.com/oe_ers/landing
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/
https://www.optumrx.com/oe_ers/landing
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/pdf/publications-and-forms/where-to-go-for-care.pdf
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/pdf/publications-and-forms/where-to-go-for-care.pdf
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/pdf/publications-and-forms/where-to-go-for-care.pdf
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Avoiding-Unexpected-Health-Costs
https://www.ers.texas.gov/Avoiding-Unexpected-Health-Costs
https://healthselectoftexas


2020 New Employee Benefits Guide | ERS | 35 State agency employees   

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

l),1-.J\h,·1,11(! 

Hello Nathan 

, :,,r , J ~, ■.1, _. 

Cost Estimator 

h11d ca,e 

Virtual Visits 

11 A'JIT UI ....... ··-J 

Q. = 

730 results for Family 
Physician in your 
network 

RIJ~'f I , .,.,_ 

~,. ...... 
~l"'1,IIMllttll¢!ir. 

< 
-~... ta"deonnkl...,.. It\~ i 

.DOtifO.-Clrl~Cio(l<)I~,~ 

+ 

~umc1te Co:sts -­., ..... 

d 

Ee1,me1M cost to )'OU: $36 
Es1in..,ed cost ,o )'O<J< ln,uroaee: &40-&ln 

< 

~•lbclut1hapnx • 

46 results for Physician 
Office Visit !New Patient! 
in vnur n,:,twnrk 

Know your benefits 
Call a BCBSTX Personal Health Assistant toll-free at  
(800) 252-8039, Monday – Friday 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. and  
Saturday 7 a.m. – 3 p.m. CT. 

BCBSTX Personal Health Assistants are here to help you  
understand and use your health plan benefits. They can: 

•  answer questions about benefits, 

•  assist with prior authorizations and referrals, 

•  provide information about programs and benefits  
available to you, 

•  help you locate an in-network provider, 

•  explain health care costs and options for care, 

•  provide you with cost estimates for services, 

•  schedule or cancel doctor’s appointments, 

•  help you use self-service tools and 

•  connect you to other resources. 

You can also visit https://www.healthselectoftexas.com  
to find out more about your HealthSelect benefits, locate  
an in-network provider, view claims and explanations of  
benefits (EOBs), and more! 

Use emergency rooms for 
emergencies only 
Did you know that going to an emergency room 
costs you more than five times as much as going to 
urgent care? Did you also know that it can cost the 
plan 10 times more, sometimes higher? A procedure 
that costs your health plan $100 in an urgent care 
facility can cost more than $1,000 at an emergency 
room. Why should you care? When costs for the 
plan increase, premiums increase. Help keep costs 
low. If you have a primary care provider, you can 
often schedule an office visit the same day. Urgent 
care centers have extended hours for whenever 
the unexpected occurs. Save money, and save the 
emergency room visit for life-threatening illnesses 
and accidents. 

Keep plan information handy with the BCBSTX mobile app 
Download the mobile app by texting BCBSTXAPP to the phone number 33633 

Provider Finder Cost EstimatorDashboard 

https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/
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Your benefits plans at a glance 
The following is a brief overview of the valuable insurance and retirement benefits available to you. For more details 
about coverage and eligibility, please read the information in this book, visit the ERS website at www.ers.texas.gov, 
or talk to your agency's benefits coordinator or human resources department. 

Plan Administrator / 
Insurer Highlights 

Medical Plans with Prescription Drug Coverage and Basic Term Life Insurance 

HealthSelect 
of Texas® 

Blue Cross and Blue 
Shield of Texas 

• A point-of-service plan that lets you go where you want for care, 
but saves you money if you use in-network providers. 

• Large network 

• Requires you to designate a primary care provider (PCP) and 
to get referrals to see specialists 

• Has copays for certain services, like PCP and specialist office 
visits 

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelectSM 

Blue Cross and Blue 
Shield of Texas 

• High-deductible health plan paired with a tax-free health 
savings account (HSA, administered by Optum Bank) 

• Large network 

• Upfront payments for covered medical and prescriptions costs 
until deductible is met 

• Has coinsurance instead of copays for services and 
prescription drugs 

• No PCP or referrals needed 

• Monthly HSA contribution from the state 

Health maintenance 
organizations (HMOs) 

Scott and White 
Health Plan in 
central Texas 

• Must stay in the HMO network for services to be covered 
(except for emergency care) 

• Lower out-of-pocket costs for in-network care
Community First 
Health Plans in the 
San Antonio area 

Dental Plans 

State of Texas Dental 
Choice PlanSM PPO Delta Dental 

• Preferred provider organization (PPO) that lets you use any 
dentist, but saves you money if you use in-network providers in 
its two-tiered network 

• Large network 

DeltaCare® USA dental 
HMO Delta Dental 

• Must stay in the DHMO network for services to be covered 

• Must select a primary care dentist (PCD) 

Vision Plan 

State of Texas 
VisionSM Superior Vision 

• Must stay in the large network for services to be covered 

• Covers certain vision services, like eye exams and contact lens 
fittings 

• Has allowance for cost of eyeglasses or contact lenses for each 
plan year (September 1 – August 31) 

• Discounts on LASIK 

https://www.ers.texas.gov/
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Plan Administrator / 
Insurer Highlights 

Other Insurance Plans 

Optional Term 
Life Insurance Securian 

• Four coverage amounts to choose from 

• Provides equal amount of Accidental Death & Dismemberment 
(AD&D) coverage 

• Evidence of insurability (EOI) may be required 

Dependent Term 
Life Insurance Securian 

• One low premium for all eligible dependents 

• Includes AD&D insurance 

• May require EOI 
Voluntary 
Accidental Death 
& Dismemberment 
Insurance 

Securian 
• Coverage for you only or for you and your family 

• EOI is NOT required 

Texas Income 
Protection PlanSM 

(TIPP) disability 
insurance 

ReedGroup 

• Pays a percentage of your salary if you're unable to work due to 
illness or injury 

• Short-term disability: up to 66% for up to five months 

• Long-term disability: up to 60% until you can return to work 

• May require EOI 

Flexible Spending Accounts (FSAs) 

TexFlex health care 
FSA WageWorks 

• Pre-tax savings for eligible health, dental, vision and 
prescription drug expenses 

• Not available to Consumer Directed HealthSelect participants 

TexFlex dependent 
day care FSA WageWorks 

• Pre-tax savings for day care, after- school care and summer 
day camp for children under age 13, or day care for dependent 
adults who can't care for themselves 

TexFlexSM limited FSA WageWorks 
• Pre-tax savings for eligible dental and vision expenses only 

• Available only to Consumer Directed HealthSelect participants 

TexFlex commuter 
spending account 
(CSA) 

WageWorks 
• Pre-tax savings for public transportation expenses used for your 

commute, and/or parking near your workplace or near public 
transit that you take to and from work 

Retirement Plans 

Texa$averSM 

401(k) / 457 Program Empower Retirement 

• If you are new to state employment, you are automatically 
enrolled in a 401(k) plan at 1% of your monthly salary 

• opt out available with re-enrollment at any time 

• Ability to increase, decrease or stop contributions, or make 
changes to investments at any time 

• 457 account also available 

State of Texas 
Retirement ERS 

• Defined benefit plan with mandatory participation 

• Monthly pre-tax contribution, set by Texas Legislature, taken 
from paycheck 

• Matching contribution from state, with smaller contribution from 
your agency 

• Upon retirement, monthly annuity for life 

Employee Discounts 
Discount Purchase 
Program Beneplace • Discounts and special services offered by various companies 
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Notice of creditable coverage  
Plan Year 2020 
This notice applies to you if you are both:  
• entitled to Medicare Part A and/or enrolled in Medicare Part B and   
• enrolled in Texas Employees Group Benefits Program health insurance. 
Important notice from the Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) about your Texas Employees Group  
Benefits Program (GBP) prescription drug coverage and Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage (sometimes  
called Part D). 

Please read this notice carefully and  
keep it where you can find it. No action is  
required of you at this time. 
Federal law requires ERS to send this notice to people  
who may be eligible for Medicare Prescription Drug  
Coverage and are enrolled in health insurance that is  
part of the GBP provided by the State of Texas. You  
have GBP prescription drug coverage through your GBP  
enrollment with HealthSelect of Texas®, administered by  
UnitedHealthcare, or one of the other health plans offered  
by the state. 

This notice provides: 
•  important information about your current prescription  

drug coverage, 

•  answers that will assist you in deciding whether you  
should purchase Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage, 

•  contact numbers for more information and 

•  a document that you can use later to avoid a penalty for  
late enrollment in Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage. 

Q. What is Medicare Prescription Drug  
Coverage (sometimes called Part D)? 
A. Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage is a prescription 
program that is available to people who qualify 
for Medicare Part A or Medicare Part B. Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage started on January 1, 2006. 

Q. What is creditable coverage and   
does GBP coverage meet this definition? 
A. The prescription drug coverage offered by the GBP 
has been examined by ERS’ consulting actuaries and 
is, on average for all plan participants, expected to pay 
out as much as standard Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage pays. The GBP is therefore considered to be 
creditable coverage. 

Q. Why is creditable coverage important  
to Medicare-eligible participants in the  
GBP? 
A. Because you have creditable coverage under the 
GBP, the Social Security Administration (SSA) has said 
that you will not have to pay a penalty if you join a private 
Medicare prescription drug plan later. Each year, there is an 
enrollment period that allows people with Medicare to enroll 
in private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage. Although 
you will have a chance to enroll every year, normally you 
would have to pay a penalty if you enrolled after your initial 
eligibility date. However, because you have creditable 
coverage under the GBP, you can choose to join a private 
Medicare prescription drug plan later without a penalty. 

Q. Should I enroll in private Medicare  
Prescription Drug Coverage? 
A. Most Medicare-eligible participants in the GBP should 
NOT enroll in private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage 
because, for most people, the GBP prescription drug 
coverage will provide better benefits at a lower cost. If 
you qualify for financial assistance, you could benefit from 
private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage and you 
would get savings on premiums, copays and coinsurance. 

Q. How do I know if I qualify for financial  
assistance with private Medicare  
Prescription Drug Coverage? 
A. Financial assistance is available to Medicare 
beneficiaries with incomes up to 150% of the Federal 
Poverty Level (FPL) and limited resources. The FPL is 
set each year. ERS does not make this determination or 
set the guidelines. To determine if you qualify for financial 
assistance with private Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage, you should contact the SSA toll-free 
at (800) 772-1213. TTY users should call toll-free 
at (800) 325-0778. Or visit SSA online at 
www.socialsecurity.gov. 

https://www.ssa.gov/
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Q. Is private Medicare Prescription Drug  
Coverage free? 
A. No. If you enroll in private Medicare Prescription 
Drug Coverage, you will pay a monthly premium. The 
amount will likely increase each year. You will also have 
to pay the private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage 
deductibles and copays. Currently, the deductible may be 
as high as $415, and will increase to $435 in 2020. 

Q. How does private Medicare  
Prescription Drug Coverage work? 
A. Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage is offered 
through private prescription drug plans that have 
been approved by Medicare. All private Medicare 
prescription drug plans offer a standard level of coverage 
set by Medicare. Some plans might also 
offer more coverage for a higher monthly premium. If you 
enroll in a private Medicare prescription drug plan, you 
will receive a prescription drug card that you will present 
to your pharmacy to cover a portion of your prescription 
drug costs. 

Q. Will private Medicare Prescription  
Drug Coverage have any effect on my  
medical plan under the GBP? 
A. Yes, if the private Medicare Prescription Drug plan 
also includes Medicare Advantage medical coverage. 
Medicare rules do not allow you to be enrolled in a GBP 
Medicare Advantage plan (HealthSelectSM Medicare 
Advantage, or KelseyCare Advantage MA HMO) and a 
private Medicare Prescription Drug plan that includes 
Medicare Advantage medical coverage at the same 
time. If you enroll in private Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage and it has a Medicare Advantage medical 
plan included, your medical coverage with the GBP 
Medicare Advantage plan will be terminated and you will 
be automatically enrolled in your previous non-Medicare 
Advantage plan under the GBP. If you are enrolled in a 
non-Medicare GBP medical plan, there is no change to 
your medical coverage. 

If you enroll in ERS’ HealthSelect Medicare Advantage or 
KelseyCare Advantage MA HMO,and do not decline ERS’
HealthSelect Medicare RX prescription drug coverage, 
your private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage will be 
terminated. 

Q. Will private Medicare Prescription  
Drug Coverage have any effect on  
HealthSelect Medicare Rx? 
A. Yes. Medicare rules do not allow you to be in two 
different Medicare prescription plans at the same time. If 
you enroll in a private Medicare prescription plan you will 
no longer be eligible for the HealthSelectSM Medicare Rx 
plan and will lose all prescription coverage through ERS. 

Q. Most GBP participants were  
encouraged not to enroll in private  
Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage   
last year. What about future years? 
A. You do not need to sign up for private Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage for the coming plan year. 
However, you should know that if you drop or lose your 
coverage under the GBP and do not enroll in private 
Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage within 63 days 
after your current GBP coverage ends, you may be 
required to pay more to enroll in private Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage later. 

Q. Where can I get more information? 
A. More detailed information about private Medicare 
plans that offer prescription drug coverage is available in 
the Medicare & You handbook. You may have received 
a copy of the handbook in the mail from Medicare. The 
handbook is also available at the website below. You may 
also be contacted directly by approved, private Medicare 
prescription drug plans. To get more information about 
private Medicare prescription drug plans: 

•  Visit www.medicare.gov for personalized help. 

•  Call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program.  
(See your copy of the Medicare & You handbook for  
their telephone number.) 

•  Call toll-free at (800) MEDICARE (800) 633-4227.   
TTY users should call (877) 486-2048. 

NOTE:  You may receive this notice at other times in the  
future, such as before the next period you can enroll in  
Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage or if this coverage  

  changes. You may also request a copy of this notice by  
calling ERS toll-free at (877) 275-4377. 

https://www.medicare.gov/
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Contact information 

HEALTH  INSURANCE 
HealthSelect of Texas®  
Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM 

Administered by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas 
Group number – 238000 
Toll-free: (800) 252-8039, (TTY: 711) 
NurseLine: (800) 581-0368 
www.healthselectoftexas.com 

Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM  

Health savings account (HSA) 
Administered by Optum Bank 
Toll-free: (800) 791-9361, (TTY: 711) 
www.optumbank.com 

HealthSelectSM  Prescription Drug Program 
(pharmacy benefits for HealthSelect of Texas 
and Consumer Directed HealthSelect) 
Administered by OptumRx 
Toll-free: (855) 828-9834, (TTY: 711) 
www.HealthSelectRx.com 

Community First Health Plans 
An affiliate of the University Health System 
Group number – 0010180000 
Toll-free: (877) 698-7032, 
(TTY: (210) 358-6080) 
Local: (210) 358-6262 
NurseLink: (210) 358-6262 
members.cfhp.com 

Scott and White Health Plan 
Group number – 012700 
Toll-free: (800) 321-7947, 
(TTY: (800) 735-2989) 
VitalCare Nurse Advice: (877) 505-7947 
https://ers.swhp.org/ 

Health and Human Services Enterprise 
employees: 
DFPS, DSHS, HHSC, CPRIT 

The HHS Employee Service Center acts as your 
benefits coordinator. Contact the Center toll-free 
at (888) 894-4747. 

OPTIONAL  BENEFITS 
State of Texas VisionSM 

Administered by Superior Vision Services, Inc. 
Group number – 35040 
Toll-free: (877) 396-4128 (TTY: 711) 
www.StateofTexasVision.com 

State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM 

Administered by Delta Dental 
Toll-free at (888) 818-7925 (TTY: 711) 
www.ERSdentalplans.com 

DeltaCare® USA DHMO 
Administered by Delta Dental 
Toll-free at (888) 818-7925 (TTY: 711) 
www.ERSdentalplans.com 

Life and Accidental Death &   
Dismemberment Insurance 
Insured by Securian 
Toll-free: (877) 494-1716, (TTY: 711) 
www.lifebenefits.com/plandesign/ers 

Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP) 
(short-term and long-term disability insurance) 
Administered by ReedGroup 
Toll-free: (855) 604-6230, (TTY: 711) 
www.texasincomeprotectionplan.com 
Disability evidence of insurability is administered 
by Guardian Life. 

TexFlex 
Administered by WageWorks, LLC. 
Toll-free: (844) 884-2364, (TTY: 711) 
www.texflexers.com 

Texa$averSM 401(k) / 457 Program 
Administered by Empower RetirementTM 

Toll-free: (800) 634-5091, (TTY: (800) 766-4952) 
www.texasaver.com 

Discount Purchase Program 
Administered by Beneplace 
Toll-free: (800) 683-2886 
Local: (512) 346-3300 
www.beneplace.com/discountprogramERS 

https://healthselect.bcbstx.com
https://www.optumbank.com/
https://www.optumrx.com/oe_ers/landing
https://members.cfhp.com/
https://ers.swhp.org/
https://portal.superiorvision.com/stateoftexasvision/
https://www.deltadentalins.com/group_sites/ERS/ppo.html
https://www.deltadentalins.com/group_sites/ERS/dhmo.html
https://web1.lifebenefits.com/sites/lbwem/ers
https://reedgrouptipp.com/
https://texflex.spendingaccounts.info/
https://texasaver.empower-retirement.com/participant/#/login?accu=TexasWR
https://www.beneplace.com/discountprogramers/


 

 
 

 

 

 

ATTENTION: Language assistance services, free of ATEN CI ON: Si habla espafiol, tiene a su disposici6n 
charge, are available to you. servicios gratuitos de asistencia linguistica. 
CHU Y: Neu ban n6i Tieng Viet, c6 cac dich v1,1 ho ~ a-: ~ .3fN ~ ~to)-~ f~i:n=rl:fcl ~ 
trQ' ngon ngfr m i@n phi danh cho b::;m. ..J 

fflllfr ~~I~ c=I I mrrti" ~~ t I 
~-:~*~~m~■$~•~~Ll~•m~m~ w.J~ ,_,llij w~ , ~ c.s-' ~ <.s-"'.Jts ulij "-! .fil :'4,~ 

fiJ:i}JgfHt 0 _....:;,Li c.s-' ~ly t....,_.:;, c.Sly, d5.,il.J 

~~I: el-~Oi ~ Mg N Al := ~ ~, '2:l Oi J::I ~ ACHTUNG: Wenn Sie Deutsch sprechen, stehen 

f-H:11 A~ ~fi~ 01gN~ "i' '.();;;;;LI G. Ihnen kostenlos sprachliche Hilfsdienstleistungen zur 
Verfogung. 

~y.\ll o.lCWI d ... ~ LJ!.~ ,:i.;]I _p:il c::..,.n..:;:; u£ l:ij :,J;,y-1. tj~aU: °61. ct}{ OJ°ls'~Lctl <iUC-1.ctl &\., ctl R:!ijC-8 tlll"t:tl 
· b...JLH.ill ·1 " .(..) . . .J9yJ 

t-l~l2l ~c:U<>tl ctl-ll~l l-lle G'\.lC{vll. ~-

d .. ~ ~ ~ .... ~ ulij _f. yT} 'Lllr ~y. J~) yT _pl :)~fa. BHI1MAHI1E: EcmI Bbl fOB0pHTe Ha pyccK0M 5131IKe, 
-U:lrYy:iu,~c.»-wi.. TO BaM L(OCTYITHhl 6ecruraTHbie ycnyrn rrepeBOL(a. 

PAUNAWA: Kung nagsasalita ka ng Tagalog, maaari ;.1;¥;.I.W: B~~g~i!~;tt,'@~15'- m *:!-0) ;;;; ~:n: x 
""' s:::::111::u::::i 

kang gumamit ng mga serbisyo ng tulong sa wika nang ti~ .=·f1Jm 1, ,t::t::rt*-t o 

walang bayad. 
ATTENTION: Si vous parlez franc;ais, des services hJo~">U: 17">0"> IJ)")lJCO">~">~"> ::no, n11Ju3n1u 
d'aide linguistique vous sont proposes gratuitement. tjoe.>cqjBO">lJW">~">, ioe.>UC~J~">, CCJ.)lJJJWEl.U~m . 

U]") 1J. 

The Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and does not 
discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex. ERS provides free language aids and 
services, such as: written information in other formats (large print, audio, accessible electronic formats, and other 
formats), qualified interpreters, and written information in other languages. 

If you need these services, call: 1-877-275-4377, TDD: 711. 

If you believe that ERS has failed to provide these services or discriminated in another way on the basis of race, 
color, national origin, age, disability, or sex, you can file a grievance by mail, fax or email: 

Mail: Section 1557 Coordinator Employees Retirement System of Texas 

P.O. Box 13207, Austin, Texas 78711-3207. Fax: 512-867-3480. 

Email: 1557coordinator@ers.texas.gov 

For more information visit: http://www.ers.texas.gov 

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services online, by mail or by 
phone at: 

Online: https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf 

Complaint forms are available at: http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html. 

Mail: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 509F, HHH Building, 

Washington, D.C. 20201. 

Phone: 1-800-368-1019, 800-537-7697 (TDD). 

1-877-275-4377 

mailto:1557coordinator%40ers.texas.gov?subject=
https://www.ers.texas.gov
https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/smartscreen/main.jsf
https://www.hhs.gov/ocr/complaints/index.html





