
Creating a faster, easier, friendlier  
driver license experience and a safer Texas 

DRIVER LICENSE DIVISION 

Texas 

has tough  

for minors 
alcohol related laws  

Minors can be charged as adults for alcohol 
and drug related offenses. The penalties for 
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) when charged 
as an adult, which include driving under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs, are:   
 

 1st Offense (Class B Misdemeanor) 

includes: a fine not to exceed $2,000.00, 
confinement in jail of 72 hours to 180 days, 
and a driver license suspension for 90 days to 
365 days. The court may probate the jail 
sentence and waive the driver license 
suspension for a first offense ONLY. 
Possession of an open container of an 
alcoholic beverage increases the minimum 
term of confinement to 6 days. 

 2nd Offense (Class A Misdemeanor) 

includes: a fine not to exceed $4,000.00, 
confinement in jail of 30 days to one year, and 
a driver license suspension for 180 days to two 
years. 

 3rd or Subsequent Offense (Felony of the 
Third Degree) includes: a fine not to exceed 
$10,000.00, confinement in the penitentiary for 
two to 10 years, and a driver license 
suspension for 180 days to two years. 

 Intoxication Assault (Felony of the Third 
Degree) includes: a fine not to exceed 
$10,000.00, confinement in the penitentiary for 
two to 10 years, and a driver license 
suspension for 180 days to two years. 

 Intoxication Manslaughter (Felony of the 
Second Degree) includes: a fine not to exceed 
$10,000.00, confinement in the penitentiary for 
two to 20 years, and a driver license 
suspension for 180 days to two years. 

 
Penalties for Non-Driving Alcohol-Related 
Offenses by Adults  
 
A person purchasing or furnishing an alcoholic 
beverage to a minor can be punished by a fine up 
to $2,000.00 and/or confinement in jail up to 80 
days. A person selling an alcoholic beverage to a 
minor can be punished by a fine up to $4,000.00 
and/or confinement in jail up to one year. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Help keep Texans safe. 

Be a responsible driver. 
 
 

 
 

Texas Department of Public Safety 
Driver License Division 

www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense 

 
 
 

 
 

ROADSIDE HELP IN TEXAS Call 1-800-525-5555 
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TEXAS HAS TOUGH ALCOHOL-RELATED 
LAWS FOR MINORS 
 
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a problem that 
affects all Texans. Texas enacted laws to 
discourage drivers from drinking and driving and 
make Texas roads safer. Texas established ZERO 
TOLERANCE for minors who commit any alcohol 
related offenses.  
 
Texas defines a “minor” as someone under 21 
years of age. A minor may not purchase, attempt 
to purchase, consume, or possess an alcoholic 
beverage. If a minor has ANY detectable amount 
of alcohol in their system while operating a motor 
vehicle on a public street, it is a criminal offense of 
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by a 
Minor (DUIA by a Minor).   
 
The 0.08% BAC legal limit of intoxication does not 
apply to minors.  If the minor does not have a 
driver license, driving privileges are denied for the 
same period as the suspension. 
 
How the Law Works for Minors 
 
A police officer with reasonable suspicion or 
probable cause may stop any vehicle. The officer 
may ask the driver to perform one or more field 
sobriety tests. In the case of a minor, if the officer 
believes there is ANY detectable alcohol in the 
minor’s system, the minor may be: 
 

 Arrested, and the car towed; 

 Handcuffed, taken to a police department or 

county jail, and given the opportunity to take a 
breath test; and  

 Taken to a hospital or clinic for a blood test. 

The officer designates the test required. If 
someone dies or is seriously injured in an 
accident, a breath or blood sample can be 
required. 

 
Implied Consent Laws for Minors 
 
A minor arrested for an offense committed while 
operating a motor vehicle or watercraft with ANY 
detectable amount of alcohol in their system 
automatically consents to the taking of one or more 
specimens by breath or blood. The specimens are 
analyzed to determine the alcohol concentration or 
the presence of a controlled substance, drug, or 
dangerous drug in the minor’s body.  

A minor whose specimen confirms the operation of 
a motor vehicle in a public place with ANY 
detectable amount of alcohol in their system will 
have their driver license suspended for: 

 60 days for  the  first  offense,   

 120  days  for  the  second offense, and  

 180 days for the third and subsequent 

offenses.  
 

The minor may request a hearing before an 
Administrative Law Judge to contest if the officer 
had probable cause to stop and arrest the minor or 
if there was detectable alcohol or controlled 
substance in the minor’s body. 
 
Suspensions for Minors Refusing to Provide a 
Specimen 
 
Refusal to provide a specimen results in a driver 
license suspension. If the minor refuses the test, the 
minor may be placed in jail and held until bond is 
posted or until appearance before a magistrate or 
Juvenile Court Judge. The driver license is 
suspended (or privilege denied if unlicensed) for: 

 180 days - 1st  Refusal  

 2 years - 2nd or subsequent Refusal  

 
Offenses and Penalties 
DUIA by a Minor – Under 17 years of age 
 

 1st Offense (Class C Misdemeanor) includes:  

a fine up to $500.00, 20 to 40 hours of 
community service, and a driver license 
suspension for 60-180 days. Attendance in an 
Alcohol Awareness Course is required for the 
minor and may be required for the parent. 

 2nd Offense (Class C Misdemeanor) includes: 

a fine up to $500.00, 40 to 60 hours of 
community service, a driver license suspension 
for 120 days to 2 years, and attendance in an 
Alcohol Awareness Course. 

 3rd Offense (Delinquent Conduct by Minor 
10 – 17 years of age) includes: a fine up to 
$500.00, 40 to 60 hours of community service, 
and a driver license suspension for 180 days to 
2 years. 

 
DWI by a Minor –17 to 21 years of age 
 

 1st Offense (Class B Misdemeanor) includes: 

a fine not to exceed $2,000.00, confinement in 
jail of 72 hours to 180 days, and a driver 
license suspension for one year.  The 

suspension is reduced to 90 days if the court 
orders community supervision and an ignition 
interlock device is required. The court may not 
probate the jail sentence or waive the driver 
license suspension. 

 2nd Offense (Class A Misdemeanor) 

includes: a fine not to exceed $4,000.00, 
confinement in jail of 30 days to one year, and 
a driver license suspension for 180 days to 18 
months. 

 3rd (or Subsequent) Offense (Felony of the 

Third Degree) includes: a fine not to exceed 
$10,000.00, confinement in the penitentiary for 
two to 10 years, and a driver license 
suspension for 180 days to two years. 

 

Penalties for Non-Driving Alcohol-Related 
Offenses by Minors 
 

ZERO TOLERANCE includes penalties for alcohol
-related offenses not associated with driving.  
These offenses include purchasing or attempting to 
purchase alcohol, falsely identifying as 21 years of 
age or older to a person engaged in the selling or 
serving of alcoholic beverages, and consuming or 
possessing an alcoholic beverage. The penalty for 
a non-driving alcohol-related offense or for public 
intoxication is: 
 

 1st Offense (Class C Misdemeanor) 

includes: a fine up to $500.00, 8 to 12 hours of 
community service, mandatory attendance in 
an Alcohol Awareness course, and a driver 
license suspension for 30 days. 

 2nd Offense (Class C Misdemeanor) 

includes: a fine up to $500.00, 20 to 40 hours 
of community service, attendance in an 
Alcohol Awareness course, and a driver 
license suspension for 60 days. 

 3rd Offense (Conduct Indicating a Need for 

Supervision 10 – 17 years of age) includes: 
a fine of up to $500.00, 20 to 40 hours of 
community service, and a driver license 
suspension for 180 days.  

 3rd  Offense (17 years of age or older but 

less than 21) (Class B Misdemeanor) 
includes: a fine of $250.00 to $2,000.00, 40 to 
60 hours of community service, confinement in 
jail up to 180 days, and a driver license 
suspension for 180 days. Minors are not 
eligible for deferred disposition for a third or 
subsequent conviction of Consumption by a 
Minor. 

 


