AUSTIN – At the direction of Texas Gov. Greg Abbott, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will implement cost-saving measures for residents who have been impacted by Hurricane Harvey. The changes will affect driver license (DL) duplicates and Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) surcharges for residents who live in one of the counties that have received a gubernatorial disaster declaration.
DPS will provide a no-cost replacement DL or ID card for residents in the impacted counties, provided they had previously been issued a Texas DL or ID card. Customers living in the affected counties are encouraged to bring whatever identity and residency documentation they have in their possession. (Replacement identification would normally cost $11.)
Eligible cardholders will need to visit a driver license office in person to obtain a free Texas DL or ID replacement. To find a driver license office near you, please visit http://www.dps.texas.gov/administration/driver_licensing_control/rolodex/search.asp. Since DPS driver license offices have been impacted by flooding as well, please check the website prior to coming to an office to ensure it is open.
In addition, residents in these same counties with outstanding DRP surcharges will not be required to make payments for 60 days, effective immediately. No action is required by the customer; DPS will implement the change internally. For additional information about the DRP program, please visit http://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/drp.htm.
### (HQ 2017-097)