Inspection Criteria for the Annual
SAFETY Inspection

Inspection Criteria

Choose a class of vehicle to view the items that will be inspected during the safety inspection.

Choose one of the items of inspection to view how that item will be inspected during the inspection process.

Emissions Testing Procedures

Is your vehicle required to be emissions tested?
All Texas registered vehicles are required to receive an annual inspection. All inspections include a comprehensive safety inspection; however, some vehicles are required to have an emissions test in addition to the safety inspection.

Which vehicles are required to have the emissions test?

  • Vehicles registered in designated counties. Designated counties include: Brazoria, Collin, Dallas, Denton, El Paso, Ellis, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Johnson, Kaufman, Montgomery, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant, Travis, and Williamson.
  • Gasoline powered vehicles. Diesel powered vehicles and motorcycles are exempt from emissions testing, but are still required to have the annual safety inspection.
  • Vehicles 2 through 24 years old OR upon expiration of the two-year initial inspection sticker.

Map of Texas Counties Performing Emissions Testing

What type of emissions test will my vehicle receive?
In conjunction with the annual safety inspection, all gasoline powered vehicles from 2 through 24 years old which are registered or primarily operated in emissions counties will receive the On-Board Diagnostic (OBDII) test.