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LICENSE TO CARRY 

Proper Firearm Storage to Prevent Theft & 
Accidental Injury to a Child 
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OBJECTIVES 
•	 Explain the importance 


of secure storage of a firearm
 
•	 Identify types of firearms 
•	 Identify storage options available 
•	 Explain the responsibilities and consequences when firearms 

are made available to anyone other than those who should 
have access. 

•	 Explain the penalties for making a firearm accessible to a 

child.
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Types of Firearms
 

• Fired from one hand 
Handgun	 Shotgun 

• Fired with two hands while 
• No support from the shoulder braced 
•	 Barrel length of under 16 • Fires once per pull of the 

inches trigger 
• Barrel length of 18+ inches 

Rifle 
• Fired with two hands 
• Braced against the shoulder 
•	 Fires one projectile with each 

pull of trigger 
• Barrel length of 16+ inches 
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Theft prevention 
As a firearms owner, keep in mind that one of the top items 
burglars target is guns – both in the home and in parked 
vehicles. When firearms fall into the wrong hands, it’s a 
dangerous situation and one that can be avoided with some 
planning by the firearms owner. 
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Firearm theft reporting 
As a firearms owner, you should report the theft or loss of your 
firearm within 48 hours of discovery to local law enforcement 
and the U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and 
Explosives (ATF). 

After you’ve contacted your local law enforcement agency, you 
can contact the ATF at (888) 930-9275. You’ll also need to 
complete ATF Form 3310.11 and follow the submission 
instructions. 

https://www.atf.gov/firearms/docs/form/federal-firearms-licensee-theftloss-report-atf-form-331011/download
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WHAT IS SAFE STORAGE? 

Safe storage of a firearm is securing the firearm in a locked 
object and keeping the firearm separate from the ammunition. It 
is also restricting access from unauthorized persons at all times 
- 24-hours a day, seven-days a week. 

It is more than keeping the firearm inside your house or inside 
your vehicle. Safe storage applies to where the firearm is all the 
time. 

It is more than hiding your gun. It is a constant responsibility
 
and could be the difference between life and death. 
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ACCESSIBILITY
 
vs. SAFEKEEPING
 

Many firearm owners struggle with how to maintain quick 
access to their firearm, while restricting access to others around 
them. 

Home  and vehicle access from a firearm should be restricted 
from family, friends, children* and or their friends*, contractors, 
repair personnel or uninvited persons. 

* Texas Penal Code 46.13. Making a firearm accessible to a child is a Class C 
misdemeanor and can be enhanced to a Class A, if the child discharges the firearm and 
causes death or serious bodily injury to himself or another person. See Pages 20-26. 
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OWNER RESPONSIBILTY 
As the owner of a firearm, it is your responsibility to secure your
 
firearm away from the following persons:
 

• Children* 
• Visitors 
• Friends 
• Relatives 
• Contractors 
• Persons we expect, and those we don’t 
• EVERYONE, but you 

* Texas Penal Code 46.13. Making a firearm accessible to a child is a Class C 
misdemeanor and can be enhanced to a Class A, if the child discharges the firearm and 
causes death or serious bodily injury to himself or another person. See Pages 20-26. 
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STORAGE DEVICES 
The storage device you choose must provide a level of 
protection adequate to prevent unauthorized persons from 
accessing your firearm. The determination of what is “adequate 
protection” is a matter of judgment on the part of the firearm 
owner. The safe storage option you choose depends on what 
firearms you own, your living situation and how much you 
choose to invest. 

Storage device options include trigger locks, biometric locks, 

gun cases, strong boxes, gun cabinets and gun safes. The 

following pages describe each option. 
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TRIGGER LOCK 
A trigger lock clamps down around 
the trigger or trigger housing to 
prevent the trigger from being 
manipulated. Cable Lock 

Code Lock 
Key Lock 

The Texas Department of Public Safety does not endorse any type or manufacturer of gun safes or locks. 
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BIOMETRIC LOCK 
A trigger lock that uses fingerprint 
technology. Developed by Air Force 
veterans, the Biometric Lock is 
customized to your firearm. 
Most versions allow access 
to the firearm in less than three seconds. 

The Texas Department of Public Safety does not endorse any type or manufacturer of gun safes or locks. 
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GUN CASE
 
A gun case is a portable firearm storage case 
that is made of plastic. Some can be quickly 
defeated by ordinary edged tools. Unless 
secured by some other lockable structure, gun 
cases can be easily transported. 

The Texas Department of Public Safety does not endorse any type or manufacturer of gun safes or locks. 
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STRONG BOX
 

A strong box is also portable, yet more 
durable than gun cases for storing and 
securing firearms. The device can store a 
single firearm or multiple firearms. Strong 
boxes are accessible with key, code or 
fingerprint technology. Most are designed 
to mount to vertical surfaces such as 
interior of desk, side of furniture or closet. 

The Texas Department of Public Safety does not endorse any type or manufacturer of gun safes or locks. 
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GUN CABINET
 

Made of varying materials and size, a gun 
cabinet may have thin gauge steel inside and 
made in a variety of sizes. Multiple firearms can 
be stored inside. This option is optimal for 
smaller dwellings, apartments and upper floors. 

The Texas Department of Public Safety does not endorse any type or manufacturer of gun safes or locks. 
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GUN SAFE / VAULT
 

A gun safe / vault is the most secure 
option, being a protective storage 
container for firearms and ammunition. 
Because of its weight, the gun safe/vault 
is recommended to bolt to the wall or 
floor to prevent it from falling over. Steel 
thickness ensures a fire rating, and can 
be opened by key or fingerprint 
technology. 

The Texas Department of Public Safety does not endorse any type or manufacturer of gun safes or locks. 
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TEXAS PENAL CODE 46.01(3) 
•	 “Firearm” 
▫	 Any device designed, made, or adapted to expel a 

projectile through a barrel by using the energy generated 
by an explosion or burning substance or any device readily 
convertible to that use. 
▫	 Firearm does not include a firearm that may have, as an 

integral part, a folding knife blade or other characteristics of 
weapons made illegal by Texas Penal Code, Chapter 46, 
and that is: 
 An antique or curio firearm manufactured before 1899; or 
 A replica of an antique or curio firearm manufactured 

before 1899, but only if the replica does not use rim fire 
or center fire ammunition. 
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TEXAS PENAL CODE 46.13(a) 
•	 “Child” 
▫	 Person younger than 17 years of age 

•	 “Readily dischargeable firearm” 
▫	 Firearm that is loaded with ammunition, whether or not a 

round is in the chamber 
•	 “Secure” 
▫	 To take steps that a reasonable person would take to 

prevent the access to a readily dischargeable firearm by a 
child, including but not limited to placing a firearm in a 
locked container or temporarily rendering the firearm 
inoperable by a trigger lock or other means. 
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TEXAS PENAL CODE 46.13(b) 
•	 A person commits an offense if a child gains access to a 

readily dischargeable firearm and the person with criminal 
negligence: 
 Failed to secure the firearm, or 
 Left the firearm in a place to which the person knew or 

should have known the child would gain access. 
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TEXAS PENAL CODE 46.13(c) 
•	 It is an affirmative defense to prosecution if the child’s access 

to the firearm: 
▫	 Was supervised by a person older than 18 years of age 

and was for hunting, sporting, or other lawful purposes; 
▫	 Consisted of lawful defense by the child of people or 

property; 
▫	 Was gained by entering property in violation of Texas Penal 

Code;  
▫	 Occurred during a time when engaged in an agricultural 

enterprise 
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TEXAS PENAL CODE 46.13(d,e)
 
Making a firearm accessible to a child: 
•	 Class C misdemeanor 
•	 Enhanced to a Class A misdemeanor if the child discharges 

the firearm and causes death or serious bodily injury to 
himself or another person. 
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TEXAS PENAL CODE 46.13(f) 
•	 A person cannot be arrested before the seventh day after the 

date the offense was committed, if 
▫	 He / she is related (Texas Family Code 71.003) to the child 

who discharged the firearm, and 
▫	 The child caused death or serious bodily injury to him / 

herself 
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TEXAS PENAL CODE 46.13(g) 
•	 A dealer of firearms shall post in a conspicuous position on 

the premises where the dealer conducts business a sign that 
contains the following warning in block letters not less than 
one inch in height: 

“IT IS UNLAWFUL TO STORE, TRANSPORT, OR ABANDON 
AN UNSECURED FIREARM IN A PLACE WHERE 
CHILDREN ARE LIKELY TO BE AND CAN OBTAIN ACCESS 
TO THE FIREARM.” 
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