
Rev. 7/23/19  

Requirements for All LTC Condition Types (if applicable): 
 Submit your application online at: https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/ltc/

 Electronic Fingerprints (Active Peace Officers, please see supporting documents).
1. You should receive an email from IdentoGo with a personalized link to schedule your

fingerprints OR
2. Visit Fingerprint Services and use Service Code:119Q91 or
3. Call (888) 467-2080, an provide Service Code: 119Q91

 LTC-6 is required if applicant does not hold a Texas DL or ID Card. Out of State applicants
must submit a copy of their state DL or ID Card.

 If applicant is born out of country, must provide lawful presence documents, i.e. –Certificate
of Naturalization, Permanent Resident Card, US Passport, etc. See Eligibility Requirements.

NOTE for Texas DL/ID holders: The Texas DL or ID photo on file with the Department will be used for the 
License to Carry a Handgun (LTC). 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO CARRY A HANDGUN (LTC) 

Are you: 

Active 
• Judge (GC §411.201)
• Felony Prosecutor (GC §411.199)
• Other Prosecutor (GC §411.174) (GC§411.1882)
• Texas Peace Officer (GC §411.1991)

• Railroad Peace Officer (GC §411.1991)

• Special Rangers of the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association
(GC §411.1991)

• Correctional Officer currently employed by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice 
(GC §411.1994)

• County Jailer (GC §411.1993)

Retired 
• Judge (GC §411.201)

• Texas Peace Officer (Honorably) (GC §411.199) (GC §411.1992)
• Federal Officer (GC §411.199)

• Railroad Peace Officers (GC §411.199)

• Special Rangers of the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association 
(GC §411.199)

• Former Reserve Law Enforcement Officer (GC §411.1992)

https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/ltc/
https://www.dps.texas.gov/administration/crime_records/pages/applicantfingerprintservices.htm
http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-6.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-40.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-40.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-40.pdf
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The LTC Conditions listed below require additional supporting documents. 

Active 
Judge $25 

• LTC-82 Judge/Prosecutor Affidavit, provided by the department under Handgun Licensing
downloadable forms, must be signed by applicant and notarized or provide sufficient evidence that
applicant is currently employed as an Active Judge in the State of Texas or as a Federal Judge
residing in Texas.

• LTC-83 Sworn Statement of Handgun Proficiency Affidavit, provided by the department
under Handgun Licensing downloadable forms signed by a TCOLE certified instructor
indicating applicant demonstrated proficiency within last 12 months or a LTC-100 or LTC-
101 Certificate of Training Form (received from the LTC instructor upon course
completion).

Felony Prosecutor $0 
• LTC-82 Judge/Prosecutor Affidavit, provided by the department under Handgun Licensing

downloadable forms, must be signed by applicant and notarized or provide sufficient evidence that
applicant is currently employed to prosecute felony cases on behalf of a government agency in the
State of Texas.

• LTC-83 Sworn Statement of Handgun Proficiency Affidavit, provided by the department under
Handgun Licensing downloadable forms signed by a TCOLE certified instructor indicating applicant
demonstrated proficiency within last 12 months or a LTC-100 or LTC-101 Certificate of Training
Form (received from the LTC instructor upon course completion).

Other Prosecutor $40 
• LTC-82 Judge/Prosecutor Affidavit, provided by the department under Handgun Licensing

downloadable forms, must be signed by applicant and notarized or provide sufficient
evidence that applicant is currently employed to prosecute criminal cases on behalf of a
government agency in the State of Texas.

• LTC-83 Sworn Statement of Handgun Proficiency Affidavit, provided by the department under
Handgun Licensing downloadable forms signed by a TCOLE certified instructor indicating applicant
demonstrated proficiency within last 12 months or a LTC-100 or LTC-101 Certificate of Training
Form (received from the LTC instructor upon course completion).

Texas Peace Officer $0 
• LTC-80 Consent Form, provided by the department under Handgun Licensing downloadable forms or

must be electronically fingerprinted.
• Provide current copy of TCOLE license, and
• Evidence of current employment (Agency Identification Card or Agency HR letter).

Note: Documentation of a handgun proficiency course is not required.

Railroad Peace Officer $0 
• LTC-80 Consent Form, provided by the department under Handgun Licensing

downloadable forms or must be electronically fingerprinted.
• Provide current copy of certificate of authority issued by the Director of Texas DPS.

Note: Documentation of a handgun proficiency course is not required.

https://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-82.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-83.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-82.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-83.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-82.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-83.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-80.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-80.pdf
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Special Rangers of the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association $0 
• LTC-80 Consent Form, provided by the department under Handgun Licensing

downloadable forms or must be electronically fingerprinted.
• Provide current copy of certificate of authority issued by the Director of Texas DPS.

Note: Documentation of a handgun proficiency course is not required.

Correctional Officer - Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) $0 
• LTC-100 Certificate of Training or LTC-101 Online/LTC Certificate of Training (received from

LTC instructor upon course completion) for the classroom portion only.
• Evidence of having satisfactorily completed TDCJ Correctional Officer training program,

including demonstration of weapons proficiency.
• HR verification letter that includes Name, Rank, and proof of current employment. 

Note: to qualify for an LTC from TDCJ, the HR letter must state job title as one of the
following:
 Correctional Officer I, II, III, IV and V
 Sergeant of Correctional Officers
 Lieutenant of Correctional Officers
 Captain of Correctional Officers
 Major of Correctional Officers
 Warden
 Assistant Warden
 Food Service Manager II, III and IV
 Laundry Manager II, III and IV

County Jailer $0 
• LTC-100 Certificate of Training or LTC-101, Online/LTC Certificate of Training Form (received from LTC

instructor upon course completion) for the classroom portion only.
• Current copy of County Jailer license and credentials.
• Evidence of current employment as a County Jailer.
• Evidence of satisfactorily completion of the County Jailer preparatory training program,

including demonstration of weapons proficiency.

Retired 
Judge $25 

• LTC-100 Certificate of Training or LTC-101 Online/LTC Certificate of Training Form (received from
LTC instructor upon course completion).

• Must submit a retirement statement from the Judicial Retirement System showing retired as a
judge serving in the State of Texas or Retired Federal Judge must provide proof of residing in
Texas and submit a retirement letter from their court, retirement credentials, or sufficient
information retired from a Federal Justice position.

Texas Peace Officer (Honorably) $0 
• LTC-84 Retired Peace Officer and Retired Federal Officer Affidavit, provided by the department

under Handgun Licensing downloadable forms, must be signed by the head of the law enforcement
agency and notarized; or a sworn statement on agency letterhead from the head of the law
enforcement agency.

http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-80.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-84.pdf
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Federal Officer (Example: US Marshall or FBI) $0 
• LTC-84 Retired Peace Officer and Retired Federal Officer Affidavit, provided by the 

department under Handgun Licensing downloadable forms, must be signed by the head of 
law enforcement agency and notarized; or a sworn statement on agency letterhead from 
the head of the law enforcement agency. 

• Provide a copy of agency issued retirement credentials. 

 
Railroad Peace Officer $0 

• LTC-96 Retired Railroad Peace Officer and Retired Special Ranger of the Texas and 
Southwestern Cattle Raiser Association Affidavit, provided by the department under 
Handgun Licensing downloadable forms, must be signed by the head of the law 
enforcement agency and notarized; or a sworn statement on agency letterhead from the 
head of the law enforcement agency. 

• Must submit a copy of their certificate of authority issued by the Director of Texas DPS. 
• Provide copy of TCOLE license. 

 
Special Rangers of the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association $0 

• LTC-96 Retired Railroad Peace Officer and Retired Special Ranger of the Texas and 
Southwestern Cattle Raiser Association Affidavit, provided by the department under 
Handgun Licensing downloadable forms, must be signed by the head of the law 
enforcement agency and notarized; or a sworn statement on agency letterhead from the 
head of the law enforcement agency. 

• Must submit a copy of their certificate of authority issued by the Director of Texas DPS. 
• Provide copy of TCOLE license. 

 
Former Reserve Law Enforcement Officer $25 

• LTC-100 or LTC-101 Training Form (received from the LTC instructor upon course completion) 
for classroom portion only. 

• LTC-79 Sworn Statement for Former Reserve Law Enforcement Affidavit, provided by the department 
under Handgun Licensing downloadable forms, must be signed by the head of law enforcement 
agency and notarized; or a sworn statement on agency letterhead from the head of law 
enforcement agency. 

 
Note: Instructions for submitting required supporting documents will be on the Online 

Receipt/Checklist page and Confirmation Email. Documents may be uploaded to the DPS 
secure website: https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/default.aspx 

http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-84.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/internetforms/Forms/LTC-96.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/internetforms/Forms/LTC-96.pdf
http://www.dps.texas.gov/internetforms/Forms/LTC-79.pdf
https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/default.aspx
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