
APPLICANT FOR DPS USE ONLY
Have you previously applied for a Texas License to Carry a Handgun and/or Qualified Instructor 
Certification? (REGARDLESS IF ISSUED, TERMINATED, DENIED OR STILL VALID)

	 Yes
	 No

I am applying for: (*APPLICANTS FOR QUALIFIED INSTRUCTORS CERTIFICATION MUST ATTACH CHL-90)
	 License to Carry a Handgun only      	 Qualified Instructor Certification only                	Both
	 (*SKIP APPLICATION CONDITION BELOW)

Texas Department of Public Safety
Regulatory Services Division
www.dps.texas.gov

HANDGUN LICENSING

ORIGINAL APPLICATION • MUST USE MOST CURRENT FORM
• TYPED PREFERRED OR PRINT CLEARLY

Application Condition
	 (SEE INSTRUCTIONS 

FOR DETAILS)
	 Standard ($140)

	 Active Peace Officer / TDCJ 
Correctional Officer / Supervision 
Officer / Juvenile Probation Officer / 
Active Texas Military Member ($25)

	 Retired Federal Officer ($25)

	 Retired Peace Officer ($25)
	 Active Military ($0)
	 Veteran ($25)
	 Active Judicial Officer ($25)

	 Retired Judicial 
Officer ($25)

	 Felony Prosecutor ($0)
	 Other Prosecutor ($140)

	 Indigent ($70)
	 Senior Citizen ($70)
	 (60 OR OLDER 

AT TIME OF 
APPLICATION)

Applicant Last Name
(AS IT APPEARS ON DL/ID)

First Name: MI Suffix:
(IF ANY)

	 Driver License
	 ID Card

DL/ID State
(2-LETTER CODE)

DL/ID Number Date of Birth
(MM/DD/YYYY)

PERSONAL IDENTIFIERS

Gender
	 Male
	 Female

Race
	 Asian/Pacific Islander
	 American Indian/Alaskan Native
	 Black
	 White/Hispanic
	 Other/Unknown

Eyes (*MATCH DL/ID)
	 Black	 	 Hazel
	 Blue	 	 Maroon
	 Brown	 	 Multicolor
	 Green	 	 Pink
	 Gray	 	 Unknown

Hair (*MATCH DL/ID)
	 Bald/Unknown	 	Gray/Partially
	 Black	 	Red/Auburn
	 Blonde/Strawberry	 	Sandy
	 Brown	 	White

Height            Ft.              In.

Weight            Lbs.

CONTACT INFORMATION
Residence Address (Cannot be a PO Box) City State

(2-LETTER 
CODE)

ZIP Code

REPORTED HISTORY
Have you ever been arrested or charged with a crime? (Regardless if pending, dismissed, 
committed as a juvenile, was long ago OR was in another state.)

	Yes
	No

*If YES, please complete 
and attach CHL-78C.

Have you ever been treated and / or admitted to a facility for drug, alcohol and / or psychiatric care; OR been 
diagnosed as suffering from a psychiatric disorder or condition that causes or is likely to cause substantial 
impairment in judgment, mood, perception, impulse control or intellectual ability; OR pleaded innocent by 
reason of insanity; OR been found mentally incompetent; OR had court-ordered outpatient treatment?

	Yes
	No

*If YES, please complete 
and attach CHL-78C.

I understand all fees submitted to Handgun Licensing are non-refundable and non-transferable.

I verify the information provided is true and correct, and I understand this is an official government record and any false statement made on this document 
or any other supplement provided to DPS may result in criminal prosecution.

I wish to contribute to the Texas Veterans’ Assistance Fund:      Yes     No	 Amount:  $   (Whole dollar amount only. 
	 Please include the donation with your application fee.)

Applicant Signature	       Date  (MM/DD/YYYY)
	 (You may copy and paste a scanned .jpg or pdf of your signature)

Mail to:	 Regulatory Services Division MSC 0245, Texas Department of Public Safety, P.O. Box 15888, Austin, Texas 78761-5888

CHL-78A (Rev. 7/16)

Place    City
of Birth: 

State
(2-LETTER CODE)

Country Born outside the U.S. 
or U.S. Territory? 

	 Yes
	 No

*If YES, attach legal 
status documentation.

Applicant Home Phone Number Applicant Work Phone Number

Applicant Email

Have you lived at this residence for the previous five (5) years and is this the only residence 
information for the previous five (5) years (60 months)?

 Yes
 No

*If NO, please complete 
and attach CHL-78B

Is your Mailing Address different from the Residence Address listed above?  Yes
 No

*If YES, provide mailing 
address in the space below.

Mailing Address (if different from Residence Address) City State
(2-LETTER 
CODE)

ZIP Code



ORIGINAL APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS
Original Application Fee:

	 Acceptable forms of payment: Money Order, Personal Check, and Cashier’s Check

Required documents  to complete and submit for any condition of license applied for: 

	 CHL-100 Training Form (Received from LTC Instructor upon course completion). Active / Retired Peace Officers are exempt from 
submitting CHL-100.

	 CHL-85: Authorization for Release of Records

	 CHL-86: Knowledge of Laws and Eligibility Affidavit

	 CHL-6 is required if applicant does not hold a Texas DL or ID Card. Out of State applicants must submit a copy of their state DL or ID 
Card. Note:  For Texas DL/ID holders. The Texas DL/ID photo on file with the Department will be used for the LTC.

Condition of License - Below is the list of conditions and additional supporting documentation needed for application processing:

	 Standard: No additional supporting documents are required.

	 Active Texas Peace Officers: Provide complete and submit Consent Form available at this link: 
www.txdps.state.tx.us/RSD/CHL/LicenseRegistration/applInstrInfo.htm. The department will utilize fingerprints on file to conduct the 
required background check. If further documentation is needed you will be notified.

Texas Dept. of Criminal Justice (TDCJ): Must provide current proof of employment from employing agency.

Supervision Officer & Juvenile Probation Officer: Must provide current proof of employment from employing agency, a sworn 
statement from TCOLE certified instructor indicating applicant demonstrated handgun proficiency within the preceding 12 months of 
your LTC application can be used in place of the proficiency portion of the CHL-100.

Active Texas Military Members: Must provide current proof of service, sworn statement from TCOLE certified instructor indicating 
applicant demonstrated handgun proficiency within the preceding 12 months of your LTC application can be used in place of the 
proficiency portion of the CHL-100.

	 Retired Peace Officers: Sworn statement from the head of the agency employing the applicant as specified by GC§411.199 or GC 
§411.1992  

	 Retired Federal Officers: Letter from the head of the agency formerly employing the applicant, sworn statement from TCOLE 
certified instructor indicating applicant demonstrated handgun proficiency within the preceding 12 months of your LTC application can 
be used in place of the proficiency portion of the CHL-100.

	 Active Military: Copy of your military identification, copy of current leave earnings statement; OR Current orders; OR Current pay 
stub; OR Letter from the commanding officer; OR DD-214 (Member-4) showing honorable discharge and date (If application is within 
365 days of discharge) Military range scores, from within the preceding 5 years of your LTC application, can be used in place of the 
proficiency portion of the CHL-100 (GC §411.1881)

	 Veteran/Retired Military: Copy of DD-214 (Member-4); OR Any other official documentation showing the applicant is honorably 
discharged or retired military.

	 Active Judicial Officer: CHL-100 Certificate of Training Form (received from LTC instructor upon course completion); OR State-
ment from TCOLE certified instructor indicating applicant demonstrated proficiency within the year of application. (GC§411.1882), 
a statement from the employing agency is preferred but not required.

	 Retired Judicial Officer: Statement verifying retired status , a statement from TCOLE certified instructor indicating applicant 
demonstrated proficiency (GC§411.1882) can be used in place of the proficiency portion of the CHL-100 

	 Other Prosecutor:  CHL-100 Certificate of Training Form (received from LTC instructor upon course completion); OR Statement from 
TCOLE certified instructor indicating applicant demonstrated proficiency (GC§411.1882

	 Felony Prosecutor:  CHL-100 Certificate of Training Form (received from LTC instructor upon course completion); OR Statement 
from TCOLE certified instructor indicating applicant demonstrated proficiency (GC§411.1882)

	 Indigent: Copy of IRS tax form 1040; OR Notarized statement of indigence; OR Any official document showing the applicant’s income 
and their dependents.

	 Senior Citizen: No additional documents are required for a Senior Citizen (age 60 or older).

Privacy Policy: (1) with few exceptions, the individual is entitled on request to be informed about the information that the state governmental 
body collects about the individual; (2) under Sections 552.021 and 552.023 of the Government Code, the individual is entitled to receive and 
review the information; and (3) under Section 559.004 of the Government Code, the individual is entitled to have the state governmental body 
correct information about the individual that is incorrect.
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