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March 18, 2020 
 
To Whom it May Concern: 
 
As a precautionary measure due to the ongoing spread of COVID 19, by order of the Governor, the 
Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is extending the expiration of a Texas identification card, 
driver license, commercial driver license, commercial license permit or election identification 
certificate for the duration of the Governor’s declaration of State of Disaster and for 60 days after 
DPS provides further public notice that normal operations have resumed. 
 
The DPS considers a Texas issued card displaying an expired date valid if both of these conditions 
are met: 
1. The expiration date on the driver license or ID card is on or after March 13, 2020 
2. The current date is within 60 days of the end of the State of Disaster. 
 
This extension applies to the expiration date only.  A person who is not eligible to drive due to an 
active enforcement action (suspension, revocation or denial) may use the card for identity purposes 
only.  DPS has notified law enforcement agencies and has asked for their understanding and 
cooperation in this matter. 
 
The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) will accept state cards that expired on or after 
March 1, 2020 for travelers who are not able to renew during the COVID-19 national emergency.  
See www.tsa.gov/coronavirus for more information. 
 
Please accept this letter as verification of this extension. I appreciate your understanding and 
courtesy to any Texans affected by this situation. 
 
Steven C. McCraw 
Director 
Texas Department of Public Safety 

http://www.tsa.gov/coronavirus

