Education Requirements For Trooper

Education: Applicants must have a minimum of 60 college earned hours from a regional accredited college or university. Prior law enforcement or military experience at the following ratios may substitute for required semester hours:

Semester Hours   Law Enforcement/Military
0-15 Plus 24 months
16-30 Plus 18 months
31-45 Plus 12 months
46-59 Plus 6 months

Applicants substituting law enforcement or military experience for the college hours must, at a minimum, have obtained a GED or have graduated from high school.

  1. Military experience is defined as having served active duty time in the Armed Forces of the United States, including active duty service in any branch of the Reserves or National Guard.
  2. Law Enforcement officer experience is defined as time spent as a full-time paid employee performing police duties in a position with a governmental entity, which requires a license as a Texas Peace Officer or its equivalent in another state.
  3. Out of state police officers will need a letter from their state peace officer licensing agency (TCOSE equivalent) stating their peace officers license is valid and has not been subject to reprimand, suspension or revocation. Out of state police officers holding a Reserve Peace Officer Commission/License will not be eligible.
  4. All military or law enforcement experience substituted for college semester hours must be verifiable.
  5. Federal law enforcement applicants will need their 24 months service with one of the federal agencies listed in ยง2.122 Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. Federal applicants will need a letter from their agency characterizing the nature of their federal service and if they had ever been subject to reprimand, suspension or revocation.