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NOTICE 
EFFECTIVE January 1, 2011 
 
PRIOR TO INSPECTION: 
 
The owner or operator of a vehicle shall present evidence of financial responsibility to the inspection station in 
one of the following ways: 
1. A liability insurance policy, or a copy of the policy, in at least the minimum amounts required by law 
(Texas minimum requirements are $30,000/$60,000/$25,000) 
2. A standard proof of liability insurance form promulgated by the Texas Department of Insurance and 
issued by a liability insurer that includes: 

A. The name of the Insurer; 
B. The insurance policy number 
C. The policy period (dates of coverage and issued for 30 days or more); 
D. The name and address of each insured person; 
E. The policy limit or a statement that the coverage of the policy complies with at least 

the minimum amounts of liability insurance required by this Act; and, 
F. The make and model of each covered vehicle. 

3. An insurance binder that confirms that the owner and/or operator is in compliance. 
4. A copy of a certificate issued by the Department of Public Safety that shows that the vehicle is covered 
by self-insurance. 
5. A certificate (or copy) issued by the State Comptroller that shows that the owner of the vehicle has on 
deposit with the comptroller money or securities in at least the amount required by law. 
6. A certificate (or copy of a certificate) issued by the Department of Public Safety that shows that the 
vehicle is a vehicle for which a bond is on file with the Department. 
7. A copy of a certificate issued by the County Judge where the vehicle is registered that shows that the 
owner has on deposit, cash or a cashier’s check in at least the amount required by law. 
***8. Texas Department of Motor Vehicle Carrier Registration Certificates (cab cards), including: 

A. Commercial Motor Vehicle Registration Certificates; 
B. Commercial Motor Vehicles registered under the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) 

which is a paperless system, that must be checked on the website, www.safersys.org; 
C. Household goods carrier registration certificates 
D. Tow Truck Registration certificates 

 
NOTE: Evidence of Financial Responsibility must be furnished for the TOWING VEHICLE of any trailer, semitrailer, 
or pole trailer presented for inspection. 
 
AN INSPECTION CERTIFICATE MAY NOT BE ISSUED FOR A VEHICLE FOR WHICH THE OWNER OR OPERATOR FAILS 
TO FURNISH THE REQUIRED EVIDENCE OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY. 
 

VEHICLES EXEMPT FROM THIS REQUIREMENT 
 

1. GOVERNMENT VEHICLES: U.S., State, County, City 
2. Vehicles registered to Volunteer Fire Departments 
3. Vehicles registered with “Antique” License Plates 
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The general financial responsibility requirements for operating a motor vehicle in the State of Texas are found in Texas 
Transportation Code, Chapter 601.  However, Texas Transportation Code, Section 601.007(c), provides that Chapter 601 does 
not apply to a motor vehicle that is subject to Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 643.  Chapter 643 contains the financial 
responsibility requirements for operating a commercial motor vehicle in the State of Texas.  The owner or operator of a 
commercial vehicle required to register with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles under Chapter 643 shall present 
evidence of financial responsibility to the inspection station in one of the following ways: 
 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Carrier Registration Certificates (Cab Cards), including: 

A. Commercial Motor Vehicles Registration Certificates, which can be verified at the following website: 
http://apps.dot.state.tx.us/apps/mccs/mccs_frame_search_collector.htm 

B. Commercial Motor Vehicles registered under the Unified Carrier Registration Act (UCR), which is a paperless 
system, that must be checked via the following website, www.safesys.org; 

C. Household Goods Carrier Registration Certificates 

 
 
Tow Truck Registration Certificates - issued by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation – which can be verfied at 
the following website: http://www.license.state.tx.us/LicenseSearch/ 


