Visit the TEXAS HURRICANE CENTER webpage for
    Hurricane Harvey-related information and resources

                 Sunset Announcement

Chapter Two - Acceleration Simulation Mode 2 (ASM2) - Inspection Procedure

   02.05.00 Acceleration Simulation Mode 2 (ASM2) Emissions Inspection

         02.05.01 General

The primary vehicle emissions analyzer certified by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) is capable of performing all emissions tests required by the Texas I/M program. The tests are the Acceleration Simulation Mode 2 (ASM2), On-Board Diagnostic II (OBDII), and Two-Speed Idle (TSI). The analyzer software is designed to administer the required emissions test. This analyzer must be used for inspections in all affected counties except those stations with an OBD-only waiver.

This chapter describes the procedures used by certified inspectors in conducting the Acceleration Simulation Mode 2 (ASM2) emissions inspection on designated vehicles in affected counties.

   02.05.02 ASM2 Test Protocol

The Acceleration Simulation Mode 2 (ASM2) is a loaded-mode emissions test using a five-gas analyzer and dynamometer (a treadmill-like device for the front or rear traction tires of the vehicle). It measures exhaust emissions for levels of hydrocarbon, carbon monoxide, and nitrogen oxides.

This I/M program uses an ASM test with two modes, hence the use of “2” as a suffix. In the 50/15 mode, the vehicle is tested on the dynamometer simulating the use of 50% of the vehicle available horsepower to accelerate at a rate of 3.3 miles per hour (mph) per second to a constant speed of 15 mph. In the 25/25 mode, the vehicle is tested on the dynamometer simulating the use of 25% of the vehicle available horsepower to accelerate at a rate of 3.3 mph per second to a constant speed of 25 mph.

In this manual, the term “ASM” shall refer to the Acceleration Simulation Mode 2 (ASM2) test.

         02.05.03 Station Requirements For ASM Testing

In addition to all equipment required to perform safety inspections, all inspection stations performing Acceleration Simulation Mode (ASM) emissions testing must also have a minimum of the following:

1. A five-gas analyzer and dynamometer with gas cap tester certified by TCEQ.

2. Approved Bar 97 Hi and Low calibration gas for the analyzer.

3. A designated telephone line dedicated solely to each analyzer in the program.

4. The engine cooling fan provided by the analyzer manufacturer or a replacement fan meeting the original equipment specifications; i.e. maximum outside diameter of 30 inches, and a minimum CFM rating of 3000 cfm.

5. An adequate supply of printer supplies.

6. All required analyzer manuals.

7. A business arrangement with the Texas Informa-

tion Management Systems (TIMS) contractor to obtain a telecommunications link to the Vehicle Information Database (VID).

Note: If the inspection station fails to pay its data link fees to the contractor, then the analyzer will be locked out from any further inspections until the problem is resolved.

         02.05.04 Testing Data Collection

All certified emissions inspection stations must report the results of emissions testing, since the collection and reporting of accurate vehicle emissions testing data has significant importance for the inspection and maintenance (I/M) program.

Each analyzer is allowed a certain number of off-line inspections since occasional telephone line problems may occur. After restoration of the telephone link, the off-line data will be sent to the VID. However, when the analyzer exceeds the off-line inspection limit the analyzer will be locked out from any further inspections until the problem is resolved. Failure to reestablish the telecommunications link to the VID will result in either suspension or revocation of the inspection station license.

   02.10.00 Certified Inspectors

Only certified inspectors who have completed training with either DPS or a DPS approved outside training school and received a certified vehicle inspector access ID card (scan card) may perform vehicle emissions testing.

   02.15.00 ASM Testing Applicability

ASM emissions testing will be performed in the following counties:

1. Brazoria,

2. Collin,

3. Dallas,

4. Denton,

5. Ellis,

6. Ft Bend,

7. Galveston,

8. Harris,

9. Johnson,

10. Kaufman,

11. Parker,

12. Rockwall,

13. Montgomery, and

14. Tarrant.

ASM emissions testing is performed on all motor vehicles that are:

1. capable of being powered by gasoline (except motorcycles),

2. model years 1995 and older, to and including 24 years old, and

3. presented for annual safety inspection; or

4. required by state law.

Note: Examples of “required by state law” are:

1. Department of Public Safety directs that a vehicle receive an out-of-cycle emissions test,

2. vehicle requires an emissions test on resale, or

3. a public college or university requires emissions testing prior to issuance of a school parking permit.

ASM emissions inspections will be performed on other vehicles, as the Department of Public Safety shall direct.

   02.20.00 Inspection Certificates

The following inspections will be entered into the analyzer at all certified ASM emissions inspection stations.

1. Safety only

2. Two Year Safety (new car and light duty truck)

3. Safety and Emissions

4. Emissions only

5. Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (commercial windshield and trailer inspections)

6. Trailer/Motorcycle

The department approved “ASM Safety and Emissions Certificate” will be issued to vehicles passing the safety and ASM emissions inspection, with the following exceptions.

1. Vehicles model year 1996 and newer (OBDII) that would not be eligible to receive an ASM emissions inspection, but where DPS notifies inspection stations to perform the emissions inspection using the ASM emissions test on these specific vehicles. These vehicles, and only these specific vehicles, will receive a department approved “OBD Safety and Emissions Certificate” after passing both the safety and ASM emissions inspection.

2. Vehicles qualifying under DPS rules for a “unique emissions-test-only inspection certificate.” These vehicles are exempt from the annual safety inspection or not required to be emissions tested at the time of the safety inspection. Specifically, a unique emissions-test-only inspection certificate shall be issued to:

a. Federal Vehicles (not registered in Texas). Federal government or quasi-governmental agency vehicles that are primarily operated in affected counties, but do not display Texas license plates, are exempt from the annual safety inspection; however, they shall be required to comply with all vehicle emissions requirements.

b. Out-of-State Registered Vehicles (for out-of-state registration purposes only). Vehicles registered in another state, that require an emissions test for registration purposes in that state, may be emissions tested and issued an emissions-test-only inspection certificate.

c. Commercial Motor Vehicles Requiring an Emissions Test. A motor vehicle requiring a Federal Motor Carrier Safety Inspection, that meets the definition of a designated vehicle, must pass an emissions inspection and display a unique emissions-test-only inspection certificate on the lower left-hand corner of the windshield, immediately above the registration certificate, prior to receiving a commercial vehicle inspection certificate. The commercial vehicle inspection must be performed within 15 calendar days of the issuance of the emissions-test-only inspection certificate. The inspector shall not remove the unique emissions-test-only certificate when the new commercial inspection certificate is issued.

d. College Students Away From Home.

(1) A vehicle, registered in an affected county, operated by a college student that was issued a safety-only inspection in a non-affected county, and upon return to the affected county who requests an emissions-only inspection.

(2) A vehicle, registered in a non-affected county or out of state, operated by a college student, where the public institution of higher learning is located in affected county and requires vehicles to be emissions tested as a condition to receive a permit to park or drive on the grounds of the institution.

e. Current Safety or Safety and Emissions Inspection. A vehicle with a valid inspection certificate, either safety only or safety and emissions, directed by DPS to undergo an emissions inspection (usually as a result of DPS on-road emissions testing).

3. Only the fee for the emissions test will be charged for emissions tests performed on the vehicles listed above.

Note: All unique emissions-test-only inspection certificates expire at the same time the safety-only inspection certificate expires or the last day of the month indicated on the back of the certificate and year indicated by the hole punch on the unique emissions test-only inspection certificate, or whichever occurs first.

   02.25.00 ASM2 Inspection Details

Order of inspection:

1. Conduct a preliminary examination of the vehicle to ensure that it can be tested on the ASM analyzer without hazard. Check the following items:

a. vehicle drive tires: both drive tires are approximately the same size (no space-saver spare), look for the presence of bulges, cord showing, or any other defects that could cause a safety hazard on the dynamometer; and

b. presence of leaks (fuel, substantial coolant, or oil).

Note: Do not proceed with either the safety or emissions inspection if the vehicle fails the preliminary examination.

2. If necessary, prepare the analyzer for testing.

a. Leak checks and gas cap calibrations are required every 24 hours. Leak checks may only be performed by capping the ends of the probe. If the analyzer fails the leak check or gas cap calibration test, no inspection may be performed until the problem is repaired.

b. Gas calibrations and dynamometer calibrations are required every 72 hours.

3. Scan the inspector ID card and enter the inspector pin number, then select the type of inspection to be performed.

4. Follow the screen prompts, answering questions and entering required data.

a. The inspector must enter all required information as accurately and correctly as reasonably possible. Incorrect information may cause inaccurate test results.

b. Any vehicle information displayed on the analyzer screen that is incorrect will be corrected by the inspector before continuing to the next screen.

5. Conduct a complete safety inspection, if required.

6. When prompted, the inspector should restrain the vehicle when operating it on the dynamometer.

a. Restrain front wheel drive vehicles with lateral wheel restraints, tie down straps, wheel chocks, and the park brake.

b. Restrain rear wheel drive vehicles with lateral wheel restraints, tie down straps, and wheel chocks.

7. When prompted by the analyzer, the inspector must place the engine cooling fan in front of the vehicle to aid in engine cooling.

8. If the vehicle has dual exhausts, then insert probes into both pipes.

9. The analyzer requires a RPM signal from the vehicle.

a. During testing, the minimum RPM for automatic transmissions is 100 RPM. The minimum RPM for standard transmissions is 1250 RPM. The maximum RPM for either is 3000 RPM.

b. If the length of the vehicle prevents the use of the analyzer tachometer lead when the exhaust probe is placed in the tail pipe, then a RPM bypass is approved. The authority to bypass any other RPM signals may only be granted by DPS.

10. Follow the screen prompts to conduct a complete emissions inspection using the ASM five-gas analyzer and dynamometer except under the following conditions:

a. Vehicle has All Wheel Drive, Full Time 4 Wheel Drive, Non-disengageable Traction Control, or

b. Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) greater than 8500 pounds.

c. Under both conditions, the dynamometer cannot be utilized. When this information is entered into the analyzer, it will automatically prompt the inspector to conduct a Two-Speed Idle (TSI) test.

The analyzer will prompt the inspector, step by step, through a Two-Speed Idle (TSI) test.

NOTE: Vehicles too large to fit into a standard inspection bay can be inspected outside the building, as close to the analyzer as possible, in an area approved by a department representative.

11. Gas Cap Testing. Every gasoline-powered vehicle from 2-24 model years old will be checked for presence of a gas cap and then tested by a department approved “gas cap testing device” to determine if the gas cap is defective. The following vehicles are exempt:

a. Antique vehicles.

b. Slow-moving vehicles.

c. Motorcycles.

d. Vehicles operated exclusively by a fuel other than gasoline.

e. Vehicles newer than two (2) years old and older than 24 years old.

A. Inspection Procedure.

a. Conduct daily calibration check of gas cap testing device.

b. Check for presence (all gas caps must be present).

c. Check for correct type of gas cap(s).

d. Remove gas cap(s) and test using an approved testing device. (Gas cap present but not testable will not be cause for rejection.)

e. Any gas cap(s) failing the initial test will be tested a second time to verify failure.

B. Inspect for and reject if:

a. Vehicle not equipped with required gas cap(s).

b. Vehicle not equipped with proper type gas cap(s).

c. Gas cap(s) fails both tests.

12. Emissions test results are automatically recorded as pass/fail.

13. If the vehicle passes the required inspections, then the analyzer will prompt the inspector to enter the certificate number.

a. Use an ASM certificate only for a Safety and Emissions inspection, except as otherwise directed by DPS.

b. Use the unique Emissions-Test-Only inspection certificate for an emissions-only inspection.

14. The inspector must give a copy of the test results to the motorist. The inspector conducting the test will sign the test results.

Texas Transportation Code, Section 548.053, states “If an inspection discloses the necessity for adjustment, correction, or repair, an inspection station or inspector may not issue an inspection certificate until the adjustment, correction, or repair is made.”

If a vehicle fails any item of inspection, the inspector shall enter the reason for rejection in the space provided on the rejection receipt (VI-7) by typing it in while the rejection receipt is displayed on the analyzer or by handwriting it in after the rejection receipt is printed by the analyzer. The inspector shall verbally explain the reason for the rejection and mark a large “X” on the back of the certificate currently displayed on the vehicle.

A vehicle presented for re-inspection within 15 days, not counting the day of inspection, will be inspected using the re-inspection menu only.

The inspector shall provide the motorist whose vehicle has failed with the following:

1. Rejection receipt,

2. Emissions test results (VIR) signed by the inspector conducting the test,

3. Vehicle Repair Form (VRF),

4. Brochure, “What to do if my vehicle fails the emissions test,” and

5. A list of Recognized Emissions Repair Facilities of Texas.

   02.30.00 Fees

An emissions inspection fee may be charged for those vehicles requiring the vehicle emissions inspection. This fee is in addition to any fee charged for conducting a Safety or Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations Inspection. Refer to Chapter 5 for current fees.

1. If the inspection is aborted due to one of the following reasons: loss of oil pressure, loss of coolant or overheating, fuel system leak, excessive engine noise, or other safety problem, i.e., a tire failure, and the appropriate reason is checked on the screen, then the entire inspection will be recorded as a failure and the station will be allowed to collect the entire inspection fee.

2. If the inspection is aborted due to one of the following reasons: no inspection required, analyzer problem, low flow rate, or other equipment failure, and the appropriate reason is checked on the screen, then the entire inspection will be recorded as an abort and the station will not be allowed to charge or collect any inspection fee.

   02.35.00 Reports

The station inspection log/report will be printed automatically each Monday morning by the analyzer, or may be printed at any time on demand.

NOTE: The inspection station is not required to mail the inspection log/report to DPS in Austin; however, the station is required to maintain a copy of the log/report for one year from the date of printing. Inspection stations performing “new car make ready” inspections resulting in the issuance of two-year inspection certificates will retain the forms including these inspections for a period of two years.

   02.40.00 Analyzer Lockouts

Notify the local Texas Department of Public Safety Vehicle Inspection Office for lockouts resulting from:

1. State lockout,

2. State disk drive tamper,

3. Texas Analyzer System (TAS) cabinet tamper, or

4. Exceeding maximum number of inspections without communication to VID contractor.

Notify Gordon-Darby for lockouts resulting from:

Failure to pay communication fees to VID contractor.

Notify the analyzer manufacturer for lockouts resulting from:

1. Gas calibration failure,

2. Hard drive failure,

3. Disk failure,

4. Gas analyzer failure,

5. Leak check failure,

6. Internal clock failure,

7. Warm up failure,

8. Gas cap calibration failure, or

9. Dynamometer calibration failure.

   02.45.00 Approved Equipment

The following is a list of currently approved ASM vendors (alphabetical listing).

1. ESP:

Model number 10400-57

2. Snap-On:

Sun model number EEEA110 (any letter designation may follow model number)

John Bean model number EEEA116 (any letter designation may follow model number)

3. Worldwide:

Model number EIS5000