Skip to main content

Vehicle Inspection


Motorist’s safety is a top priority in Texas; as a result, vehicles registered in Texas are required to pass an annual inspection to ensure compliance with safety standards. While safety inspections are required throughout the state, emissions testing is required of vehicles inspected in 17 Texas counties to comply with federally mandated clean air requirements. Vehicle inspections are performed at Official Vehicle Inspection Stations licensed by DPS.

Two Steps, One Sticker Law Enforcement Update

  • Motorists
  • Stations
  • Inspectors
  • RERF

Online Services

Use Vehicle Inspection Connection (VIC) to access important information about your inspection business, 24-hours a day, seven-days a week. You can use this site to submit applications and renewals, pay inspector application and renewal fees, view order history, print licenses, view station(s) and station personnel, add and remove buyers, view inspection reports and change password.

Online Services

Use Vehicle Inspection Connection (VIC) to access important information about your inspection business, 24-hours a day, seven-days a week. You can use this site to submit applications and renewals, view inspection reports and change password.

Recognized Emissions Repair Facilities

Online Services
You can use this site to submit emissions repair information, view inspection reports and change password.

Join the RERF Program
Find more information about equipment, facility and technician qualifications; the repair assistance program; and an overview of the application process.

Conduct RERF Activities
Find more information on how to conduct your business with online login instructions; facility and technician responsibilities; reporting repairs; and technician training.

Update your RERF Status
Find more information on how to update your facility profile and sending information to DPS.