Effective September 1, 2017 in order to comply with Senate Bill 1001 and Texas Transportation Code Section 548.052, the safety inspection requirements for trailers have been revised.
Trailers, semitrailers, pole trailers, or mobile homes having an actual gross weight or registered gross weight of 7,500 lbs. or less are exempt from inspection. All other vehicles are unaffected by this change.January 1, 2017
Beginning January 1, 2017 in order to comply with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 571.108, State Law and Texas Transportation Code Section 547.323, the inspection requirements for stop lamps on motor vehicles has been revised.
When conducting an Annual Safety Inspection, a visual inspection of the Center High Mounted Stop Lamp must be conducted on passenger vehicles, multipurpose passenger vehicles, trucks, and buses less than 80 inches wide with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds or less. These models must have working center high mounted stop lamps. The High Mounted Stop Lamp is a lamp mounted high and possibly forward of the tail, stop, and rear turn signal lamps intended to give a steady stop warning. Affected vehicle changes are listed below, all other vehicles remain unaffected.
Passenger cars manufactured
1986 – Newer: 3 stop lamps required*
Light trucks/SUVs under 80” wide, manufactured
1994 – Newer: 3 stop lamps required*
* If originally equipped by manufacturerMarch 28, 2016
New 90 Day Window for Registration Tool
Beginning March 1, 2016, the 90 day requirement will be enforced for all vehicle owners seeking inspection for registration purposes. In order to renew registration on time, the owner’s vehicle must pass inspection no earlier than 90 days before their registration expires.
If you would like to validate the inspection being performed is within the 90 day window for registration purposes, please visit Two Steps, One Sticker and click the "When do I inspect?" button on the right hand side of the page. This tool will be helpful in confirming the customer’s inspection will qualify for their upcoming registration.
You may also view/print the 2016/2017 calendar
Please Print And Give Copy To Manager/Owner
Thank you for your continued participation in the Texas inspection program.
Texas Department of Public Safety
As required by HB 2305, all commercial vehicles required to obtain a Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulation inspection are exempt from the 90-day sync-up requirement. In lieu of an administrative rule, this statement may be understood as DPS’ official position.September 1, 2015
Effective Sept. 1, 2015
HB 2115 adds commercial fleet buyers to the list for initial inspections valid for two years for vehicles purchased in Texas or out-of-state. Only vehicles purchased in state were previously eligible for the initial two-year inspection.
Effective Sept. 1, 2015
SB 807 amends the Occupations Code to require a state agency that issues an occupational license to waive the license application and examination fees paid to the state for an applicant who is a military service member or military veteran whose military service, training, or education substantially meets all of the requirements for the license or who is a military service member, military veteran, or military spouse who holds a current license issued by another jurisdiction that has licensing requirements that are substantially equivalent to the requirements for the license in Texas.
Effective Feb. 10, 2014
Attention: All official VI Stations and Certified Inspectors
Stant recently updated some of its Fuel Cap Tester Adapters. Please confirm your station has the current adapters. (Note: The part numbers and the color scheme are the same for the old adapters. The new adapters will have either a white or grey ring.) White ring designates the adapter has had one upgrade, grey ring designates two upgrades. Black ring is original with no upgrades. For more information, please contact Stant at (765) 825-3122.
New Updated Adapters
Other Adapters (these have not been updated)
Beginning Oct. 23, 2013, the Vehicle Inspector License Application is online. ALL inspector applications must be submitted using the online process. The application can be found at Vehicle Inspector Licensing.
Some of the major features of this new application are ...
Owner or Buyer
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) has opened online renewals for stations through DPS Direct. DPS continues to streamline our processes to improve your experience with the Vehicle Inspection program. The simplified process allows you to complete renewals in just a few quick steps. You can now provide both an email address and a website for your station(s). All renewals must be completed by Aug. 31, 2013.
Thank you for your attention to the renewal deadline.December 14, 2012
We are getting close to our scheduled launch date of Sept. 1, 2012, for DPS Direct – VIC (Vehicle Inspection Connection). VIC is a web-based system allowing inspectors to easily comply with Texas state law with improved flexibility and a condensed, streamlined checklist. To keep you informed, here are a few items and reminders:
Inspector Renewals (all stations)
Certificate Orders (all stations)
VIC Inspections (safety-only stations)
VIC Equipment (safety-only stations)
VIC Training (safety-only stations)
For additional VIC or Vehicle Inspection program information, please visit Regulatory Services Division and select the Vehicle Inspection option.June 26, 2012
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is continually working to update our technology and improve our vehicle inspection system. We will completely transition to our new system – DPS Direct, Vehicle Inspect Connection – as of Aug. 31, 2012. To ensure your inspection privileges transfer to the new system, renewals must be submitted by Aug. 15, 2012. The transition will require all inspector licenses to be processed before Aug. 31, 2012. There will be NO grace period. Inspectors who miss the deadline will need to reapply and go through the certification process.
Thank you for your prompt attention and payment. DPS will send additional communication and information about our new system – DPS Direct, Vehicle Inspect Connection – as we get closer to the launch.July 28, 2011
Inspection stickers with expiration dates in 2013 and later display only the last digit of the inspection year.
Senate Bill 197, signed into law on 06/17/2011, increases the license fees for stations and inspectors, and details penalties for certain inspection related offenses.
To read the entire bill, please visit Texas Legislature Online and search for SB 197.