Skip to main content


Public Safety Commission

The Public Safety Commission oversees the DPS. Its five members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the state senate for staggered, six-year terms.

A. Cynthia 'Cindy' Leon

A. Cynthia "Cindy" Leon, Chair
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, TX  78773-0110

A. Cynthia "Cindy" Leon of Mission is a retired Regional Director for the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. She is a life member of the Naval Reserve Association, Navy League, U.S. Naval Institute and the Reserve Officers Association. She is also a member of the International Women's Forum and Leadership Texas, and past chair of the Dallas-Fort Worth and San Antonio Federal Executive Boards. She served as a Captain in the U.S. Navy Reserve. Leon earned a bachelor's degree from Austin College and a master's degree in public administration from the University of Colorado at Boulder. She is also a graduate of the Federal Executive Institute in Charlottesville, VA. Leon is the current chair of the Public Safety Commission. Her term as a member expires on Jan. 1, 2016.

Manny Flores

Manny Flores
2500 Bee Caves Road
Austin, Texas 78746

Manny Flores of Austin was appointed by Texas Gov. Rick Perry to the Texas Public Safety Commission on December 19, 2013. Flores is the CEO of LatinWorks. He is an advisory board member of Helping Hand Home for Children and United Way of Greater Austin Community Board, and a volunteer for SafePlace. He is also past co-chair of the Greater Austin Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Celebrando Austin event, and a past member of the St. Michael's Academy Board of Trustees.

Flores received a bachelor's degree from the University of Texas at San Antonio. His term on the Public Safety Commission expires on December 31, 2017.

Steven Mach

Steven P. Mach
P.O. Box 130630
Houston, TX 77219-0630

Steven P. Mach of Houston was appointed by Texas Gov. Rick Perry to the Texas Public Safety Commission in November 2013. He is the vice president and CFO of Mach Industrial Group, LP. Commissioner Mach is a life member of the Houston Police Foundation, 100 Club of Houston, and Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. He has served as a trustee of Trinity University since 2007, and previously served as president of the Trinity University Alumni Association from 2001-03. Mach presently serves as President of the Houston Symphony Board of Trustees, and sits on the boards of the Good Samaritan Foundation of Texas, Men of Distinction of Greater Houston, Harris County Sheriff’s Office Foundation, Chi Delta Tau Foundation, and the Houston Business-Education Coalition.  He previously chaired the boards of Family Services of Greater Houston and the Houston Symphony Endowment, and he recently completed his service as a trustee for River Oaks Baptist School.  Mach received a bachelor’s degree from Trinity University.  His term on the Public Safety Commission expires December 31, 2019.

Randy Watson

Randy Watson
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, Texas 78773-0110

Randy Watson of Burleson is chairman and CEO of Justin Brands Inc., a division of Berkshire Hathaway. He is president of the Justin Cowboy Crisis Fund, executive committee member of the Texas Future Farmers of America Foundation and Fort Worth Stock Show, and former vice chair of the Texas Ranger Association Foundation. Watson is a member of the Texas Association of Manufacturers, Texas Association of Business, University of Houston Letterman's Association, and Fort Worth Stock Show Calf Scramble Committee. He is also past president of the Joshua Independent School District Board of Trustees, past board member of the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce and Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education, and a lifetime member of the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. He was appointed to the commission in December 2012, and his term expires Jan. 1, 2018.

Commission meetings are held at the call of the Chairman. All meetings are open to the public and announced in the Texas Register and the Open Meetings website. The public is invited to attend all meetings.

The Public Safety Commission will hold a public meeting at 10:00 a.m. CT on February 22, 2017, at the Texas Department of Public Safety Headquarters in Austin.

6100 Guadalupe Street
Austin, Texas 78752
Building E
Criminal Law Enforcement Auditorium

Minutes are posted after they have been approved by the Commission.

Liaison for the PSC (512) 424-7771