Skip to main content


Public Safety Commission

The Public Safety Commission oversees the DPS. Its five members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the state senate for staggered, six-year terms.

Steven Mach

Steven P. Mach, Chairman
P.O. Box 130630
Houston, TX 77219-0630

Steven P. Mach of Houston was reappointed to the Texas Public Safety Commission, and named Chairman by Texas Governor Greg Abbott on March 8, 2017. He has served as a member of the Commission since November 2013, when he was first appointed by former Governor Rick Perry. In his role as Chairman of the Public Safety Commission, he also serves as a statutory member of the Texas Racing Commission.  Chairman Mach is the vice president and CFO of Mach Industrial Group, LP. He is a life member of the Houston Police Foundation, 100 Club of Houston, and Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. He was recognized by Crime Stoppers of Houston in 2017 as the recipient of the Leiv Platou Award, which is given to a citizen who has made a significant contribution to public safety through volunteerism in the community.  Chairman Mach has served as a trustee of Trinity University since 2007, and previously served as president of the Trinity University Alumni Association from 2001 – 03. He is the immediate past president of the Houston Symphony Board of Trustees, and serves on the boards of the Foundation for Jones Hall, The Good Samaritan Foundation of Texas, Men of Distinction of Greater Houston, and the Harris County Sheriff’s Office Foundation. Chairman Mach previously chaired the boards of Family Services of Greater Houston, and the Houston Symphony Endowment.  He served as trustee for River Oaks Baptist School from 2010-16.  An Eagle Scout, he was recently elected to the Board of Directors of the Sam Houston Area Council of the Boy Scouts of America, and he also serves as an Assistant Scoutmaster for Troop 55 in Houston.  He received a bachelor’s degree from Trinity University.  Chairman Mach’s term on the Public Safety Commission expires January 1, 2022.

Manny Flores

Manny Flores
410 Baylor Street
Austin, TX 78703

Manny Flores of Austin was appointed by former Governor Rick Perry to the Texas Public Safety Commission on December 19, 2013. He is the Founder/CEO and Managing Partner of Austin-based LatinWorks, an award winning advertising agency specializing in cultural branding. Commissioner Flores is an advisory board member of Helping Hand Home for Children, the United Way of Greater Austin Community Board, and a volunteer for SafePlace. He previously served as co-chair of the Greater Austin Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Celebrando Austin event, and as a member of the St. Michael's Academy of Board of Trustees, and the Susan Combs – State Comptroller Advisory Board. Commissioner Flores received a bachelor's degree from the University of Texas at San Antonio. His term on the Public Safety Commission expires on December 31, 2017.

A. Cynthia 'Cindy' Leon

A. Cynthia "Cindy" Leon
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, TX  78773-0110

A. Cynthia Leon of Mission was appointed by former Governor Rick Perry to the Texas Public Safety Commission in January 2011; served as the chairman from April 2012 to March 2017; and was reappointed as a member of the commission by Governor Greg Abbott on March 8, 2017. In April of 2017, the Public Safety Commission unanimously conferred upon her the honorary title of Chairman Emeritus in recognition of her outstanding service to the Department and the Commission. Commissioner Leon is a retired regional director for the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. She served 25 years in the U.S. Navy Reserves and retired as a captain. Commissioner Leon is a life member of the Naval Reserve Association, Navy League, U.S. Naval Institute and the Reserve Officers Association. She is also a member of the International Women’s Forum and Leadership Texas, and past chair of the Dallas-Fort Worth and San Antonio Federal Executive Boards.

Leon received her bachelor’s degree from Austin College and a master’s degree in public administration from the University of Colorado at Boulder. She is a former member of the Senior Executive Service and a graduate of the Federal Executive Institute of Charlottesville, VA. Her term on the Public Safety Commission expires January 1, 2020.

Jason Pulliam

Jason K. Pulliam
P.O. Box 460564
San Antonio, Texas 78246

Jason Pulliam of San Antonio is counsel for Prichard Young and previously served as a justice on the Fourth Court of Appeals, and as judge of Bexar County, County Court of Law No. 5. He proudly served in the U.S. Military and was honorably discharged from the U.S. Marine Corps in 2004. Commissioner Pulliam is a member of the State Bar of Texas and the San Antonio Downtown Rotary. He is a former member of the San Antonio Young Lawyers Association, San Antonio Bar Association, and the Defense Counsel of San Antonio. Commissioner Pulliam received a Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts from Brooklyn College, and a Juris Doctor from the Thurgood Marshall School of Law at Texas Southern University. His term on the Public Safety Commission expires January 1, 2022.

Randy Watson

Randy Watson
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, Texas 78773-0110

Randy Watson of Burleson was appointed by former Governor Rick Perry to the Texas Public Safety Commission in December of 2012. He is the former chairman and CEO of Justin Brands Inc., a division of Berkshire Hathaway. Commissioner Watson is a member of the Texas Association of Manufacturers, Texas Association of Business, University of Houston Letterman's Association, Fort Worth Stock Show Calf Scramble Committee, and recipient of the 2013 Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year and 2015 Boy Scouts Distinguished Citizen Award. He is also past president of the Joshua Independent School District Board of Trustees; past board member of the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce and Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education; past executive committee member of the Texas Future Farmers Association; and a lifetime member of the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. Commissioner Watson's term on the Public Safety Commission expires January 1, 2018.

Commission meetings are held at the call of the Chairman. All meetings are open to the public and announced in the Texas Register and the Open Meetings website. The public is invited to attend all meetings.

The Public Safety Commission will hold a public meeting at 10:00 a.m. CT on December 21, 2017, at the Texas Department of Public Safety Headquarters in Austin.

6100 Guadalupe Street
Austin, Texas 78752
Building E
Criminal Law Enforcement Auditorium

Minutes are posted after they have been approved by the Commission.

Liaison for the PSC (512) 424-7771