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Driver License changes

Previously, only 15 year olds were required to pass a road test in addition to taking a BRC. The new
law requires persons age 15-17 to pass a road test in addition to taking a BRC. Persons 15-17 with an
out of state motorcycle license must also be road tested when applying for a Texas License. Persons
18 years and older are eligible to waive the road test as long as they have completed a BRC and have a
current class A, B or C unrestricted license.

CPR and First Aid requirements

Records indicate 50% of Texas RiderCoaches are eligible for recertification. The CPR and First Aid
training requirement has been extended 90 days. Proof of CPR and First Aid training must be received
by the Department no later than 4:00 PM on November 10, 2010. Any RiderCoach that has not
submitted proof of training by the deadline automatically becomes suspended and unable to serve as
a RiderCoach in Texas. A late submittal beyond the extended deadline will cause an extended
suspension period of up to 60 days from the date the Department receives proof of training, please
get this done now.

Driver and Criminal Records

The Department continues to conduct driver and criminal record checks on RiderCoaches and
Sponsors as required by law. Note your responsibility in the Texas Rules of Professional Conduct in
notifying the Department of any changes to either Driver or Criminal records. An approved
RiderCoach, Sponsor or Licensee shall submit in writing to the Department’s MSU general mailbox any
Arrest or Citation within seven calendar days of occurrence and again at time of final Court
Disposition. The Department may only consider final dispositions.
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We are in the process of updating the Student Admission Requirements in our Administrative Guide
(AG) to reflect the legislative changes that affect the licensing process for those individuals 18 to 24
years old. An email will be sent when the AG has been updated and posted to the password-protected
section of our website. Items 1, 2 and 3 of the Student Admission Requirements have changed.

§31.4 Student Admission Requirements.
1) Basic motorcycle operator training courses are open to any person who is:
a. atleast 15 years old on the day the course begins.

2) A person who is 15 years old but is less than 25 years old may not enroll into a basic motorcycle operator
training course unless he or she has a Class C learner license (permit) or an unrestricted Class C, or higher,
driver license.

3) A person 25 years old or older may not enroll into a basic motorcycle operator training course unless he or
she has identification documentation to confirm his or her identity.

4) The advanced motorcycle operator training course is restricted to individuals with a current motorcycle
(Class M) driver's license. Each student must provide his or her own motorcycle that meets the requirements
of §31.7 of this title (relating to Motorcycle Requirements).

Because students often register without the full knowledge of the licensing requirements and process,
RiderCoaches should include the changes to the 18-24 year olds in Unit V Wrap-Up. Students can
contact their local Driver License office for more information.
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Please review the last paragraph for clarification.

We are in the process of updating the Student Admission Requirements in our Administrative Guide
(AG) to reflect the legislative changes that affect the licensing process for those individuals 18 to 24
years old. An email will be sent when the AG has been updated and posted to the password-protected
section of our website. Items 1, 2 and 3 of the Student Admission Requirements have changed.

§31.4 Student Admission Requirements.
5) Basic motorcycle operator training courses are open to any person who is:
a. atleast 15 years old on the day the course begins.

6) A person who is 15 years old but is less than 25 years old may not enroll into a basic motorcycle operator
training course unless he or she has a Class C learner license (permit) or an unrestricted Class C, or higher,
driver license.

7) A person 25 years old or older may not enroll into a basic motorcycle operator training course unless he or
she has identification documentation to confirm his or her identity.

8) The advanced motorcycle operator training course is restricted to individuals with a current motorcycle
(Class M) driver's license. Each student must provide his or her own motorcycle that meets the requirements
of §31.7 of this title (relating to Motorcycle Requirements).

Sponsors must assure student admission requirements are met prior to class, RiderCoaches should
include information on the new licensing requirements (ages 18-25) again during Unit V (wrap-up).




