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May 3, 2012                                                     NEWS RELEASE 

 

DPS Announces New Residency Requirements 

For Driver Licenses, Identification Cards 
Requirements take effect May 7, 2012 

 

AUSTIN - The Texas Department of Public Safety today announced the implementation of new 

proof of residency requirements to obtain Texas driver licenses or identification cards effective 

May 7, 2012. The requirements, which only apply to first-time driver license and identification 

card applicants, are the result of legislation approved by the Texas Legislature.  

 

In addition to the standard requirements necessary to obtain a license or identification card 

(http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/identificationrequirements.htm), all new applicants 

will also be required to present two acceptable documents containing the applicant’s name and 

address to establish proof of residency in the state of Texas. 

 

To meet the residency requirement for an original identification card or driver license, an 

applicant must: 

 Reside in Texas for at least 30 days prior to application 

 Present two acceptable documents establishing proof of residency, one of which must 

demonstrate the applicant has lived in Texas at least 30 days 

 

The 30-day requirement is waived for applicants who surrender a valid, unexpired out-of-state 

driver license, but two documents establishing proof of residency are still required.  

 

For a complete list of acceptable residency documents and additional details, please visit 

http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/residencyReqNonCDL.htm. 
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