
 
 

May 24, 2011 

DPS announces details of DRP Indigency Program 
 
The Texas Department of Public Safety is now offering an Indigency Program for surcharges 
owed under the Driver Responsibility Program. The Texas Legislature authorized an Indigency 
program to provide low-income drivers the ability to pay surcharges, bringing them into 
compliance with the surcharge law and allowing them to become licensed and insured drivers. 
 
The Indigency Program applies only to individuals living at or below 125% of the federal 
poverty guidelines as defined by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (see chart 
below). The Indigency Program reduction does not apply to any other fees besides surcharges 
that a driver may owe DPS. 
 

125% of the 2011 HHS Poverty Guidelines  

 
 
 

Persons in Family 

  
  
  

48 Contiguous States and D.C.  

1 $   13,612.50  
 2 $   18,387.50  
 3 $   23,162.50  
 4 $   27,937.50  
 5 $   32,712.50  
 6 $   37,487.50  
 7 $   42,262.50  
 8 $   47,037.50  
 For each additional person, 

add $     4,775.00   
 
Those qualifying for the Indigency Program will pay 10 percent of the original amount owed for 
all surcharges combined, for a maximum amount of $250. (Service fees will still apply.) Any 
payments already made will be applied to the reduced amount. If prior payments are more than 
the reduced amount owed, no payment will be required. There will be no refunds for payments 
that exceed the indigency maximum. 
 



To request a reduction, drivers must complete the application in full, and the application must be 
notarized. The completed, notarized application should be mailed to the Municipal Services 
Bureau (PO Box 16733, Austin, Texas 78761-6733) for processing. 
 
The Indigency Program application is available online by visiting www.txsurchargeonline.com 
or calling the toll-free number 1-800-688-6882 and selecting option 7. Easy-to-read instructions 
are also included with the application. Note: the online application requires ‘Adobe Reader’ to 
open the document, which can be downloaded at www.adobe.com. 
 
Once the application is approved, any surcharge suspensions will be cleared on the applicant’s 
driving record within three business days. Applicants will be mailed a notice with the reduced 
amount to pay and the due date. Payment of the reduced amount and other fees that are owed 
must be received within 180 days from the date of the notice. If payment of the reduced amount 
is not received by the due date, the suspension of driving privileges will be reinstated. However, 
the reduced amount will still apply until it is paid in full. 
 
The Driver Responsibility Program, which assesses fees for a variety of driving-related offenses, 
was passed by the Legislature in 2003 and directed the Department to administer the program. 
Traffic offenses that carry an automatic surcharge for three years include DWI-related offenses, 
driving with no insurance, driving while license suspended, driving without a license and 
accumulating too many points because of tickets. (For example, the fee for a first-time DWI 
offender is $1,000 per year for three years.) The revenue generated by DRP goes to trauma 
centers, emergency medical services and the General Revenue Fund.  
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