Skip to main content

News Release

April 26, 2018

DPS Honors Lifesaving Efforts

AUSTIN - The Texas Public Safety Commission (PSC) and Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) Director Steven McCraw presented one Director’s Citation,three Lifesaving Awards, and 11 Director’s Awards at an award ceremony today in Austin. Additionally, two Troopers (one male and one female) were officially honored as the 2018 DPS Top Troopers.

“The DPS personnel and other public servants honored today personify the department’s efforts to save lives and protect the public,” said Director McCraw. “Texans can be proud that these award recipients are committed each and every day to protecting and serving this great state, and we are better off because of their selfless dedication.”

Trooper Ilusion Reyes, Texas Highway Patrol–El Paso and Trooper Aaron Jones, Texas Highway Patrol–New Boston, each received the Javier Arana Jr. Top Trooper Award given every year to the top female and top male competitor. The 7th annual competition was held at the Tactical Training Center in Florence, Texas, on Feb. 28 and March 1, 2018, and 31 Troopers from across the state showcased their driving and firearms skills; physical conditioning and endurance; and job knowledge. The Top Trooper competition was established in 2012 and the award was named in honor of Trooper Javier Arana Jr., who was killed in the line of duty earlier that year. Trooper Arana’s family helped present the awards at the PSC meeting.

“We are thankful to Cindy Arana for allowing us to continue her husband’s legacy here at the Department of Public Safety through this award program,” said Director McCraw. “And we are proud of this year’s Top Troopers as well as all who competed for this prestigious award.”

The following awards also were presented today:

### (HQ 2018-033)