Skip to main content

    Visit the TEXAS HURRICANE CENTER webpage for
    Hurricane Harvey-related information and resources

Texas Emergency Management ONLINE 2017 Vol. 64 No. 4

10th Annual EMAT Symposium

The Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) recently participated in the 2017 Emergency Management Association of Texas (EMAT) Symposium. The symposium was held at the Embassy Suites Hotel and Conference Center in San Marcos from March 5 – 8.

TDEM personnel represented the division in the exhibit hall while rotating working shifts at the TDEM booth. Each person played a critical role by talking with and answering questions from statewide conference attendees about the emergency management cycle, TDEM's role in the state, organizational structure, and services available to local jurisdictions. Many attendees walked away with valuable reference materials and a reminder to join TDEM to learn more about emergency management at the 2017 Texas Emergency Management Conference in San Antonio from May 16 – 19.

Attendees had the valuable opportunity to attend specific emergency management workshops that are unique to the symposium. TDEM presenters for the emergency management track included:

Christa Lopez: Human Services, TDEM
Recovery From Disaster: The Local Government Role

Quenya Evans: Public Works Response
Team Coordinator, TDEM
The Public Works Response Team

The list of individuals and organizations below were recognized for their achievements, hard work and exceptional efforts to further the field of emergency management and to ensure a whole community approach to preventing, protecting, mitigating against, responding to and recovering from disasters. The 2017 EMAT award winners are:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    Nathan "Kyle" Coleman
    Emergency Management Coordinator
    Bexar County Office of Emergency Management
  • "Lou Harrell" Emergency Manager of the Year Award
    Colin Rizzo
    Port of Houston Authority
  • Community Service Award: DPS Region 1
    Mistie Gardner
    North Central Texas Public Works Emergency Response Team
  • Community Service Award: DPS Region 6
    Mark Chadwick
    Bexar County Office of Emergency Management
  • Excellence in Emergency Management Award: DPS Region 2
    Homeland Preparedness Project
    Brazoria County Office of Emergency Management
  • Excellence in Emergency Management Award: DPS Region 6
    Epsilon Pi Phi Honor Society
  • Emergency Management Technology & Innovation Award
    Harris County Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Management Intelligence Task Force
  • President's Award
    Karen Adkins
    Emergency Management Coordinator
    City of McKinney

Symposium attendees were also introduced to the new EMAT president of the board of directors, Kevin Starbuck, and other newly elected board members.

The 2018 EMAT Symposium will be held at the Embassy Suites and Conference Center in San Marcos, from March 4 – 7, 2018.

Share |