Natural Disaster Areas

USDA Designates 40 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas with Assistance to Farmers and Ranchers in Adjacent States

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 40 counties in Texas as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by drought, excessive heat, high winds and wildfires that occurred during the period of Jan. 1, 2011, and continuing. Additional adjacent counties listed below also qualify for disaster assistance. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures. Additional information is also available online at

40 Texas counties designated primary natural disaster areas:
Bexar Gaines Maverick Uvalde
Borden Grayson Montague Van Zandt
Carson Henderson Navarro Ward
Crane Hill Nueces Wharton
Dallas Hunt Real Williamson
Dawson Kaufman Red River Wilson
Dimmit Kinney Rockwall Winkler
Ector LLano Runnels Wise
Falls Mason Tarrant Yoakum
Fannin Matagorda Terry Zavala
Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Texas also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.
Anderson Concho Jim Wells Morris
Andrews Cooke Johnson Nolan
Aransas Crockett Karnes Parker
Armstrong Delta Kendall Pecos
Atascosa Denton Kerr Potter
Austin Donley Kimble Rains
Bandera Edwards Kleberg Randall
Bastrop Ellis Lamar Reeves
Bell Fort Bend La Salle Roberts
Blanco Franklin Lee Robertson
Bosque Freestone Limestone San Patricio
Bowie Frio Loving San Saba
Brazoria Garza Lubbock Scurry
Burnet Gillespie Lynn Smith
Calhoun Gonzales McCulloch Taylor
Cherokee Gray McLennan Titus
Clay Guadalupe Martin Tom Green
Cochran Hockley Medina Travis
Coke Hopkins Menard Upton
Coleman Howard Midland Val Verde
Collin Hutchinson Milam Webb
Colorado Jack Mitchell Wood
Comal Jackson Moore