Radiological Emergency Preparedness (REP) Program

Texas is currently home to two commercial nuclear power plants and two research reactors. TDEM’s Technological Hazards Unit works closely with each power plant licensee, the local jurisdictions and county emergency management officials near each respective facility, the Texas Department of State Health Service’s (DSHS) Radiation Control Program, FEMA Region VI’s REP Program, and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission Region IV to ensure the health and safety of citizens living around commercial nuclear power plants will be adequately protected in the event of an accident at the nuclear power plant. Additionally, TDEM partners with the other REP agencies to inform and educate the public about radiological emergency preparedness.

Useful links