Skip to main content


Disaster District 1: Amarillo

Joseph Minshew

District Coordinator:
Joseph Minshew

Physical/Mailing Address:
4200 Canyon Drive
Amarillo, TX 79109

Phone: (806) 468-1414
Fax: (806) 468-1443

Armstrong, Briscoe, Carson,
Castro, Childress, Collingsworth,
Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley,
Gray, Hall, Hansford,
Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson,
Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree,
Oldham, Parmer, Potter,
Randall, Roberts, Sherman,
Swisher, Wheeler

State Senators:
Sen. Kel Seliger
Sen. Charles Perry

State Representatives:
Rep. John Smithee
Rep. Four Price
Rep. Ken King
Rep. Drew Springer

US Senators:
Sen. John Cornyn
Sen. Ted Cruz

US Representatives:
Rep. Mac Thornberry
Rep. Randy Neugebauer

District Profile

The Amarillo district supports the people of the Panhandle with emergency preparedness and response activities. The Panhandle of Texas faces a variety of hazards and threats including winter weather, tornadoes, and drought.


Fast Facts:

Population (est. 2014) 436,597
Area (Sq. Miles) 25,753.14
Coastal Miles N/A
Federally Declared Disasters (2015) DR-4223 (three counties)
DR-4255 (five counties)

Upcoming Projects and Events:

No upcoming projects and events at this time, but keep checking for updates!

Upcoming Local Training Opportunities:

No upcoming trainings at this time, but keep checking for updates!