twoStepChanges

What remains the same for your inspection station:

Single Sticker Safety Station Letter (PDF)
Single Sticker Emissions Stations Letter (PDF)

 

 

Station Fee Changes

Motorist Changes

Inspection Type

Counties

Inspection Fee collected prior to March 1, 2015

Inspection Fee collected beginning
March 1, 2015

State Fee collected at vehicle registration beginning
March 1, 2015

One Year Safety

All counties except those listed below and vehicles 25 years and older

$14.50

$7.00

$7.50

Safety only (vehicles 25+ years

Statewide

$14.50

$7.00

$7.50

Two Year Safety (new vehicles)

Statewide

$23.75

$7.00

$16.75

Commercial

Statewide

$62.00

$40.00

$22.00

Trailer / Motorcycle

Statewide

$14.50

$7.00

$7.50

Safety Emission (TSI/OBD)

El Paso

$26.75

$18.50

$8.25

Safety Emission (TSI/OBD)

Travis and Williamson

$28.75

$18.50

$10.25

Emission (ASM) for vehicles 1995 and older

Brazoria,
Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Colin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant

$39.75

$31.50

$8.25

Emission (TSI/OBD) for vehicles 1996 and newer

Brazoria,
Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Colin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant

$39.75

$25.50

$14.25

Emissions Test Only

El Paso

$14.25

$11.50

$2.75

Emissions Test Only

Travis And Williamson

$16.25

$11.50

$4.75

Emissions Test Only (ASM)

Brazoria,
Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Colin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant

$24.25

$24.50

$8.75

Emissions Test Only (OBD)

Brazoria,
Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Colin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant

$27.25

$24.50

$2.75


What changes in performing an inspection?
DPS has worked with Texas Online to ensure an accurate, timely data transfer. Additionally, with transitioning to a single sticker, some overhead has been eliminated.

See how these enhancements affect what you will see when conducting inspections after March 1, 2015:

Additional details to record during inspection

Inspection Station in Non-Emissions Counties

Inspection Stationin Emissions Counties

County of Registration

X

Historically collected

Fuel Type
    -CNG as a fuel type

X
X

Historically collected
X

Warnings to inspectors when vehicle is subject to an emissions inspection

X

 

Record affidavit details during the inspection

X

 

Added inspection cancelation reasons

X

 

Changes to the VIR

Inspection fee breakouts (state and inspection fee)

X

X

FMCSR commercial language update on VIR

X

X

Inspection expiration date printed on VIR

X

X

Changes to inspection process

Stop recording certificate numbers

X

X

Print and Sign VIR

See updated approved printer list

X

X

Historically performed

Printer selections provided by each analyzer manufacturer

Functions Being Removed

Eliminating VI-30 (3/1/2015)

X

X

Eliminating VI-70 (3/1/2015)

X

-

 

Information for your customers
You’ll find the latest details about “Two Steps, One Sticker” and how it impacts your inspection customers.  On "Two Steps, One Sticker", you’ll find specific information and downloadable materials:

About House Bill 2305
The 83rd Texas Legislature passed HB 2305, which replaces the current dual certificate system for inspection and registration with one certificate, the registration decal. This one decal will signify the vehicle has passed the required inspection and is currently registered in Texas.

HB 2305 establishes a registration-based enforcement system for enforcing for motor vehicle inspection requirements. Before a vehicle may be registered or its registration renewed, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or a county assessor-collector must verify the vehicle passed the required inspection, as indicated in the DPS Vehicle Inspection database. If the database information is not available, the vehicle owner may present a passing Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) issued for the vehicle. The vehicle must be inspected within 90 days of the registration expiration date, or 180 days for a used vehicle sold by a dealer.

The bill requires DMV or the county tax assessor-collector to collect the state portion of the inspection fee at the time of registration and registration renewal. This amount is the fee the inspection station currently pays for an inspection certificate. When certificates are retired, that amount will be collected by DMV or the county tax assessor - collector during registration/renewal. Inspection stations will continue to collect the inspection fee – less the state portion of the fee – at the time of inspection. See the attached chart for detailed information.

HB 2305 also creates the requirement for a vehicle fueled by Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) to have the expiration date of the cylinder verified as a prerequisite to inspection. The procedure for this requirement will be provided to the stations in a separate communications and by the DPS Field Auditor.