DPS registers and oversees all metals recycling entities (MREs) in Texas. MREs are required to collect certain identifying information from sellers of regulated materials to assist law enforcement with monitoring those who are buying and selling regulated materials.
DPS TO IMPLEMENT SENATE BILL 208 – 85TH LEGISLATIVE SESSION
Effective September 1, 2017, MREs will be required to report the possession of an explosive device, whether knowingly purchased or otherwise obtained by the entity, no later than the close of business on the first working day after the explosive device is discovered. Violation of this requirement is a Class A misdemeanor.
Senate Bill 208 also expands the violations for which the Department may impose administrative penalties. A proposed penalty schedule, along with other rule amendments, will be presented to the Public Safety Commission at its August 24th meeting. If approved, the proposals will be published in the Texas Register for public comment.
DPS is working with the metals recycling industry, the law enforcement community, and the Texas Metals Advisory Committee to update administrative rules and guidelines for reporting possession of explosive devices.
DPS is also in the process of developing guidelines for the renewal of Cash Transaction Cards. This process is expected to be completed within two to four weeks, at which time the guidelines will be published on the Metals Recycling Program website.
Additional information will be forthcoming as soon as available. This information will be sent via email, and will also be posted to the Metals Recycling Program website once available.
DPS has prepared Battery Reporting Guidelines to assist MREs in identifying batteries for reporting purposes so a reasonable attempt can be made to properly select items from the transaction entry drop-down buttons.
The Public Safety Commission (PSC) adopted the Texas Metals Program Administrative Rules at its Dec. 17, 2015, meeting. The administrative rules became effective Jan. 10, 2016. These administrative rules reflect the approach taken by DPS, with the advice of the Texas Metals Advisory Committee, on various topics.
Use of Alternate Forms: RSD-6 and RSD-44
There are two ways to submit alternate forms of Metals Recycling Transaction Statement of Ownership (RSD-6) and Application for Cash Transaction Card (RSD-44):
Stop Theft of Regulated Metals (STORM)
DPS has created a new portal for reporting metals theft and fraud. Visit Stop Theft of Regulated Metals (STORM) and complete the online form. Please be specific and include any and all descriptive information, such as time, date, place and any details regarding the metals theft or metals fraud, and upload any photos you would like to provide.
An email will be sent to each MRE approximately 45 days before certificate expiration. Please check your Junk or Spam Email folder, if you have not seen this email in your inbox. Please direct your Metals Recycling questions to Contact Us, select Metals and complete the form.
Texas Online Metals (TOM) is an online tool to assist law enforcement with metals thefts in Texas. These tools are available 24-hours a day, seven-days a week, to all law enforcement personnel in municipalities, counties and state agencies. For more information on how to get started, please see Texas Online Metals Fact Sheet for Law Enforcement (PDF) or visit Law Enforcement Links.