News and Updates

November 2018
Please be advised that effective November 1, 2018, the Texas Department of Public Safety, Regulatory Services Division, has begun conducting inspections prior to renewal of Precursor Chemical/Laboratory Apparatus (PCLA) permits.

These additional inspections will be performed in the same manner as those conducted prior to issuance of an initial permit, to ensure permit holders' continued compliance with applicable statutes and rules. Inspections are authorized under Texas Health and Safety Code Sections 481.077, 481.080, and 481.181, and Department Rule ยง13.19 (37, TAC 1, Chap. 13). Consent to inspection is required in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code Sections 481.078(e) and 481.081(e).

In addition, in order to ensure information is effectively shared between the Department and PCLA permit holders, please ensure a current email address is maintained on file with the Department.  The Department would recommend the use of a business email address rather than a personal email address, as these may be subject to public information requests.

If you have any questions, please visit Contact Us or call (512) 424-7293.

February 2016
Senate Bill 1666 (84th Texas Legislature), which amends Texas Health & Safety Code §481.080, becomes effective Sept. 1, 2016.
… adding Subsection (d-1) to read as follows:

(d-1)  This section does not apply to a chemical manufacturer engaged in commercial research and development:

  1. whose primary business is the manufacture, use, storage, or transportation of hazardous, combustible, or explosive materials;
  2. that operates a secure, restricted location that contains a physical plant not open to the public, the ingress into which is constantly monitored by security personnel; and
  3. that holds:
    1. a Voluntary Protection Program Certification under Section (2)(b)(1), Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (29 U.S.C. Section 651 et seq.); or
    2. a Facility Operations Area authorization under the Texas Risk Reduction Program (30 T.A.C. Chapter 350).

The Combat Methamphetamine Epidemic Act of 2005
Purchasing Over-the-Counter ephedrine, pseudoephedrine or norpseudoephedrine products requires non-prescription products containing pseudoephedrine, ephedrine, norseudoephedrine or phenylpanolamine, to be kept behind counters or locked cabinets in retail stores. The Act requires consumers to show ID and sign a logbook to purchase the product. To purchase, a person must be at least 16 years old. No more than 3.6 grams can be purchased in one calendar day and no more than nine grams within any 30-day period. A record of the sale is made and recorded in a central database. Please reference Texas Health and Safety Code 486.014. Prerequisites to and Restrictions on Sale.

Iodine is a List II Chemical with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and is regulated. DPS does not currently regulate Iodine. To contact DEA:

Articles