Pursuant to state law and administrative rule: A license holder's business shall be operated under the direction and control of one manager. If a manager lacks the experience to qualify for each category of service included in a license or application, the license holder must designate a supervisor who is responsible for each service for which the manager is not qualified. The board shall require each qualified manager and supervisor of a category to pass the manager examination administered by the department.
The manager's exam is designed to ensure each manager and supervisor has a working knowledge of rules and regulations governing the private security profession in Texas:
The open-book exam covers the statute and rules, regardless of the category of company for which the manager is applying. The exam is a timed, two-hour test, consisting of 100 true / false and multiple-choice questions. A score of 70 percent or greater is required to pass the exam.
Exams are scheduled for managers and supervisors after applications and fees have been received, and it is determined the applicant meets the experience requirements for that position. Qualified examinees will be scheduled to test at the location nearest their home address. Exam locations include Irving, Houston, Weslaco, El Paso, Lubbock and Austin. Applicants will receive an invite via the email address on file. If the applicant is unable to attend the scheduled exam, please contact us to reschedule.
Scheduled applicants must bring to the exam:
Exam results are sent to the applicants email address on file. If the score is below passing, a re-exam date will be included in the notice. A re-exam requires a $100 fee, and applicants are allowed to re-test as often as the exam schedule allows within their 90-day application window.
Note: Texas has no reciprocal agreements with any other states for acceptance of private security licenses. Experience legally obtained in another state may meet the experience requirements for the manager/supervisor positions.
Investigator experience must meet one of the following qualifications: three (3) consecutive years of investigation-related experience; a bachelor's degree in criminal justice; a bachelor's degree, with an additional six months of investigation-related experience; an associate degree in criminal justice or related course of study, with an additional twelve months of investigation-related experience; or a specialized course of study directly designed for and related to the private investigations profession, taught and presented through affiliation with a four-year college or university accredited and recognized by the State of Texas. This course of study must be endorsed by the four-year college or university's department of criminal justice program and include a departmental faculty member(s) on its instructional faculty. This course of study must consist of a minimum of two hundred face-to-face classroom hours including coverage of ethics, Private Security Board administrative rules, the Private Security Act, and related statutes. Other combinations of education and investigation-related experience may be substituted for the above at the discretion of the Program manager. The bachelor's degrees, associate degrees and specialized courses referenced in section (a) of this rule must be affiliated with a college or university recognized by the Texas Higher Education Coordination Board, Southern Association of Schools and Colleges or other accreditation organization recognized by the State of Texas.
Experience for any Class B (except Guard Company), Security Services Contractor license must have before the date of application, two (2) consecutive years of verifiable work experience performed on a full-time basis in each category of license for which you are applying.
All applicants for registration as manager of a guard company must be at least 21 years of age at the time of application. All such applicants must have at least three (3) years accumulated employment experience in the field in which the applicant's prospective employer is licensed, including at least one (1) year of experience in a managerial or supervisory position.
Two consecutive years of full-time locksmith-related experience; or Successful completion of a Department-approved 48-hour basic locksmith course and a 600-hour fundamentals of locksmith course, with the following curriculum content:
Successful passage of a basic locksmith proficiency exam that covers a minimum of 12 locksmith subjects and is approved by the Department; and
Successful completion of a 2000-hour internship with a locksmith company, licensed in continuous good standing in the state of Texas.
Other combinations of education and locksmith-related experience may be substituted for the above at the discretion of the Department.