
APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO CARRY A HANDGUN (LTC) 

Application for a LTC may be submitted online at:  https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/chl/login.do  
Prosecutors, active or retired Texas Police Officers applicants would select yes when asked the question 
below in the online process. 

Are you: 

• An Active or Retired Judicial Officer (GC §411.201)  
• Retired Federal Officer (GC §411.201) 
• An Active Texas Prosecutor (GC §411.201)  
• An Active Texas Peace Officer (GC §411.1991) 
• A correctional officer currently employed by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice (GC 

§411.1952)  
•  An Honorably Retired Texas Peace Officer (GC §411.199)(GC §411.1992) 

Yes       No 

Applicant will be offered several choices.  The applicant will make the appropriate selection.  Current 
serving district and county prosecutors are exempt from the classroom portion of the LTC course. 

Active Judicial Officer  $25 

• Electronic fingerprints submitted using FAST (for more information regarding fingerprint services 
visit the Regulatory Services Division website at: http://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/CHL/index.htm) 

• CHL-6 is required if applicant does not hold a Texas DL or ID Card. Out of State applicants must 
submit a copy of their state DL or ID Card   

• NOTE for Texas DL/ID holders: The Texas DL or ID photo on file with the Department will be used 
for the LTC  

• CHL-100 Certificate of Training Form (received from LTC instructor upon course completion); OR 
Statement from TCOLE certified instructor indicating applicant demonstrated proficiency within the 
year of application. (GC§411.1882) 

• A statement from the employing agency is preferred but not required 

Retired Judicial Officer  $25 

• Electronic fingerprints submitted using FAST (for more information regarding fingerprint services 
visit the Regulatory Services Division website at: http://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/CHL/index.htm) 

• CHL-6 is required if applicant does not hold a Texas DL or ID Card. Out of State applicants must 
submit a copy of their state DL or ID Card   

• NOTE for Texas DL/ID holders: The Texas DL or ID photo on file with the Department will be used 
for the LTC  

• CHL-100 Certificate of Training Form (received from LTC instructor upon course completion) 
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Retired Federal Officer $25 

• Electronic fingerprints submitted using FAST (for more information regarding fingerprint services 
visit the Regulatory Services Division website at: http://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/CHL/index.htm) 

• NOTE for Texas DL/ID holders: The Texas DL or ID photo on file with the Department will be used 
for the LTC  

• CHL-100 Certificate of Training Form (received from LTC instructor upon course completion) 

Felony Prosecutor $0  

• Electronic fingerprints submitted using FAST (for more information regarding fingerprint services 
visit the Regulatory Services Division website at: http://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/CHL/index.htm)   

• CHL-6 is required if applicant does not hold a Texas DL or ID Card. Out of State applicants must 
submit a copy of their state DL or ID Card  

• NOTE for Texas DL/ID holders: The Texas DL or ID photo on file with the Department will be used 
for the LTC  

• CHL-100 Certificate of Training Form (received from LTC instructor upon course completion); OR 
Statement from TCOLE certified instructor indicating applicant demonstrated proficiency 
(GC§411.1882)  

Other Prosecutor $140  

• Electronic fingerprints submitted using FAST (for more information regarding fingerprint services 
visit the Regulatory Services Division website at: http://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/CHL/index.htm)  

• CHL-6 is required if applicant does not hold a Texas DL or ID Card. Out of State applicants must 
submit a copy of their state DL or ID Card  

• NOTE for Texas DL/ID holders: The Texas DL or ID photo on file with the Department will be used 
for the LTC  

• CHL-100 Certificate of Training Form (received from LTC instructor upon course completion); OR 
Statement from TCOLE certified instructor indicating applicant demonstrated proficiency 
(GC§411.1882)  

Active Texas Peace Officer   $25 

• Effective 9/1/2015, active peace officers are not required to submit fingerprints or a letter from the 
head of the law enforcement agency.   

• Please provide the completed Consent Form found at the end of this instructions document.  The 
department will utilize fingerprints on file to conduct the required background check. If further 
documentation is needed you will be notified.  
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Correctional officer (Texas Dept. of Criminal Justice) $25  

• Electronic fingerprints submitted using FAST (for more information regarding fingerprint services 
visit the Regulatory Services Division website at: http://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/CHL/index.htm)  

• CHL-6 is required if applicant does not hold a Texas DL or ID Card. Out of State applicants must 
submit a copy of their state DL or ID Card  

• NOTE for Texas DL/ID holders: The Texas DL or ID photo on file with the Department will be used 
for the LTC  

• CHL-100 Certificate of Training Form (received from LTC instructor upon course completion) 
• Proof of current employment with employing agency. 

 

Honorably Retired Texas Peace Officer   $25  

• Electronic fingerprints submitted using FAST (for more information regarding fingerprint services 
visit the Regulatory Services Division website at: http://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/CHL/index.htm)   

• LTC-6 is required if applicant does not hold a Texas DL or ID Card. Out of State applicants must 
submit a copy of their state DL or ID Card  

• NOTE for Texas DL/ID holders: The Texas DL or ID photo on file with the Department will be used 
for the LTC  

• Sworn statement from the head of the agency employing the applicant as specified by GC§411.199 or 
GC §411.1992 (if not on file)  
 
Note: If you are the head of the law enforcement agency, please contact the department for further 
instructions using the e-mail provided below 
 

At the end of the application process, a receipt (check list) will be generated. The checklist should be saved 
for your records.  The required supporting documents as noted in the checklist should be e-mailed to  
RSD_LRS_CHL@dps.texas.gov (Sample affidavits/sworn statements are attached).  

Applicants will be offered the opportunity to schedule an appointment for fingerprints at the end of the 
application process. Fingerprints will be required in order for the Department to conduct the background 
check as required by statute.  This does not apply to Active Peace Officers. 

Felony Prosecutors are exempt from the $140.00 application fee.(GC§ 411.201(h)  
Other Prosecutors are required to submit the $140.00 application fee.(GC§411.174)  
Correctional Officers (Texas Dept. of Criminal Justice) are required to submit the $25 application fee. 
(§411.1953)  
Honorably Retired Peace Officers are required to submit the $25 application fee. (§411.1992)  
 

Documents may be emailed to:  

RSD_LRS_CHL@dps.texas.gov 
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STATE OF TEXAS                                                         §  
                                                                                         §                                    AFFIDAVIT  
COUNTY OF TRAVIS                                                   §                                                         
 
 
BEFORE ME, the undersigned Notary Public, on this day personally appeared [insert name of Head of Law 
Enforcement Agency, insert Title], and stated under oath: 
  
“My name is [insert name of Head of Law Enforcement Agency] and I am the [insert Title] of the [insert name of 
Agency]. I am over eighteen years of age, of sound mind, and capable of making this affidavit. [Insert Applicant name] 
hereinafter referred to as Applicant, at the time of retirement on [insert date], held the rank of [insert rank]; held the 
status of Peace Officer; was not accused of misconduct; did appear to be physically and mentally fit to possess a 
handgun; demonstrated proficiency with a handgun during the last year of employment; would be eligible for 
reemployment with the [insert Agency name]; and is recommended for issuance of a License to Carry a Handgun..”  
 
_________________________ 
(signature)  
 
[Name of Head of Law Enforcement Agency] [Title, Agency Name ]  
 
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on this             day of ______ , 20__ A.D.  

 
 

NOTARY PUBLIC for the State of Texas 
 

                                                      My commission Expires: 
 
 
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on this insert date day of insert month, insert year.  
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Affidavit for Retired Peace Officer                                                                                                                                       (Rev. 9/2015) 

 



SWORN STATEMENT OF HANDGUN PROFICIENCY 
FOR PURPOSES OF 

TEXAS GOVERNMENT CODE §411.1882 
 
 
 

BEFORE ME, the undersigned notary public, on this day personally appeared _________________, who, being by me 
duly sworn on oath deposed and said: 
“My name is ______________. I am a handgun proficiency instructor approved by the Texas Commission on Law 
Enforcement. 
“On__________________ (date), ____________________(name) 
demonstrated proficiency in the use of handguns. 
 
 
 
           __________________________ 
 Signature 
 
 
 
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on this _____ day of ___, 20____ A.D.  
 
 
 
 

  _______________________________  
NOTARY PUBLIC for the State of Texas 

 
 

My commission Expires:___________ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Affidavit for TCOLE Proficiency Statement                                                                                                                         (Rev. 9/2015) 
 



 

 Texas Department of Public Safety • MUST USE MOST CURRENT FORM LICENSE TO CARRY A 
HANDGUN 

 
 

Regulatory Services Division • TYPED PREFERRED OR PRINT CLEARLY 

www.dps.texas.gov   For DPS Use Only 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

   

  
CONSENT FOR USE OF FINGERPRINT CARD ON FILE   
LICENSE TO CARRY A HANDGUN (FOR ACTIVE TEXAS PEACE OFFICERS) 

 

   State DL 
 

  State ID 

 

OR 
Issuing  

State: 

DL or ID  

Number: 

PID  

Number: 

Last  
Name: 

First 
Name: 

Middle 
Name:  

Rank: 
 

 

Mailing 
Address: 

 

City: State: ZIP + 4:                              County: 

Residence 
Address: 

 

City: State: ZIP + 4:                            County: 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR FINGERPRINT CARD SUBMISSION:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

I certify that all information I provided in relation to this criminal history record check is true and accurate.  I authorize the Texas 
Department of Public Safety (DPS) to access Texas and Federal criminal history record information that pertains to me and disseminate 
that information to the designated Authorized Agency or Qualified Entity with which I am or am seeking to be employed or to serve as a 
volunteer, through the DPS Fingerprint-based Applicant Clearinghouse of Texas and as authorized by Texas Government Code Chapter 
411 and any other applicable state or federal statute or policy.   
 
I authorize the Texas Department of Public Safety to submit my fingerprints and other application information to the FBI for the purpose of 
comparing the submitted information to available records in order to identify other information that may be pertinent to the application.  I 
authorize the FBI to disclose potentially pertinent information to the DPS during the processing of this application and for as long hereafter 
as may be relevant to the activity for which this application is being submitted.  I understand that the FBI may also retain my fingerprints 
and other applicant information in the FBI’s permanent collection of fingerprints and related information, where all such data will be subject 
to comparisons against other submissions received by the FBI and to further disseminations by the FBI as may be authorized under the 
Federal Privacy Act (5USC 552a(b)).  I understand I am entitled to obtain a copy of any criminal history record check and challenge the 
accuracy and completeness of the information before a final determination is made by the Qualified Entity.  I also understand the Qualified 
Entity may deny me access to children, the elderly, or individuals with disabilities until the criminal history record check is completed.  If a 
need arises to challenge the FBI record response, you may contact the agency that submitted the information to the FBI, or you may send 
a written challenge request to the FBI's Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division at FBI CJIS Division, Attention: 
Correspondence Group, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Clarksburg, WV 26306. 
 
 
 
_______________________________________                                   __________________________________________     
Applicant Name  (printed                                                                                                              Applicant Signature                                                         
                                                                                                       
Date:   ____/____/_______ 
   
                 (MM/DD/YYYY) 

 

 

 

Texas Department of Public Safety 

Regulatory Services Division:  RSD_LRS_CHL@dps.texas.gov                                                                                   (Rev. 9/2015) 

mailto:RSD_LRS_CHL@dps.texas.gov


  
PRIVACY 
POLICY:                                                                                         

  
Sec. 559.003. RIGHT TO NOTICE ABOUT CERTAIN INFORMATION LAWS AND 
PRACTICES.                                        

  (a)  Each state governmental body that collects information about an individual by means of a form that the individual completes and files with the  governmental body in a 
      paper format or in an electronic format on an Internet site shall prominently state, on the paper form and prominently post on the Internet site in connection with the  
      electronic form, that:  
    (1) with few exceptions, the individual is entitled on request to be informed about the information that the state governmental body collects about the individual;  
    (2) under Sections 552.021 and 552.023 of the Government Code, the individual is entitled to receive and review the information; and  
    (3) under Section 559.004 of the Government Code, the individual is entitled to have the state governmental body correct information about the individual that is 
        incorrect.  
  (b)  Each state governmental body that collects information about an individual by means of an Internet site or that collects information about the computer network location 
       or identity of a user of the Internet site shall prominently post on the Internet site what information is being collected through the site about the individual or about  
      the computer network location or identity of a user of the site, including what information is being collected by means that are not obvious.  
  Please visit: http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/docs/GV/htm/GV.559.htm                                                 
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