There are four ways to renew a driver license or ID card: online, by phone, by mail or in person. Individuals must renew in person every other time to update their picture.
Individuals must meet the eligibility requirements.
Federal Real ID Act
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) has submitted a plan to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) that keeps Texas compliant with REAL ID laws.
Call 1-866-DL RENEW (1-866-357-3639) to renew by phone. The eligibility requirements for phone renewal are the same as for online renewal.
Individuals who received an invitation to renew by mail can renew by mail, online or by phone. To renew by mail, please follow all of the instructions on the form.
Individuals who are not eligible to renew online, by phone or by mail, must complete the renewal application and visit a driver license office in person.
You must appear in a driver license office at least once every twelve (12) years for a vision test and to update your photo, signature and fingerprints.
Did you know that your Texas driver license or ID can be renewed?
If renewed within this time, the driver license or ID
card will still expire six
years after the expiration date printed on the current card.
In order to enhance security, reduce the risk of identity theft or fraud, and protect the integrity of the issuance process, you will be required to verify your social security number (SSN), identity, and citizenship before we can renew your Texas DL or ID.
Individuals who have not provided documents to verify their U.S. citizenship or lawful presence status must do so before any transaction.
Renewing Expired License
NOTE: The expiration date and renewal requirements for individuals 79 years of age or older are different.
Driver licenses or ID cards that have been expired for more than two years cannot be renewed. To obtain a driver license or ID card, the individual:
Individuals who have not provided documents to verify their U.S. citizenship or lawful presence status must do so before renewing. (Some individuals who renewed in person after October 2008 may have already met this requirement.)
Individuals who hold a provisional license must renew in person at a driver license office, regardless of their age. Provisional licenses can be renewed 30 days before expiration.
Individuals under 18 years of age must renew in person at a driver license office and bring a Verification of Enrollment (VOE) form, a high school diploma or a GED. During the summer when school is not in session, the most recent report card may be accepted. (The report card must include the attendance record.)
Individuals upgrading a learner license to a provisional license must submit a certification of completion of driver education.
For details about these requirements, see the information for teen drivers.
Individuals who need to renew their limited term driver license or ID card should visit the Temporary Visitor web page.
Individuals who do not currently live in Texas but their true, permanent home (domicile) is in Texas should read the instructions for out-of-state renewal.