Skip to main content

Drivers Age 79 or Older

In addition to the regular driver license renewal requirements, if you are 79 years of age or older you will be required to renew your driver license in-person at your local driver license office. During your renewal:

  1. You will be required to successfully pass a vision test, and
  2. A driver license office representative (CSR) will evaluate your responses provided at the time of your renewal regarding your medical history to determine if any additional testing is required*.

The Department does not have different licensing standards due to age, however it is our responsibility to ensure all licensed drivers are in good physical and medical condition, have the ability to operate a motor vehicle safely, and can follow all Texas traffic laws and rules. You will only be required to take a driving test or obtain additional information from your physician if, after being evaluated, it is determined that you may not be able to safely operate a motor vehicle. You can read more about this process on the Texas Medical Evaluation Process for Driver Licensing page.

You may want to practice your driving skills by taking a driver course developed for older drivers. Several organizations provide free seminars and other assessment tools to help you evaluate your driving skills, including:

  1. National Safety Council
  2. AARP
  3. Texas Department of State Health Services

*This information is collected and reviewed during the renewal process in accordance to Texas Transportation Code ยงยง521.1425(a), 521.142(e).

Renewals

The following requirements only apply to driver licenses and commercial driver licenses. (Motorcycle fees do not change.)

Renewal Requirements
Age Group Special Instructions Expiration Renewal Fee
79 – 84 Must always renew in person 6 Years Applicable fee
85 or older Must always renew in person On the individual’s second birthday after the previous expiration date. Reduced fee for driver license or CDL only

Statutory Authority

You may find more information on laws that apply to drivers 79 years of age and older in the Texas Transportation Code, Sections 521.274 and 521.2711.