If you are applying for a Texas driver license and will be taking a driving skills test, you are required to successfully complete one of the following Impact Texas Drivers (ITD) programs and provide proof of completion at the time of application. You MUST bring your certificate of completion of this program to the DL office when applying for your driver license.
The ITD Program was developed with the goal of saving lives through awareness and education. This program is meant to educate drivers in an effort to reduce the risk of being involved in automobile crashes, particularly those cause by distracted driving. Distracted driving is the number one killer of drivers in America, and this program shows what can happen when drivers are distracted while driving.
Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD)
The Impact Texas Teen Drivers program (ITTD) is a free, 2 hour informational video that shares the dangers of distracted driving along with real life stories of teens that have lost their lives. This course is for:
More information on taking the ITTD program.
Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITYD)
The Impact Texas Young Drivers program (ITYD) is a free, 1 hour informational video that provides educational information on the dangers of distracted driving. The video also shares real life stories of people and their families who were impacted as a result of distracted driving. This course is for:
More information on taking the ITYD program.
Once you have successfully completed the program, you will have 90 days from the date of your certificate to pass the driving skills exam. If you do not pass, you will be required to complete the program again.
The ITD programs do not replace the distracted driving module given in the 32 hours of Teen driver education classroom phase or the 6 hours of Adult driver education classroom phase. The ITD program has been added to emphasize the ever increasing dangers of distracted driving.
Third Party Skills Testing (TPST) authorized school
If you are planning to take your skills test through a Third Party Skills Testing (TPST) authorized school, you must comply with the following requirements based upon your age:
If you are 16 years of age or older:
If you are 18-24 years of age:
If you are 25 years of age or older:
You may find more information about laws that apply to ITD Programs in the Texas Administrative Code, 37 TAC §15.62.