Skip to main content

Crash Suspension

Your driver license can be suspended under the Texas Safety Responsibility Act if you meet the following criteria:

Hearings

When the Department initiates suspension action against your driver license, you will be notified by mail to the address on record for your driver license. This notification will provide you with the reason for the suspension and if available, an option for a hearing. You may request a hearing up to 20 days after the date of the notice of suspension by:

For a hearing to be scheduled, all requests to the Department must include your full name, date of birth, and Texas driver license number. You will be notified by mail of the date, time, and location of the hearing. If your request is made outside the allowable 20 days, your request will be denied and your license will be suspended on the 21st day.

Driver License Reinstatement Requirements

To reinstate your license after a judgement suspension, you must pay the required $100 Reinstatement fee, any other outstanding fees and submit one of the following documents to the Department:

  1. Evidence of liability insurance at the time of the crash,
  2. A Notarized Release (SR-11) from liability of judgment,
  3. A properly executed Installment Agreement (SR-19) (if the Department receives notice that you have defaulted on the installment agreement then your driver license is subject to suspension), or
  4. Deposit of a cashier's check or money order, and submission of a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) as proof of liability insurance, and a SR-22a which certifies the policy is pre-paid for a period of at least six-months.

NOTE: If after two years from the date of the crash there are no civil suits pending or unpaid judgments, you may make application for reinstatement by filing an Affidavit of No Suit Filed within Two Years (SR-60) and paying the required Reinstatement fee.

Judgment Suspension

When the Department receives a certified copy of an unsatisfied judgment arising from a traffic crash, the driver and owner of the vehicle involved for whom the judgment is rendered against are both subject to a driver license suspension.

Driver License Reinstatement Requirements

For a driver to reinstate their license after a judgment suspension, you must pay the required $100 Reinstatement fee prior to the renewal or issuance of your driver license, in addition to paying any other outstanding reinstatement fees owed and submit to the Department one of the following documents:

  1. A Notarized Release (SR-11) indicating the judgment has been satisfied,
  2. A Court Approved Installment Agreement (If the Department receives notice you have defaulted on an agreement, the driver license is subject to suspension), or
  3. A Judgment Creditor's Consent (SR-84).

Additionally, a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) is required if it has been less than two years since the date the judgment was rendered.

NOTE: For a judgment that is not renewed and is more than 10 years old, a Certificate of Dormant Judgement (SR-88) from the court where the judgment was rendered must be filed and you must pay the required Reinstatement fee.

Suspending a driver due to an Unsatisfied Judgment

Individuals who have received damages due to a crash and who have obtained a judgment against a driver or owner of the vehicle involved, can request that the Department suspend the driver's and/or owner's driver license as permitted by Texas Transportation Code Chapter 601. To initiate driver license suspension, you must submit all 4 of the documents listed below to the Department for processing:

  1. A Certified copy of the judgment (the Department cannot process the judgment unless a minimum of 60 days have elapsed since the date the judgment was signed); and
  2. A Notice of Unsatisfied Judgment (SR-62); and
  3. A Transcript of Civil Proceedings (SR-42) or Certificate of No Appeal; and
  4. A copy of the crash report.

You may submit these documents by mail, fax or email. All documents submitted by email must be in PDF format. You must write the driver's and/or owner's name, date of birth and driver license number on all documents so all records can be properly identified.

Mailing Address:

Texas Department of Public Safety
Enforcement and Compliance Service
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0320

Fax Number:

512-424-2848

Email:

Occupational License

You may be eligible to apply for an occupational license while your driver license is suspended.  To learn more about occupational licenses or to determine if you may be eligible to apply, please visit the Occupational License webpage.

Driver Eligibility Status

To check the status of your driver license or to determine if you are eligible for reinstatement, visit the License Eligibility webpage. This page will provide you with information on what you will need to reinstate your driver license or driving privilege, including any fees you may owe. Once all compliance items have been processed and your suspension period has ended, your driver eligibility status will be updated to reflect "eligible".

For more information on Crash Suspensions, please visit the Frequently Asked Questions webpage or download the Driver License Enforcement Actions chart for a complete list of driver license suspensions and revocations.